fizoxy Posted February 14, 2023 Report Share Posted February 14, 2023 Bullen isn't the worst shout, but I sincerely doubt that we'll pay another team for their manager. As mentioned earlier, we've done that once in just about 40 years, and having paid off a couple of managers and their staff already this season, I think we will be going for someone we don't have to pay to get. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelmaninOZ Posted February 14, 2023 Report Share Posted February 14, 2023 6 hours ago, grizzlyg said: Reminds me of when growing up in Hamilton as a Well fan. So many discussions at school were "so when rangers play Celtic who do you want to win?".....me"neither, I'm a well fan"............."Aye...but if you had to pick one....who would you pick?".....me."neither ....what part of I'm a well fan do you not grasp?" I know this season has been torture but I am so glad my Dad was a Well fan and had me going to games from 5yrs old. COYW I think we Motherwell fans copped this a lot at school. When later and old enough to be in a pub, the same crowd would be buying the drinks if Motherwell beat Celtic or Rangers! “Aye if ye had tae pick wan…Claret and Amber colours true far ahead of Green or blue you’ll remember Motherwell for many a day… Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelmaninOZ Posted February 14, 2023 Report Share Posted February 14, 2023 7 hours ago, wellsince75 said: bring in Skippy Why He was a small striker, who played for the OF. He was a huffy wee bugger. He's been a manager for almost a year. Closest thing to a Tommy McLean replica I can think of. Note to self: Monday night drinking needs to stop. Skippy been a manager for almost a year? Has he now? Who with? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mad Dog Posted February 14, 2023 Report Share Posted February 14, 2023 6 hours ago, smiddy said: see somebody on P&B when asked who our next manager would be he said " fuckifano" now if my memory is correct was he hot the big italian striker ??? just askin like You think he's hot? Not sure that needs to be part of the recruitment process. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spiderpig Posted February 14, 2023 Report Share Posted February 14, 2023 7 hours ago, mfc said: Ex Brazil international ze maria has applied according to the record. The sun running the story as well now https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/10217656/brazil-inter-milan-motherwell-job/ Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellfan Posted February 14, 2023 Report Share Posted February 14, 2023 22 minutes ago, Spiderpig said: The sun running the story as well now https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/10217656/brazil-inter-milan-motherwell-job/ I don't trust the Board to make the right footballing decision anymore so I wouldn't be surprised if they give the job to someone like him. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bobbybingo Posted February 14, 2023 Report Share Posted February 14, 2023 Technical assistant coach of the youth set-up. Does he clean the whiteboard or hand out bibs? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happy Dosser Posted February 14, 2023 Report Share Posted February 14, 2023 4 minutes ago, wellfan said: I don't trust the Board to make the right footballing decision anymore so I wouldn't be surprised if they give the job to someone like him. Agreed but I hear he's always been a 'Well fan and longed to pull on the "clamber and aret". Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Great Balls of Shire Posted February 14, 2023 Report Share Posted February 14, 2023 7 hours ago, Clackscat said: Lee Bullen not been mentioned anywhere, doing a great job at Ayr on tight budget and a legend as a player and captain at Sheff Wed, interim mgr 3 times with 50% win rate at difficult periods. Well travelled in early part if his career, wiki page really interesting. No shrinking violet in dressing room I'll bet Good shout Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toxteth O'Grady Posted February 14, 2023 Report Share Posted February 14, 2023 James McPake? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellfan Posted February 14, 2023 Report Share Posted February 14, 2023 25 minutes ago, Toxteth O'Grady said: James McPake? Another young manager (2 years younger than Hammell) is not the type needed to turn our shite squad into a 10th-place team. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
star sail Posted February 14, 2023 Report Share Posted February 14, 2023 38 minutes ago, wellfan said: Another young manager (2 years younger than Hammell) is not the type needed to turn our shite squad into a 10th-place team. He is younger but he does have more first team management experience. I felt that he was treated rather harshly by Dundee. They were struggling, yes but performances fell off a cliff when he left. Dundee were in a similar situation then to the one we find ourselves in now. He seemed to be keeping their heads above water, just. I wondered on Saturday if the board at Motherwell already had a new manager lined up should they lose to Raith. It seems like that was not the case, unless Lambert was the target and he rejected an offer on the Sunday. The mood music does suggest that they might be more likely to approach a target this time as opposed to relying on applications. