joewarkfanclub Posted May 1 Report Share Posted May 1 I should add, that I dont have any problem with loanees in certain circumstances. For example to cover a short term injury when we dont have a player of sufficient standard on our books (Furlong / Gent) or the player coming in is of a standard we couldnt afford to bring in on a full time contract (Mika Biereth) But the loanees this season have barely contributed, so they clearly havent hit the levels required of them. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted May 1 Report Share Posted May 1 I think we injured most of our loanees at some point didn't we? No favouritism in our training regime. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spit_It_Out Posted May 1 Report Share Posted May 1 Just now, joewarkfanclub said: I should add, that I dont have any problem with loanees in certain circumstances. For example to cover a short term injury when we dont have a player of sufficient standard on our books (Furlong / Gent) or the player coming in is of a standard we couldnt afford to bring in on a full time contract (Mika Biereth) But the loanees this season have barely contributed, so they clearly havent hit the levels required of them. They have been shocking so so poor it's like Kettlewell sat down with Daws and just said aye sign him,him and him and this is from manager that always went on about only going to sign players that enhance/improve the squad hahaha. Worst two transfer windows I have witnessed.Signed a ton of players that never improved us one bit lol. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted May 1 Report Share Posted May 1 1 hour ago, Spit_It_Out said: They have been shocking so so poor it's like Kettlewell sat down with Daws and just said aye sign him,him and him and this is from manager that always went on about only going to sign players that enhance/improve the squad hahaha. Worst two transfer windows I have witnessed.Signed a ton of players that never improved us one bit lol. sign him, good project and will be the next Bair was probably discussion had 🤣🤣 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted May 1 Report Share Posted May 1 On 4/29/2025 at 3:44 PM, Spiderpig said: Aye that's my view as well, McGregor for player of the year and Engels for the young players,. Rangers only got Igamane nominated to keep them sweet no chance he'll win though. Hope Robbie Williams isn't at event and has the deciding vote. After praising Miller he'll vote for Engels instead!!! Apologies......will report myself to the admin team 🤪🤪 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted May 1 Report Share Posted May 1 47 minutes ago, Spit_It_Out said: Worst two transfer windows I have witnessed.Signed a ton of players that never improved us one bit lol. At least they didn't put them all on the same tractor. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spiderpig Posted May 1 Report Share Posted May 1 1 hour ago, grizzlyg said: Hope Robbie Williams isn't at event and has the deciding vote. After praising Miller he'll vote for Engels instead!!! Apologies......will report myself to the admin team 🤪🤪 🤦♂️ end of season, nothing to play for vibe with that effort. 1 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellon Posted May 1 Report Share Posted May 1 6 hours ago, dennyc said: I agree 100% with your comments re strategy but worry that it will take several years to rebuild a youth programme that has been diminished over a number of seasons under several Managers. Certainly the Loanee numbers are farcical and those you highlight are certainly no better than the youth quoted. But that bar is pretty low. And unless they have improved leaps and bounds I'm not sure any of the current crop are first team standard, or have that potential. Wilson looked to be the best of the lot but he has fallen off a cliff of late, although I believe he can bounce back given strong support. The players currently out on loan are doing ok, but no more than that. I guess what I am saying is that, like the first team, the youth squad has been weakened over a number of seasons and it will take quite some time for both squads to be rebuilt to an effective standard. I suspect that long term aim was why Wimmer was chosen for the job in the first place. It will be interesting to see whether he makes changes to the coaching staff at several levels over the summer. I know a few think Wimmer will move on at season end no matter what, but I hope he stays and is given scope to develop a coherent strategy that covers all age groups. A complete reset is required. In my opinion anyway. Others will disagree. What's this with wimmer moving on? First I've heard... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dennyc Posted May 1 Report Share Posted May 1 1 minute ago, wellon said: What's this with wimmer moving on? First I've heard... Just chat on here previously. Nothing based on fact. Just a 'feeling' one or two folk had. I took it with a pinch of salt. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellsince75 Posted May 1 Report Share Posted May 1 Quite liked Wimmer outlining that he'll only bring in better players than the ones we've got. Very sensible. Only issue is he's happy with a lot of the player we have. Not as sensible. Overall signing c4 quality players in the transfer window also sounds sensible. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellon Posted May 1 Report Share Posted May 1 1 hour ago, dennyc said: Just chat on here previously. Nothing based on fact. Just a 'feeling' one or two folk had. I took it with a pinch of salt. OK ta, hope not , he's a character Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmcalpin Posted May 1 Report Share Posted May 1 26 minutes ago, wellsince75 said: Quite liked Wimmer outlining that he'll only bring in better players than the ones we've got. Very sensible. Only issue is he's happy with a lot of the player we have. Not as sensible. Overall signing c4 quality players in the transfer window also sounds sensible. I think he'll sign more than 4 players, although it won't be a complete overhaul. If the squad, as is, can't play his intense high prerssing game, he'll bring in a few new faces to enable that change in style. Also, he won't want to upset current squad members as we still have 4 competitive fixtures to fulfil. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
smiddy Posted May 1 Report Share Posted May 1 19 hours ago, weeyin said: Or neither of these things. Maybe he'll bring in players that are quite good and we do quite well. Time will tell i just hope heez got a wee trick ot 2 up his sleeve. All this flirting with the trap door doesnt sit well Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
