Goalkeeping Situation

Mitch

he's back in for three games and been murder in all three. at tynecastle he totally lost the cross that hit the bar and charged out the goal and let the hearts player go round him. at celtic park he sold the jerseys at the first two goals and he was to blame for both goals on saturday.

if it is at all possible to get another keeper in we should do it.

he's back in for three games and been murder in all three. at tynecastle he totally lost the cross that hit the bar and charged out the goal and let the hearts player go round him. at celtic park he sold the jerseys at the first two goals and he was to blame for both goals on saturday.

if it is at all possible to get another keeper in we should do it.

Adding in the fact the defence looks a lot shakier than it has since the Celtic game at the beginning of December.

Boost his confidence ...whit...? Hes a grown man and supposedly an experienced keeper . I vote Graham Marshall pulls him aside and tells him to get his finger out his arse and start playing for his wages and stop letting us all down before there is some real damage done . Straight talking required

Straight talking required, eh?

Your post suggesting that a good bollocking will make someone better at their job is beyond moronic. Criticising our goalkeeping coach while not even getting his name right is just plain embarrassing.

Pull the finger out of your arse and use it start typing more sensible posts.

I now look forward to a sudden improvement in your contribution to further threads as clearly that's all it takes.

I'm off to shout at some homeless drug addicts in the street to wisen the fuck up and start paying their taxes before some real damage is done...

:P

Hollis has done fuck all wrong in his time at Motherwell. Yet he also get criticism from fans. Mental.

There was a palpable atmosphere when Hollis took the no.1 spot and you sensed the fans didn't have much confidence in him and were ready to leap on him given the opportunity.

Hollis then went on, did quite well, didn't make any howling mistakes and all that hostility more or less dissipated over the course of 2 or 3 home matches.

Nielsen has to do the same but the only way he can do it will be to do much better than he has. Catching a ball isn't too much to ask of a goalkeeper. If he can't catch it pushing it away from goal would be the next step.

They are basic errors that he's made more than once, so it's no wonder people are getting on his case.

Goalkeeping is a specialist position and it requires a certain type of person because it's not an easy job. Nielsen needs to show he has the mental toughness to get through a bad spell where people are pointing the finger at him, if he doesn't have that then he's not going to be good enough.

I think you can see the difference in confidence between him and Langfield on Saturday.

In the first half, Langfield parried a shot from McFadden and was out like a rat up a drain to get it before one of our forwards could. When Neilson did the same he stood and watched Rooney head it in. You can argue he should have caught it or parried it the other way but for me the total lack of reaction is a goalkeeper playing without confidence.

Are we allowed to play him as a ringer for the U20s? If we are we should do it and try and build his confidence up at a competitive but lower level for a couple of weeks.

Now that's just pish.

Just watch the goal again.

Maybe he should have held or parried in a different direction, yes.

But get up and follow the ball - impossible.

Following the dodgy parry - I'm sad to say 'failure to react' award goes to hammell. If he matches Rooney's run in he might not get a clear header.

As I said in my first post on this thread, my opinion is not welcomed because there is a clique type of thing going on here where only certain people can comment without being slated. The same people who no doubt slate our players for the slightest mistake. End of the day they're getting paid to play football because they are decent at it, you are paying to watch it because you are not.

I think thats the crux of the discussion. I think some people would disagree with your statement.

I agree about not giving him dogs abuse at the game but at the same time I am not sure that he qualifies under your statement. However, I have got to assume that he is fully aware that his performances need to improve and that he will be doing what he can to make that happen. Maybe it's fair or maybe it's not but the only way to get people off his back is to perform better. ( maybe he should give Mr Higdon a quick call ? )

Now that's just pish.

Following the dodgy parry - I'm sad to say 'failure to react' award goes to hammell. If he matches Rooney's run in he might not get a clear header.

I agree with this. Yes, shite save and should do much better but where were the defenders tracking the runs at both Celtic Park and at the weekend. Neilson definitely culpable but others also.