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mfc Posted February 14, 2023 Report Share Posted February 14, 2023 Surely it's just paper and talk and we wouldn't actually be interested in mcpake,the thought of paying compensation for him would be insane. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spiderpig Posted February 14, 2023 Report Share Posted February 14, 2023 2 hours ago, wellfan said: I don't trust the Board to make the right footballing decision anymore so I wouldn't be surprised if they give the job to someone like him. Spot on, my thoughts as well its the same people that made the wrong choice appointing Hammell, I am also not confident they will get it right this time.. I know there is still time to save the season but for me it's going to take a lot longer to get the club back on a stable footing so this decision is crucial. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spit_It_Out Posted February 14, 2023 Report Share Posted February 14, 2023 Just curious question to everyone do folk want someone until end of the season or someone more long term?. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wellfan91 Posted February 14, 2023 Report Share Posted February 14, 2023 9 hours ago, Clackscat said: Lee Bullen not been mentioned anywhere, doing a great job at Ayr on tight budget and a legend as a player and captain at Sheff Wed, interim mgr 3 times with 50% win rate at difficult periods. Well travelled in early part if his career, wiki page really interesting. No shrinking violet in dressing room I'll bet Sheff Wed are my English team and he is a legend down there for his work on and off the park, a nicer guy you will struggle to meet but demands performances and respect from the players - we should be doing everything we can to get him in, don't suspect Ayr will command a huge compensation fee, for me he's the only candidate I would choose from. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
GrahamH Posted February 14, 2023 Report Share Posted February 14, 2023 The more names I see getting banded about the more concern I have that the board are going to mess this up again. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yoshi-1991 Posted February 14, 2023 Report Share Posted February 14, 2023 6 minutes ago, Spit_It_Out said: Just curious question to everyone do folk want someone until end of the season or someone more long term?. Big fat wedge to whoever can keep us up. Have a look again in the summer for someone that's capable of constructing a rebuild. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MelvinBragg Posted February 14, 2023 Report Share Posted February 14, 2023 Of the names mentioned here, I'd be happy with McPake or Bullen. Both have shown the ability to turn around team and a club drifting in the wrong direction. Goodwin and Ross best work has been at clubs where the club is generally on the up. Well, that's my perception anyway... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MelvinBragg Posted February 14, 2023 Report Share Posted February 14, 2023 2 minutes ago, GrahamH said: The more names I see getting banded about the more concern I have that the board are going to mess this up again. Probably best ignore rumours in the papers. How often have they got it right in the past..? How many people lost money to the bookies when Baraclough was appointed..? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellfan Posted February 14, 2023 Report Share Posted February 14, 2023 23 minutes ago, Spiderpig said: Spot on, my thoughts as well its the same people that made the wrong choice appointing Hammell, I am also not confident they will get it right this time.. I know there is still time to save the season but for me it's going to take a lot longer to get the club back on a stable footing so this decision is crucial. And the same Board that extended Alexander against all common sense. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellfan Posted February 14, 2023 Report Share Posted February 14, 2023 22 minutes ago, Wellfan91 said: Sheff Wed are my English team and he is a legend down there for his work on and off the park, a nicer guy you will struggle to meet but demands performances and respect from the players - we should be doing everything we can to get him in, don't suspect Ayr will command a huge compensation fee, for me he's the only candidate I would choose from. I don't know much about Bullen, but what you wrote makes him sound a compelling option. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yoshi-1991 Posted February 14, 2023 Report Share Posted February 14, 2023 . Eh, brain fart. Go about your day, nothing to see. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
El Grew Posted February 14, 2023 Report Share Posted February 14, 2023 2 hours ago, wellfan said: Another young manager (2 years younger than Hammell) is not the type needed to turn our shite squad into a 10th-place team. Spot on. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fizoxy Posted February 14, 2023 Report Share Posted February 14, 2023 1 hour ago, GrahamH said: The more names I see getting banded about the more concern I have that the board are going to mess this up again. The club can't control who the hacks and fans want to start rumors about. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...