grizzlyg Posted 23 hours ago Author Report Share Posted 23 hours ago 41 minutes ago, FirParkCornerExile said: All systems go for the semi final now. Seems most of the pundits are making us favourites. I'm always nervous of expectations being on our side. Mind you pundits in general are no more insightful than the rest of us.. I think this game is just too close to call. Thought St Mirren looked good in the highlights against Hearts. A lot was being made before their game against Hearts that they'd only scored 6 goals but they did score 3 good goals against Hearts, one shockingly chalked off. Just need to keep my fingers crossed during the game 🤞 Yup it's almost too close to call. I would think a lot of neutrals would be supporting us as we are more attractive on the eye but that doesn't guarantee you success. Let's not kid ourselves, this will be tough and against a manager who guided us to 2 great semi final wins 8 years ago. A huge well support hopefully creating a great atmosphere and getting us a famous win. Going with my mates making It special and my dad looking down cheering us on. Almost feeling a bit teary now. COMMEEEEEEE ONNNNNNNN YEEEEEEEE. WELLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
texanwellfan Posted 23 hours ago Report Share Posted 23 hours ago Yep! Could go either way. Let’s hope good football triumphs over brute force. Do we know the ref yet? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted 23 hours ago Report Share Posted 23 hours ago 15 minutes ago, texanwellfan said: Yep! Could go either way. Let’s hope good football triumphs over brute force. Do we know the ref yet? Don Robertson, but mostly VAR. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
stv Posted 23 hours ago Report Share Posted 23 hours ago 15 minutes ago, texanwellfan said: Yep! Could go either way. Let’s hope good football triumphs over brute force. Do we know the ref yet? Aye he's the guy in black wi a whistle. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted 23 hours ago Author Report Share Posted 23 hours ago 8 minutes ago, stv said: Aye he's the guy in black wi a whistle. Ba boom 🤣🤣🤣 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted 23 hours ago Author Report Share Posted 23 hours ago 9 minutes ago, weeyin said: Don Robertson, but mostly VAR. Ba boom....part 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Big Stall Posted 23 hours ago Report Share Posted 23 hours ago Honestly think if we turn up, play the way we can & take our chances we will have too much for St Mirren. The counter to that is that St Mirren will be very well organised and hard for us to get around them, they will kick fuck out of our technical players & will be ready to capitalise on any mistake we make at the back. So yea, agree - too close to call But...... its all in our hands! Take the game to them & book our place in the final! 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmcalpin Posted 23 hours ago Report Share Posted 23 hours ago The referee will be crucial and I fully expect St Mirren to put the boot in. First bad foul he needs to stamp his authority on the players and card the culprit. If that's in the first minute or two so be it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellsince75 Posted 23 hours ago Report Share Posted 23 hours ago 9 minutes ago, Kmcalpin said: The referee will be crucial and I fully expect St Mirren to put the boot in. First bad foul he needs to stamp his authority on the players and card the culprit. If that's in the first minute or two so be it. completely agree - if they get booked early on it will send a clear message. I'm really hoping with the size of pitch and quality we have we simply blow them away and keep the ball. They're very direct and very dangerous, suspect we'll need to score 3 to win this one. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joewarkfanclub Posted 22 hours ago Report Share Posted 22 hours ago I know its what happens on the day that counts, and I do expect this to be a very close game. However, St Mirren have only scored 8 goals this season (2 of them last night) which is half our number. They have conceded 12. 1 less than us. Statistically, there are reasons to feel positive going into the game. It will be interesting to see what Robinson does after him saying they gave us "too much respect" in Paisley. If they press high, I think we can get a lot of joy on the counter. If they sit off, then they could be a lot more difficult to break down. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted 22 hours ago Report Share Posted 22 hours ago Both teams will be thinking they have a great chance to get to a final, and a great chance in a final against relatively under-performing OF sides. It's very likely going to be close, but I think our quality on the ball and our pace on the large playing surface should give us the edge. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
claretband Posted 15 hours ago Report Share Posted 15 hours ago Not sure if this is accurate but Football Ground Guide lists Hampden as 115x75 yards and FP as 110x75So not much in it?Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
twistandshout1983 Posted 9 hours ago Report Share Posted 9 hours ago Anyone going on Club 100 bus ? And if so is there a confirmed time of leaving Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelmaninOZ Posted 9 hours ago Report Share Posted 9 hours ago The gaffer said Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
