2012/13 Ins & Outs Thread

SCDave

Sorry to see Jamie go, but to all the posters moaning about the fee, do you not understand the significance of cash flow to a business, particularly one that has no benefactor (Boyle/Romanov) and has NO overdraft facility??

You've hit the nail on the head. The period from January to March/April is a cash flow nightmare for many clubs. In our case there's little or no Scottish Cup cash due either. We now have no cash at all coming in until 20 January and St Johnstone won't bring many fans. Very few clubs outwith the top clubs in the game like doing business in the January window - its usually to generate cash flow and its hard to replace players.

In England the Premier League is hoovering up what cash there is not just from Scottish clubs and fans but from most English clubs and their fans too. The vast majority of Championship clubs for example will be heavily in debt. You only need to look at TV matches and the swathes of empty seats down south.

That said reputation is unfortunately important. Young players from Aberdeen, Hibs, Hearts, and Dundee United are seen as being automatically great. Had Jamie Murphy played for any of those clubs or indeed a club like Bournemouth or Swindon then he'd be leaving for 500K. However you can only sell players for what other clubs are willing to pay. The bottom has fallen out of the transfer market and that is why players like Nick Law or Darren Randolph have not moved on before now.

Some people though do need to get real.

1357037075[/url]' post='370827']

Really thought Jamie could have secured a move to a Championship club. All this pish about them being "a Premiership club in the making" is pie-in-the-sky stuff. It's like saying Celtic are going to win the Champions League because they defeated Barca in the group stages. They'll be doing well to escape League 1 this season.

That's the thing... Doesn't seem to be many championship clubs keen on the uptake.

Pie-in-the-sky stuff? Premiership a long way off aye, but, McCall knows that club inside out, could do even better next season whistling.gif, so will have offered sound advice.

They'll be doing well to escape League 1 this season? No shit. Goes for any team no?

The whole thing is down to finanace and like it or loathe it Rangers absence from the SPL is playing a major factor in what the 'Well board will or will not accept. Despite what some people want to believe the SPL is not flourishing and outwith Dundee Utd/ Dundee (who have a derby fixture in the league for the 1st time in years) there is a dramatic downturn in revenue due to the absence of Rangers. Motherwell could bank on a minimum 300 k for one one home fixture against RFC and if managing to get into the top 6 the possibility of a similar amount for a 2nd game at Fir Park.

What should the board do ? Reject any offers for saleable assets, who could become unsaleable due to injury at any time in the last months of their contracts or take at least some compensation even if not palatable to the support ?

A wee bit of realism has to come into this debate. Motherwell have reasonably good players in the grand scheme of things, who will command reasonable fees.

Trust the youngsters coming through.

Agree to an extent with what you're saying but where are you getting the £300k from?

1357046128[/url]' post='370837']

Per-contract I assume?

Won't happen.

So would the pre-contract compensate players who wouldn't earn any wages from end of May until the beginning of September since no one can sign for Sevco until then? Either the MSM are trying to appease the mass ranks of thick h**s or the transfer embargo has no weight at all.

Really thought Jamie could have secured a move to a Championship club. All this pish about them being "a Premiership club in the making" is pie-in-the-sky stuff. It's like saying Celtic are going to win the Champions League because they defeated Barca in the group stages. They'll be doing well to escape League 1 this season.

Murphy great young player, but if im honest, not good enough for Championship!

What do you actually know about Sheffield United?

They are by some distance the biggest club in League 1 and regularly get crowds circa 20,000.

Regular premiership side - probably not, but they are certainly a Championship size club and are probably as big as the likes of Stoke, Fulham, Wigan etc.

They are second top of League 1 and have as good a chance as any of making into the championship next season. Hopefully Jamie can help them make it.....

So would the pre-contract compensate players who wouldn't earn any wages from end of May until the beginning of September since no one can sign for Sevco until then? Either the MSM are trying to appease the mass ranks of thick h**s or the transfer embargo has no weight at all.

They can technically employ and pay players. Just cant register them.

He would be able to stay in the same area if he wished, no upheavel of up rooting family, and his wages would increase by quite a bit. He is also guaranteed (lower league) medals and back in the SPL in two years, if that.

If he moves I can see the benefits for him and his family.

I hope Murphy gets the move he wants, I agree with a number of posts here, notably;

a) that Murphy doesn't seem that fussed about moving, the club need the cash and the post about lack of cashflow until 20th Jan makes sense

b) Page -not fussed about him leaving

c) Humphrey - if we can get cash then take it

Hopefully McCall can work some magic on young players (huge opportunities for them coming up). Summer will be massive.

Question out of interest: If we really have to sell Murphy to keep the cash flow going and thinking that the estimates in regards to fee for Murphy for developing, why the hell did the club not get 100k from the Well Society as a loan and pay it back in the summer?

Someone posted earlier we would be entitled to lots more than 100k in compensation due to Jamie coming through the Well youth system...

I thought thats why we created the Well Society?! No?

Someone posted earlier we would be entitled to lots more than 100k in compensation due to Jamie coming through the Well youth system...

....and someone also posted that if the club in question waits until after Murphy's birthday in August they can get him for nothing.

Humphrey has difficulty tackling players in the SPL - what chance of him trying to tackle some of the bruisers in the second devision, they would have him shitting it every game.

The guys a good player but wouldn't be able to handle the second devision.

Of course he would, He came from the Lower Leagues in England, he is more than capable of handling the physical side of any league, and im sure knowone in the Lower Leagues in Scotland could get anywhere near him anyway.

Im sure he would rather play elsewhere though, but he is showing very good form of late, so its no supprise other clubs are sniffing about.

Question out of interest: If we really have to sell Murphy to keep the cash flow going and thinking that the estimates in regards to fee for Murphy for developing, why the hell did the club not get 100k from the Well Society as a loan and pay it back in the summer?

I thought thats why we created the Well Society?! No?

The Society was not in a position legally to hand over any cash at that point in time.

In any event any transfer proceeds may only amount to a contribution to cashflow - Society cash may also be required.