2012/13 Ins & Outs Thread

SCDave

I really like the look of Hetherington but at present we don't have anyone capable of replacing Jennings. Replacing our key player over the last 2.5 years is priority for me.

Re Hutchison, have no doubts he is injured. Had Watford not had a takeover though, he'd probably have been on his way there after they sold their centre half.

Reading between the lines, I'd say Randolph is closest to the exit. Hollis has had a fair amount of game time.

I did hear that Randolph might be off after the CL games. But I have heard from two separate sources that Murphy is as good as away...

i thought ramsden looked better yesterday although i'd say everton only having one up front and going for slow build up most of the time meant it wasn't the toughest 90 mins for him and cummins. he still looked awfy slow.

i thought kerr looked assured when he came on. in saying that i don't know where he'd fit in if mccall has his heart set on ramsden.

For Jamie's sake and the sake of the club, both financially and in a playing sense, now is the right time for him to move on. An English club can toughen him up physically in a way we can't. He has gone as far as he can with us and will not develop any further. The important thing is for us to bring in a replacement who will strengthen the team, at lesser cost.

What can an English side do to toughen him up that we can't?

Even Championship sides have dedicated teams of fitness staff, separate dieticians etc etc. Just as richer clubs bring a higher standard of player, manager and coaching staff (usually)...the same is true for roles like that. A Championship side or above could have Jamie in much better physical shape than we could, purely because of the time they would be able to dedicate to him and the higher level of expertise that the clubs can afford to pay for.

I'd be surprised to see anyone leave before european games. Big cash incentive for the club with 2 chances at getting to group stage of a tournament.

Not sure what all the rules are now for transfers and windows etc but the club wil find out pretty quickly into the season if they will be makin some good cash from europe. Would we ahve to sell before a certain date or else wait till January? So maybe they can hold the squad together to consoilidate place in the premier before selling anyone.

Based on the fact that Ramsden looks likely to sign, for me defence isn't a priority. A centre midfielder or a replacement for Murphy would top the list.

If I'd told you last season we'd lose Jennings and Clancy, who would you have wanted to replace most..?

Probably Clancy if I knew that Craigan was offski as well. Ramsden in but hopefully a good Euro run might even allow us a wee loan deal in midfield....even if it is an 18-19 year old untested Championship player.

Aye, what Finlay said. We've lost Craigan and Clancy at centre half and the two first picks we have are seen more often on Holby City than the pitch at Fir Park. Ramsden we need to sign, the midfield is not a need to more a like to. Granted since then we have seen Carswell get more game time, and while you may say he struggled he is as good as just about every other second pick central midfielder in the league take out Celtic and given Law could be ahead of him there anyway. You can't judge Hetherington's defensive aspect on a friendly either as tackling is more or less not done. In a 90 minute game against a Raith team who penned us back for long spells he got caught on the wrong side twice, and on both occasions tracked back and won the ball anyway. I'm not saying he is an every week pick, but for a second sub he will more than do. We are at really tight belt time here, if Murphy goes we need a replacement attacking type player and we need Ramsden. Central midfield may not be as strong as with Jennings but it is more than adequate for 90% of the games we will play this season. And even with Jennings that ratio would not change.

Someone link me to the source regarding Murphy and Randy leaving please dry.gif

Two separate people have told me this weekend that a deal's been done for Murphy.

The Randolph story has done the rounds for a while, particularly before Celtic sealed the Forster deal. I was told that McCall was told that he'd need to sell Randolph unless we made the Europa League group stages..

What can an English side do to toughen him up that we can't?

Specialist training Greg - unless you're physically tough you smply won't survive down south in the upper echelons. Just look at Faddy. Not the biggest or strongest of guys when he was with us but within 12 months at Goodison he'd put on a stone of muscle. I was scared stiff when Everton took the field yesterday and I was just watching from the stands. Some very big guys in that side and if they'd wanted to they could easily knock 10 bells out of any Scots side. I saw Adam Cummins and Jelavic together and whilst they were about tthe same height, the latter was about 2 stones heavier. You would not want to mess with guys like Darron Gibson.

Everton were not a dirty side and the game was 100% clean yesterday but you knew that the Toffees could take care of themselves if they had to.

Specialist training Greg - unless you're physically tough you smply won't survive down south in the upper echelons. Just look at Faddy. Not the biggest or strongest of guys when he was with us but within 12 months at Goodison he'd put on a stone of muscle. I was scared stiff when Everton took the field yesterday and I was just watching from the stands. Some very big guys in that side and if they'd wanted to they could easily knock 10 bells out of any Scots side. I saw Adam Cummins and Jelavic together and whilst they were about tthe same height, the latter was about 2 stones heavier. You would not want to mess with guys like Darron Gibson.

Everton were not a dirty side and the game was 100% clean yesterday but you knew that the Toffees could take care of themselves if they had to.

I remember this being most obvious when we played Nancy. The muscle bulk on a lot of those players when compared to ours was ridiculous.

Im working at the Richoh Arena Coventry, spoke to the groundsman there, he said Jennings got injured while on trial with them, so Never traveled to Scotland for there tour. Not sure how accurate that is but if he is injured the chances of him finding a club will be limited .

Could he come back!

Im working at the Richoh Arena Coventry, spoke to the groundsman there, he said Jennings got injured while on trial with them, so Never traveled to Scotland for there tour. Not sure how accurate that is but if he is injured the chances of him finding a club will be limited .

Could he come back!

Jennings didn't travel due to lack of fitness. Coventry put him on his own training regime.

To be honest, there's an element of that even when we play Celtic or Rangers. Occasionally we hear the club has tried to get a young player bulked up but these larger clubs obviously do it to a much greater degree.

They have better steroids.

In terms of the differences a club can make to a player down south and here, the best example I think is Steven Fletcher. Good player up here, capable of looking after himself but after six months there he was much bigger and stronger than he'd ever been up here.

I guess Jennings himself is a great example there. Comes off the back of being the engine room in one of our best seasons ever at a club like ourselves, 6 weeks later goes to Coventry and isn't even deemed fit enough to be part of their pre-season tour!

Decent level players in Scotland are fit. Decent level players in England are athletes. That's the difference.

I guess Jennings himself is a great example there. Comes off the back of being the engine room in one of our best seasons ever at a club like ourselves, 6 weeks later goes to Coventry and isn't even deemed fit enough to be part of their pre-season tour!

Decent level players in Scotland are fit. Decent level players in England are athletes. That's the difference.

Maybe, but I'm not 100% convinced. Guys like Porter, Jutkiewicz and Blackman looked comparatively unfit when they joined up with us and took a few weeks to get up to speed.

Also, being athletic is not the same as bulking up. Guys like Wenger have focused on making players athletes, but the English game still suffers from 'big and hard = better'.

In fairness though, they reason they ended up here was because they weren't playing or performing at that level.

Noticed your edit after i'd posted: Yeah exactly, bulking up is different from being athletic but that's my point, down south they have dedicated staff who are experts in adding clean size and lean bulk to athletes. Up here we don't have that luxury so it's a choice between fit or overweight, and for Jamie Murphy in Scotland fit = being the sized he is, the only way he'll get bigger up here is if he does it on his own in his own time, or if he puts on bulk to the detriment of aerobic fitness