couttsy Posted 8 hours ago Report Share Posted 8 hours ago As others have said, it’s going to be very close and just who turns up best on the day. In terms of team selection I think there there’s really only one debate if SOD’s out, and that’s which 2 from McGinn, Gordon and Welsh play at centre half. I expect to see: Ward, Koutroumbis, McGinn, Gordon & Longelo. Watt, Fadinger, Slattery, Just, Maswanhise & Stamatelopoulos. But wouldn’t be upset if Welsh was in for McGinn or Gordon. Think we might need Gordon’s height and strength in the air against a team that puts the ball in the box regularly. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted 8 hours ago Author Report Share Posted 8 hours ago 51 minutes ago, couttsy said: As others have said, it’s going to be very close and just who turns up best on the day. In terms of team selection I think there there’s really only one debate if SOD’s out, and that’s which 2 from McGinn, Gordon and Welsh play at centre half. I expect to see: Ward, Koutroumbis, McGinn, Gordon & Longelo. Watt, Fadinger, Slattery, Just, Maswanhise & Stamatelopoulos. But wouldn’t be upset if Welsh was in for McGinn or Gordon. Think we might need Gordon’s height and strength in the air against a team that puts the ball in the box regularly. I think Welsh is a certain starter and it's between Gordon and McGinn. Would be huge call not to start captain but Gordon is bigger physical presence. Rest of team i agree totally and bring Said and Cooke on once players tire 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
couttsy Posted 7 hours ago Report Share Posted 7 hours ago 16 minutes ago, grizzlyg said: I think Welsh is a certain starter and it's between Gordon and McGinn. Would be huge call not to start captain but Gordon is bigger physical presence. Rest of team i agree totally and bring Said and Cooke on once players tire It’s going to be a big call whichever one is left out. On form you’d probably go with McGinn & Welsh, but against Saints I think we’ll need the height and physique of Gordon! 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
witchfindergeneral Posted 7 hours ago Report Share Posted 7 hours ago McGinn and SOD were the CB pairing in the 0-0 against Saints earlier this season. McGinn was tremendous against Utd with Welsh. McGinn has to start for me - he's also captain so can't see him being dropped. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelmaninOZ Posted 6 hours ago Report Share Posted 6 hours ago The Chairman said Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted 5 hours ago Author Report Share Posted 5 hours ago 45 minutes ago, SteelmaninOZ said: The Chairman said Been Really impressed with him since he took on the role 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted 3 hours ago Report Share Posted 3 hours ago 1 hour ago, grizzlyg said: Been Really impressed with him since he took on the role Compared to where we are now, I shudder to think where would have been with Barmack's Wild Sheep efforts. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted 3 hours ago Report Share Posted 3 hours ago 12 hours ago, claretband said: Not sure if this is accurate but Football Ground Guide lists Hampden as 115x75 yards and FP as 110x75 Also lists St Mirren as 110 x 70. While it doesn't sound like a huge difference, if you do the sums, it means there are an extra 925 yards² to cover at Hampden compared to St Mirren's pitch (an extra 12% surface area). Yes, I am bored at work today. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted 3 hours ago Author Report Share Posted 3 hours ago 8 minutes ago, weeyin said: Also lists St Mirren as 110 x 70. While it doesn't sound like a huge difference, if you do the sums, it means there are an extra 925 yards² to cover at Hampden compared to St Mirren's pitch (an extra 12% surface area). Yes, I am bored at work today. Same here, our system down for month end since 3.00.....it's all right, my boss is a well fan so she won't mind me on the forum 🤣🤣 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
texanwellfan Posted 2 hours ago Report Share Posted 2 hours ago 28 minutes ago, weeyin said: Also lists St Mirren as 110 x 70. While it doesn't sound like a huge difference, if you do the sums, it means there are an extra 925 yards² to cover at Hampden compared to St Mirren's pitch (an extra 12% surface area). Yes, I am bored at work today. I’m retired and not sure if i‘m bored today or hyper excited ‘cause semi final is tomorrow but I’m at grocery store buying stuff to make square slice sausage, rolls, Harissa paste, harissa orange lamb chops, lamb and chorizo quesadillas, oh, and tattie scones. COYW! 🤞🤞 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
claretband Posted 1 hour ago Report Share Posted 1 hour ago I’m retired and not sure if i‘m bored today or hyper excited ‘cause semi final is tomorrow but I’m at grocery store buying stuff to make square slice sausage, rolls, Harissa paste, harissa orange lamb chops, lamb and chorizo quesadillas, oh, and tattie scones. COYW! Talk aboot fusion cuisine. You do know we played the Arabs the other night yeh Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...