Yoshi-1991 Posted August 31, 2024 Report Share Posted August 31, 2024 Crazy at this point. So that's us bolted down to having the financial problem of not being able to get rid if results go bad. Hope there is a performance clause in there. Its like we never learn. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted August 31, 2024 Report Share Posted August 31, 2024 Same here, don't quite understand why new contract at this stage but at least it's not a crazy 3 1/2 year extension like the one they gave Alexander a few years back Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
twistandshout1983 Posted August 31, 2024 Report Share Posted August 31, 2024 I think it is a positive Kettlewell and Frail signing new deals We need a bit of stability at the club after the last few years Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
witchfindergeneral Posted August 31, 2024 Report Share Posted August 31, 2024 2 hours ago, Yoshi-1991 said: Crazy at this point. So that's us bolted down to having the financial problem of not being able to get rid if results go bad. Hope there is a performance clause in there. Its like we never learn. It's not that bad. It's a rolling contract, so there's always gonnae be 12 months added on. Protects us financially if another club poaches Ketts and if we do pull the trigger on him at any point, the outlay won't hit the club as hard as when GA was sacked 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelboy Posted August 31, 2024 Report Share Posted August 31, 2024 2 hours ago, grizzlyg said: Same here, don't quite understand why new contract at this stage but at least it's not a crazy 3 1/2 year extension like the one they gave Alexander a few years back They are giving him a new contract now because they won't get away with it if it turns out we have signed a dozen duds. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Orinoco Posted August 31, 2024 Report Share Posted August 31, 2024 That's the spirit. Keep up the negativity. Maybe one day you will post something positive. 6 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellup83 Posted August 31, 2024 Report Share Posted August 31, 2024 5 minutes ago, steelboy said: They are giving him a new contract now because they won't get away with it if it turns out we have signed a dozen duds. Away and 'support' some other team. Glasgow blue or green should be right up your street. 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted August 31, 2024 Report Share Posted August 31, 2024 17 minutes ago, steelboy said: They are giving him a new contract now because they won't get away with it if it turns out we have signed a dozen duds. But maybe we haven't signed a dozen duds, let's see how things pan out, positive thinking pal 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Orinoco Posted August 31, 2024 Report Share Posted August 31, 2024 . Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted August 31, 2024 Report Share Posted August 31, 2024 17 minutes ago, steelboy said: They are giving him a new contract now because they won't get away with it if it turns out we have signed a dozen duds. But maybe we haven't signed a dozen duds, let's see how things pan out, positive thinking pal 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelboy Posted August 31, 2024 Report Share Posted August 31, 2024 2 minutes ago, grizzlyg said: But maybe we haven't signed a dozen duds, let's see how things pan out, positive thinking pal Let's see how things would definitley be the correct course of action. Unfortunately they gave him a contract off the back of one win against a shite Hearts team coming back from Europe. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted August 31, 2024 Report Share Posted August 31, 2024 6 minutes ago, steelboy said: Let's see how things would definitley be the correct course of action. Unfortunately they gave him a contract off the back of one win against a shite Hearts team coming back from Europe. I didn't agree with the new contract offer just now, but need to give his signings time to settle Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
David Posted August 31, 2024 Report Share Posted August 31, 2024 4 hours ago, Yoshi-1991 said: So that's us bolted down to having the financial problem of not being able to get rid if results go bad. How so? Their contracts ran until the end of the season. I assume their new "rolling contracts" will run from the start of this season until the end of the same season, with added security that it can be extended to next season if all parties agree? I don't see how we're bolted down to anything? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mio Posted August 31, 2024 Report Share Posted August 31, 2024 He has a better win record than any other Motherwell manager in modern times. I think the only better ratio is davie hay and going back to George Stevenson in the 50s I think he deserves a new deal and I have no idea who you would pick that could do a better job than he’s doing at the moment. I think folk who continually verbally assault him are mentally challenged. 3 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
twistandshout1983 Posted August 31, 2024 Report Share Posted August 31, 2024 Time to cut Stuart Kettlewell a bit of slack I think Was mentioned before today’s game he has a 43% win ratio . No doubt a few people will say most were in his first 3 months , and a few cup wins against diddy teams If you then think all the draws when we could have lost , and defeats where we have still been competitive more often than not, in the recent past before this we may have lost 4,5 or 6 he has done a good job in my opinion 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellsince75 Posted August 31, 2024 Report Share Posted August 31, 2024 With less than 12 months left on contract I can see why we offered new deals . If SK was a promising young player doing well we’d want to protect him and get him signed . Same principles apply as a manager. He’s young and crafted a very decent points tally in his tenure . Still got lots to learn . To help him I genuinely believe we need to do something different on the recruitment front . Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joewarkfanclub Posted August 31, 2024 Report Share Posted August 31, 2024 A rolling contract makes sense. Means no one can come poach SK or Frail without paying us a fee, and if we need to get rid, its never more than 12 months to pay up. Gives us stability and is a good message to send out to this squad, who all clearly buy into what SK is preaching. I also read that its something Brian Caldwell has done at previous clubs, so maybe just the CEO taking care of business...... 