robsterwood Posted May 1 Report Share Posted May 1 Disagree with the people that are against loan signings. We have had some good ones over years. Ruddy. Juitkewics, Biereth. All made big contribution to league position. Youth set up at present would not provide anywhere near that talent. Also other spl clubs taking advantage of having quality players that they couldn't normally afford. Owen Beck at Dundee. Dalby at utd. I got one would take either on loan. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dennyc Posted May 1 Report Share Posted May 1 25 minutes ago, robsterwood said: Disagree with the people that are against loan signings. We have had some good ones over years. Ruddy. Juitkewics, Biereth. All made big contribution to league position. Youth set up at present would not provide anywhere near that talent. Also other spl clubs taking advantage of having quality players that they couldn't normally afford. Owen Beck at Dundee. Dalby at utd. I got one would take either on loan. I don't think anyone is against signing two or three quality players on a Loan basis. Like Beck and Dalby. The issue is making dozens of Loan signings who contribute zero, and in some cases feature for a few minutes at best before disappearing off the face of the earth. Of this season's batch, who do you think has been a success? Perhaps more to the point, who has failed to deliver? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted May 1 Report Share Posted May 1 1 hour ago, robsterwood said: Disagree with the people that are against loan signings. We have had some good ones over years. Ruddy. Juitkewics, Biereth. All made big contribution to league position. Youth set up at present would not provide anywhere near that talent. Also other spl clubs taking advantage of having quality players that they couldn't normally afford. Owen Beck at Dundee. Dalby at utd. I got one would take either on loan. Yip, the issue isn't the loan signing....it's the quality of the signing. Furlong, Gent, lukas oh wowwwww, ruddy, biereth all great. Loans only highlighted when we sign bad ones Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted May 1 Report Share Posted May 1 45 minutes ago, dennyc said: I don't think anyone is against signing two or three quality players on a Loan basis. Like Beck and Dalby. The issue is making dozens of Loan signings who contribute zero, and in some cases feature for a few minutes at best before disappearing off the face of the earth. Of this season's batch, who do you think has been a success? Perhaps more to the point, who has failed to deliver? Andrews been decent.....that's about it though Armstrong attitude and workrate can't be faulted Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted May 1 Report Share Posted May 1 48 minutes ago, grizzlyg said: Andrews been decent.....that's about it though Armstrong attitude and workrate can't be faulted Kaleta was good until we crocked him. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dennyc Posted May 2 Report Share Posted May 2 2 hours ago, weeyin said: Kaleta was good until we crocked him. He started well in an attacking sense. But was rotten after that. Not selected even when fit. Possibly because defensively he was a liability and he lost the ability to cross a ball. Seemed to get better the less he played. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
thewelllfan Posted May 2 Report Share Posted May 2 Of our 10 loanees only maybe 5 have been in any way useful. Taveres, Dickson, Plange - been completely pointless signings Vale - Was good last season but been injured majority of the season Mair and Balcombe - served a purpose as Ox and then Mair got injured. Watt, Armstrong, Andrews, Kaleta - all had a couple of decent performances but not been consistent. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted May 2 Report Share Posted May 2 1 hour ago, thewelllfan said: Of our 10 loanees only maybe 5 have been in any way useful. Taveres, Dickson, Plange - been completely pointless signings Vale - Was good last season but been injured majority of the season Mair and Balcombe - served a purpose as Ox and then Mair got injured. Watt, Armstrong, Andrews, Kaleta - all had a couple of decent performances but not been consistent. I forgot Watt was on loan. Not done enough, Saturday he was great but not seen enough of that. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
texanwellfan Posted May 2 Report Share Posted May 2 I’ll be interested to see if we pull in any players from the European mainland through some of Wimmer’s contacts. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
AllyMax Posted May 2 Report Share Posted May 2 19 minutes ago, texanwellfan said: I’ll be interested to see if we pull in any players from the European mainland through some of Wimmer’s contacts. I hope his German contacts are better than the ones McGhee had. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spit_It_Out Posted May 2 Report Share Posted May 2 5 hours ago, grizzlyg said: I forgot Watt was on loan. Not done enough, Saturday he was great but not seen enough of that. Exactly!blows my mind reading I would give him another year or two one good game in about 19 games and it merits a contract. No value in signing him whatsoever and not telling me we can't get our hands on a younger version that has the same attributes nah we have enough retained now the rest can leave let's just build around what we have and push on. 4 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mfc Posted May 2 Report Share Posted May 2 17 minutes ago, Spit_It_Out said: Exactly!blows my mind reading I would give him another year or two one good game in about 19 games and it merits a contract. No value in signing him whatsoever and not telling me we can't get out hands on a younger version that has the same attributes nah we have enough retained now the rest can leave let's just build around what we have now and push on. Agreed,we've had as good out of watt as were ever going to get,there's no reason whatsoever to take him on permanently.theres no way we will be going with umpteen forwards again next season and with robinson and maswinise already signed up for next season the scope for making the required changes is already limited.we need to freshen it up and hope we can get someone in that can perform on a more regular basis than watt has this season. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...