I think you can see the difference in confidence between him and Langfield on Saturday.

In the first half, Langfield parried a shot from McFadden and was out like a rat up a drain to get it before one of our forwards could. When Neilson did the same he stood and watched Rooney head it in. You can argue he should have caught it or parried it the other way but for me the total lack of reaction is a goalkeeper playing without confidence.

Are we allowed to play him as a ringer for the U20s? If we are we should do it and try and build his confidence up at a competitive but lower level for a couple of weeks.

That's the same Langfield that made a name (Clangfield) for himself with his howlers when he took that spot? Amazing what happens if you show a bit of faith in a guy.

What a difference from the start of the season :whistling:

There were so many posters here wanting Hollis out and Nielson in because he is an international keeper and surely is better.

Whilst Hollis doesn't exactly inspire confidence in the defence I think he has proven himself as the most able keeper we have.

Hopefully his injury is cured in time for the top 6/bottom 6 split.

What a difference from the start of the season :whistling:

There were so many posters here wanting Hollis out and Nielson in because he is an international keeper and surely is better.

Whilst Hollis doesn't exactly inspire confidence in the defence I think he has proven himself as the less shite keeper we have.

Hopefully his injury is cured in time for the top 6/bottom 6 split.

Sorted that for you.

Adding to Steve diggles post regarding hammell, I actually think a lot of players got of the hook because of Nielsen's bloopers on Saturday.

McFadden, Angol, were both very poor, so too was Ainsworth bar a couple of runs in second half. Lawson was also at fault for first goal and had he dealt with it maybe we wouldn't be on here debating.

All in all we weren't great on Saturday and still got a point.

Time to move on I think because Nielsen will be in goals for the thistle game whether one like it or not.

A lot of the same points seem to be cropping up...

First, I don't think anyone here disagrees with the sentiment of not booing your own players.

Yes, generally the keeper has to work when the rest of the team has not fully done their job...BUT THAT IS WHAT HE IS THERE FOR.

Yes, a lot of people wanted neilsen in at the start of the season. Obviously they assumed him to be better than Hollis, he has a strong pedigree but also I'm sure most were thinking 'surely we haven't signed neilsen as backup'.

No point in booing him or giving pelters at the game of course thats not going to help. But that doesn't mean we shouldn't be discussing it as fans.

It says a lot that a reserve first division keeper comes in for 5 games and creates a bigger rapport with our fans than our two first choice keepers.

Oh aye and one last point. He is lacking comfidence, thats easy to see but how long do we persist to allow him to regain it? Goalkeeper is the only position you cant really get away with confidence issues. Will this cost us a position or two in the league and the finance that goes with it? Some people on here are blaming him for the cup exit (not me btw).

It won't cost a position or two in the league any more than, say, our strikers missing chances in a game. The difference, however is that if a striker screws up the score stays the same and people tend to forget about it. However, they play on confidence as much as a keeper does.

It says a lot that a reserve first division keeper comes in for 5 games and creates a bigger rapport with our fans than our two first choice keepers.

If a quirk of fate resulted in Dan being our keeper in the first 5 games of the season then I'm pretty sure he wouldn't be regarded so highly. A lot to be said for standing behind 10 players on their game.

But point made earlier was a good one, we weren't overly good on Saturday, both goals were clinical and taken well, but quite a lot of under performances.

It won't cost a position or two in the league any more than, say, our strikers missing chances in a game. The difference, however is that if a striker screws up the score stays the same and people tend to forget about it. However, they play on confidence as much as a keeper does.

True, and I'm sure we'd be having a similar discussion if a first choice striker missed sitter after sitter, but at the moment the outstanding weakness in our team is between the sticks. Our strikers didn't let us down on saturday, or in general this season.

Now that's just pish.

I would like to see how other keepers deal with that kind of shot. Dipping and close to the body is a very risky one to attempt to hold. From his starting position it would also been one of the saves of the season if he managed to parry to the side. If anything was wrong with the save, it was that - his positioning

it was straight at him.

catching it would my suggestion.