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stuwell2 Posted November 4, 2024 Report Share Posted November 4, 2024 I’ll start by saying I’m not looking for SK to be sacked as avoiding relegation, reaching a semi final and having us in the top half of the league are the things that I want to see our manager achieving in a season and so far he’s ticking the boxes well. Now the rub, what I’d also like and expect to see - at least on occasions - is a team that plays a style of football that has me leaving the game buzzing and looking forward to the next game. Unfortunately I feel I’m leaving most games feeling that we’re slowly grinding our way to premiership survival and hoping that what we are watching improves. We see glimpses of some of the talent we have but frustratingly for me in attack our midfield and forward lines seldomly click. This is where my issues with SK and the club hierarchy are, SK is a young manager who I believe needs guidance but with no director of football who’s doing this? I’ve read stories of manager’s talking about being in contact with their ex managers who were successful managers and taking advice from them but I don’t think SK has this so is there something he and the club can do to help him improve as a manager rather then him learning as he goes? Maybe quietly and without publicity pay an older experienced manager to mentor him? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yodo Posted November 4, 2024 Report Share Posted November 4, 2024 50 minutes ago, Stuwell2 said: I’ll start by saying I’m not looking for SK to be sacked as avoiding relegation, reaching a semi final and having us in the top half of the league are the things that I want to see our manager achieving in a season and so far he’s ticking the boxes well. Now the rub, what I’d also like and expect to see - at least on occasions - is a team that plays a style of football that has me leaving the game buzzing and looking forward to the next game. Unfortunately I feel I’m leaving most games feeling that we’re slowly grinding our way to premiership survival and hoping that what we are watching improves. We see glimpses of some of the talent we have but frustratingly for me in attack our midfield and forward lines seldomly click. This is where my issues with SK and the club hierarchy are, SK is a young manager who I believe needs guidance but with no director of football who’s doing this? I’ve read stories of manager’s talking about being in contact with their ex managers who were successful managers and taking advice from them but I don’t think SK has this so is there something he and the club can do to help him improve as a manager rather then him learning as he goes? Maybe quietly and without publicity pay an older experienced manager to mentor him? More excuses for the manager typical Well fan outlook . He signed the players at his disposal everybody knew we needed a striker and a holdin midfielder with quality . There is no one to blame except the manager but the fans will probably accept another losing run like last season 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joewarkfanclub Posted November 4, 2024 Report Share Posted November 4, 2024 42 minutes ago, Yodo said: More excuses for the manager typical Well fan outlook . He signed the players at his disposal everybody knew we needed a striker and a holdin midfielder with quality . There is no one to blame except the manager but the fans will probably accept another losing run like last season You obviously missed the part where he criticised the manager. Out of interest, which striker and quality holding midfielder do you suggest he signed? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stuwell2 Posted November 4, 2024 Report Share Posted November 4, 2024 3 minutes ago, Yodo said: More excuses for the manager typical Well fan outlook . He signed the players at his disposal everybody knew we needed a striker and a holdin midfielder with quality . There is no one to blame except the manager but the fans will probably accept another losing run like last season More of the same from you sadly. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yodo Posted November 4, 2024 Report Share Posted November 4, 2024 2 minutes ago, Stuwell2 said: More of the same from you sadly. You mean the truth take yer heed oot the sand Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stuwell2 Posted November 4, 2024 Report Share Posted November 4, 2024 10 minutes ago, Yodo said: You mean the truth take yer heed oot the sand Aye ok Scully. 1 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mad Dog Posted November 4, 2024 Report Share Posted November 4, 2024 2 hours ago, Stuwell2 said: I’ll start by saying I’m not looking for SK to be sacked as avoiding relegation, reaching a semi final and having us in the top half of the league are the things that I want to see our manager achieving in a season and so far he’s ticking the boxes well. Now the rub, what I’d also like and expect to see - at least on occasions - is a team that plays a style of football that has me leaving the game buzzing and looking forward to the next game. Unfortunately I feel I’m leaving most games feeling that we’re slowly grinding our way to premiership survival and hoping that what we are watching improves. We see glimpses of some of the talent we have but frustratingly for me in attack our midfield and forward lines seldomly click. This is where my issues with SK and the club hierarchy are, SK is a young manager who I believe needs guidance but with no director of football who’s doing this? I’ve read stories of manager’s talking about being in contact with their ex managers who were successful managers and taking advice from them but I don’t think SK has this so is there something he and the club can do to help him improve as a manager rather then him learning as he goes? Maybe quietly and without publicity pay an older experienced manager to mentor him? I would say that appointing Steven Frail as his number two shows his acceptance that he needed guidance from someone much more experienced. Do we really need to spend a high salary on a director of football? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelboy Posted November 4, 2024 Report Share Posted November 4, 2024 44 minutes ago, joewarkfanclub said: Out of interest, which striker and quality holding midfielder do you suggest he signed? The guy has a wage budget for players that's over £3 million a year. He signed 17 players in the summer. Clearly we should have more quality than we have at the moment and he completely failed to strengthen two positions that everyone identified as most important. With every window that goes by with Kettlewell in charge the squad gets worse and there's more money down the drain. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...