Mark McGhee

jazz

I must admit to being disappointed in Mark McGhee's comments on tv earlier

One thing i like about him is his general honesty,but to point to injuries/suspensions for our poor run i can't accept

Both of these aspects are part of football&the team has had only one long term injury with suspensions hardly a huge problem

Maybe if we had any kind of squad depth&competition for places we would be better off,but at the moment commitment looks to be lacking,amongst other failings

The players in the team are capable of much better&have to start proving it ASAP

Just listened to the 5 minute interview with McGhee over on the BBC website. I fully back McGhee and still believe he is the man to turn our fortunes around. He thinks he should have the backing of the fans - as do I.

But there are a few holes in the interview that concern me:

He states that if Porter does leave in the next transfer window it would give him some money to replace him, yet if he does not go we will have to go forward with the squad that we have.........mmmmmmmmm.........what happened to these 50 players he was looking at, even as supposed loan deals they would surely strengthen the squad.

Next he states that he feels we are doing as well as can be expected given we are missing 3-4 1st team players. That worries me even more. Firstly it does not stack up. Now even I can understand that you would expect the team to perform better with a full strength side, but I wish someone would point out that Killie were missing arguably 3 of their best players in Taouil, Fernadez, Bryson and then had Invincible taken off with injury.

He goes on to state that the team are feeling sorry for themselves. It sounds to me that MM is feeling sorry for himself. Time to wake up smell the roses and motivate the team to get out of the malaise they find themselves in.

I hope he can turn this all around - but stop making excuses and get on with it!!

What he said. This is all very worrying. Difficult not to be with so many contradictions being flung our way. Now we're getting the excuses aswell. Don't know if nyone noticed, we were rank even with Craigan and Clarkson in the team!!!

• 6 years later...

McGhee actually reminds me more of McCleish than Malpas because no matter how pish a team he puts out, he'll give the media a few soundbites after the game to keep them sweet, and there'll never be a bad word written about him. A journalist who was interested in doing his job properly would be asking some really difficult questions at this stage and tearing him to shreads, but because he's a media whore it doesn't happen. Nobody has asked him why he has failed to sign a centre half in three transfer windows, or why there was no replacement for McCormack waiting, even though he knew he was leaving at least six months before he did. He also needs to be held accountable for having no plan B whatsoever and for being incapable of positively influencing a game with a substitution. His time is coming to an end, and fast.

This was all correct at the time, and from his interview last night at least part of it is still true now.

Aye, I hate it when managers are articulate and good and dealing with journalist's stupid and transparently leading questions.

At least he's not irritatingly sarcastic, I'll give him that.

What I was actually referring to is that we have three days before a game against the best team in the country, McGhee said himself that he'll get most out of his players when he's with them, yet he's giving everyone a day off today while he's away to Sussex. When it came up in conversation he made a wee joke and everyone moved on. Textbook McGhee, exactly as I remember him.

Eleven pages of the shitstorm from December 2008, some interesting points mirroring exactly what was said about Baraclough.

To be fair, you'll probably find exactly the same comments about any one of our previous managers. Football fans aren't exactly known for having long memories.

What was our last ones name again ?

What I was actually referring to is that we have three days before a game against the best team in the country, McGhee said himself that he'll get most out of his players when he's with them, yet he's giving everyone a day off today while he's away to Sussex. When it came up in conversation he made a wee joke and everyone moved on. Textbook McGhee, exactly as I remember him.

Seriously?!?!?! That is not good.

I remember that run under McGhee. It was fucking chronic. I know that season, disappointing as it was, was a million times better than what we've suffered in the last year but it's that season, his chronic signings and the shambles his career has been since leaving us that bothers me as much as how he may or may not have shafted us when he left the last time.

I fail to see how he's the "steady pair of hands" people are claiming he is and that we need at the moment.

At least he's not irritatingly sarcastic, I'll give him that.

Did he say he was giving hem the day off? I thought he said he was going home for day and then back on Thursday. Didnt hear anything about players not being in.

Aren't they off every Wednesday?

I appreciate that they work every Saturday (and I'm sure sports scientists recommend rest periods) but would it kill players to come in on a Wednesday for a few hours, maybe even do some tactical work, study videos of upcoming opponents...

Just a suggestion, obviously...

Guys McGhee had probably been away from his family for at least 2 weeks with Scotland and I am sure this was a stressful time. I have absolutely no problem in him taking time out to get his head squared up prior to starting a new job (haven't we all done this?). Giving the players another break after the International break does seem a bit strange but maybe they will digest what McGhee has said and come back with better attitude. Time will tell.

Very much so. How many of us if we were starting a job in say Sussex would start immediately? He'll have been away from his family as you say and he'll no doubt need to make domestic & business arrangements. Nothing wrong or unreasonable in that. As for the players having a day off. Perhaps they've been training as normal during the international break. There may also be something in their contracts about their hours.

How many Managers at various clubs have praised players attitudes over the years saying, "he even comes in and trains on his days off" Attitude test number 1 maybe? It wouldn't surprise me if some of the players were in using the gym and other facilities.