Stuart Kettlewell discussion thread

sailor_h

If there was a conspiracy in place for SK to give up a 1 year salary pay out to join Thistle on a, no doubt, lesser wage, then it sounds like a plan cooked up by Pinky and the Brain.

Putting the "abuse by fans" excuse aside for a moment, it felt like SK was running out of ideas for us and that was turning into frustration with everyone from the refs and the media to VAR and, of course, the fans.

I don't think he was lined up for the sack, but the resignation didn't surprise me too much. He hadn't gone full "deer in the headlights" in his interviews, but he was heading in that direction.

He was never going to be out the game for very long because that's just how football works. Whether it's at Thistle, Ross County, or some other club, it's odds on he'll have a new job by the spring.

1 hour ago, Wishielad said:

My Thistle-supporting mates told me at the weekend that the talk amongst them was that Doolan was about to go and Kettlewell was lined up to replace him. Wonder if that's why his BBC buddies haven't handed him a gig.

IF that is the case I would think the Thistle board might think again after that piece in The Sun. Their fans are not shrinking violets when it's not going well.

1 hour ago, weeyin said:

If there was a conspiracy in place for SK to give up a 1 year salary pay out to join Thistle on a, no doubt, lesser wage, then it sounds like a plan cooked up by Pinky and the Brain.

Putting the "abuse by fans" excuse aside for a moment, it felt like SK was running out of ideas for us and that was turning into frustration with everyone from the refs and the media to VAR and, of course, the fans.

I don't think he was lined up for the sack, but the resignation didn't surprise me too much. He hadn't gone full "deer in the headlights" in his interviews, but he was heading in that direction.

He was never going to be out the game for very long because that's just how football works. Whether it's at Thistle, Ross County, or some other club, it's odds on he'll have a new job by the spring.

Who said anything about leaving us being part of it?

He was out of work.

He does an interview saying he would love to be back in work.

Thistle sack Doolan.

Thats convenient.

2 hours ago, mio said:

We’ll find out next year when he’s working at Arnold Clark. 

“tell you what Scotty, this is a great wee run around, I built it myself in my workshop, I’ve spent 20hrs a day working on it. I’m not going to take any advice on it from anyone who hasn’t dedicated their life tampering with a 1.2 engine…… “

….it’ll work a treat for 6months and then it’ll be a right off and he’ll blame Arnold Clark”

Despite being a supporter of his at one time, I always did think he was like someone you'd meet in a car showroom...no offence to any car salesmen on here  

3 hours ago, mio said:

We’ll find out next year when he’s working at Arnold Clark. 

“tell you what Scotty, this is a great wee run around, I built it myself in my workshop, I’ve spent 20hrs a day working on it. I’m not going to take any advice on it from anyone who hasn’t dedicated their life tampering with a 1.2 engine…… “

….it’ll work a treat for 6months and then it’ll be a right off and he’ll blame Arnold Clark”

It basically was like an Oprah v Meghan Markle interview with that journalist looking shocked all the time.

"Honest Derek......I couldn't believe 1800 fans in middle of January paid a lot of money to go to cup tie and see us put in a terrible performance and then have the audacity to be angry!!!"

"That's terrible Stuart........especially after you signed Theo Bair"

Just now, wellfan said:

I don’t imagine Kettlewell’s overt and fragrant narcissism will allow him to take a job beneath Motherwell in the Championship. 

It'll supplement his earning s from BBC and Sun punditry.

3 hours ago, grizzlyg said:

My Thistle supporting mate is basically bricking it.   Not happy at all if he gets the gig

Aye he will be bored senseless by the football and the interviews.

2 hours ago, Richie said:

SK now doing the interview rounds with Sky Sports.

Starting to make a bit of a coño of himself now letting this drag on.

Just seems to want to drag good name of club down. Even those that defended him to the hilt have lost interest.  Old news.   In wimmer we trust

2 hours ago, Richie said:

Notice that not one of the hacks has had the balls to ask him exactky what was allegedly shouted that upset his family so much.

Anyway he's history and we move on

3 hours ago, Richie said:

Getting really annoying now.....

30 minutes ago, grizzlyg said:

Just seems to want to drag good name of club down. Even those that defended him to the hilt have lost interest.  Old news.   In wimmer we trust

The more he continues with this, the more he's blackening the clubs name and laughing in the face of the folk who supported him to the hilt when results and performances were awful, and those at the club who backed him even after he departed.

It's a funny thing, but he was a manager that I didn't have a huge opinion on, he done some good things, some crap things, had moments of success and large periods of pish...he waffled a lot, but I felt he was more often than not, a good representative for the Club.

Any good work he done on the clubs behalf has been forgotten now by the majority of the fans, and the poor work he done pails into insignificance by his behaviour since the day that he resigned. 

His narcissistic traits have poured to the fore, and his all out attack on the clubs fans have only been a tactic to deflect away from the fact that he was simply struggling to find the answers to get us out of the rut that he has left us in...the number of players we have currently signed at the Club is absolute testament to the fact that he had lost the run of himself.

His current self-promotion and publicity is designed to get him a gig elsewhere...and sorry to say, I hope it fails miserably.

• Thanks 2

4 minutes ago, wellgirl said:

There was no all out attack on the club's fans in the sky sports interview. Far from it. I completely understand why people aren't happy but he had a lot of positive things to say about the club and the fans in that interview 

Och that's nice of him

3 minutes ago, wellgirl said:

I don't really care if you have a different opinion from me. You just stated that he went all out and attacked the fans in that interview - and he didn't. 

He's never gone all out attack on the fans? I know you're a happy clapper, but deary me...

• Confused 1

4 minutes ago, wellgirl said:

I don't really care if you have a different opinion from me. You just stated that he went all out and attacked the fans in that interview - and he didn't. 

Couldn't have been any worse than the cringefest sun interview with Oprah McGregor.  Anyway let's move on,  fact we are all talking about him is what he wants. 

All aboard the Wimmer Express...choo choo

He’s full of shite and this entire “boo-hoo the fans forced me out” nonsense was just a smokescreen to preserve his own reputation and deflect from the fact that he had ran his course, the team he built was on its arse and the football was dismal. 

But he’s gone now and we move on. 

• David locked this topic