Our New Manager, who do we want?

Spiderpig

4 hours ago, wunderwell said:

Evatt prefers to play attacking possession-based football, with his Barrow team nicknamed "Barrowcelona" due to the attacking football they played.[68][69] At Barrow he played a 3-4-1-2 formation and used the same system at Bolton Wanderers. He changed to a 4-2-3-1 formation, with Bolton going from 20th to third and achieving promotion to League One.[69][70][56] Evatt frequently decides against naming a substitute goalkeeper on the bench, preferring to have more attacking options and has had outfield players do goalkeeping training, just in case.[71][72] Evatt will sometimes bring on attacking players when winning matches rather than defensive players, preferring to score more goals than defend a lead.[73]

He sounds an ideal candidate get him

12 hours ago, wunderwell said:

Evatt frequently decides against naming a substitute goalkeeper on the bench, preferring to have more attacking options and has had outfield players do goalkeeping training, just in case.[71][72] Evatt will sometimes bring on attacking players when winning matches rather than defensive players, preferring to score more goals than defend a lead.

When can he start?

12 hours ago, wellfan said:

Stuart McCall, please! His win % and PPM are the best I've seen in my four decades as a 'Well fan. Halcyon days. 

Even then some fans were too busy complaining about how useless Hollis, Hately, Page, Forbes, Kerr etc. were to fully enjoy it.

13 hours ago, wellfan said:

Stuart McCall, please! His win % and PPM are the best I've seen in my four decades as a 'Well fan. Halcyon days. 

A manager who took us to the champions league for the 1st time and gave me some of my proudest moments as a well fan would be welcome anytime.

On 1/30/2025 at 7:19 PM, steelman1991 said:

Reckon that comment says more about you mate than the board members at the time. Why wouldn't they fly the Union Flag?

@steelman1991  I was actually trying to state a fact and refrain from the "should it shouldn't it" debate.

However, to clarify and assist you with an accurate opinion of me, I can confirm the flying of the Union Flag did not offend me. 

On 1/30/2025 at 9:27 PM, santheman said:

As was the Saltire (take from that what you like)

What is it with you fukkers ?  Nae wonder the old school guys have left this site in droves. Post a non-opinionated fact (for the benefit of younger viewers) and ye get turned on . WTF 

18 hours ago, weeyin said:

Even then some fans were too busy complaining about how useless Hollis, Hately, Page, Forbes, Kerr etc. were to fully enjoy it.

Quite, I might be remembering this wrongly, but the season we finished 2nd, did we not take all our points from bottom six sides and basically lose to everyone in the tops six, then after the split I think we won one and got that shitfest draw at pittodrie. There were plenty on here greetin' about how shite we were then too.

40 minutes ago, Lord Tanamo said:

What is it with you fukkers ?  Nae wonder the old school guys have left this site in droves. Post a non-opinionated fact (for the benefit of younger viewers) and ye get turned on . WTF 

Think you need a wee lie doon mate.

You're the one trying to push an agenda.

1 hour ago, Lord Tanamo said:

@steelman1991  I was actually trying to state a fact and refrain from the "should it shouldn't it" debate.

However, to clarify and assist you with an accurate opinion of me, I can confirm the flying of the Union Flag did not offend me. 

No you weren’t it was abundantly clear what your agenda was with the accompanying comment about “60 somethings Protestant businessmen”

feel free though to join the “old school guys” over on P&B. 

2 hours ago, Lord Tanamo said:

LOL

ROFL

LMAO

That’s young-speak, btw. 

Ok! Back to the football. 
As someone mentioned we really need to pick up at least 6 out of the next 9 points so it would be good to have the new guy in place and at least have a few days for him to work with the players if possible. Even with our depleted squad we are still capable of making top 6. If we have the new guy (with new attitude/approach/tactics) in place AND some players back we should be able to have a good run in to the split. COYW !!!

19 minutes ago, wellfan said:

4-4-2, please. Or any other system with a flat back 4. 

442 with two wingers wouldn't work. Everyone plays three in centre midfield now. So unless you've got Ngolo Kante, or plan on playing counter attacking football with a solid defence. A solid defence we don't have. Every single full back we have is a wing back and way better at going forward than attacking. And we don't seem to have two centre backs solid enough to play in a back four. The ones we haven't aren't good enough when we play three of them.

Other than that it's a fantastic idea...

23 minutes ago, MelvinBragg said:

442 with two wingers wouldn't work. Everyone plays three in centre midfield now. So unless you've got Ngolo Kante, or plan on playing counter attacking football with a solid defence. A solid defence we don't have. Every single full back we have is a wing back and way better at going forward than attacking. And we don't seem to have two centre backs solid enough to play in a back four. The ones we haven't aren't good enough when we play three of them.

I guess we’re better off sticking with the leaky back 5 then. 

33 minutes ago, Richie said:

Regarding the previous Gerrard chat, I know it was largely tongue in vheek, but apparently Carlisle are approaching him.

Owned by some rich Americans. 

1 hour ago, Richie said:

Regarding the previous Gerrard chat, I know it was largely tongue in vheek, but apparently Carlisle are approaching him.

His career record as a manager / head coach is not very inspiring, a fantastic player but that's about it, even at 44 he'd walk into our current team and be a star.

On 2/2/2025 at 7:49 PM, MelvinBragg said:

A lot of the time defending errors are made in midfield.

4-4-2 is the simplest, least complex system and you should be able to get a team to defend in 2 banks of 4.

Also the three centre midfield vs the two centre midfield thing is a bit of a myth.  Often it ends up 2 v 2 as very few teams play a flat 3.  There are lots of tactics videos on this.

As for full backs, that's pretty much the case at every club for decades.  They still have to defend though, just the same as strikers sometimes have to chase back or get behind the ball and wingers have to drop back off the ball.

And there in lies the problem for me.  Too many players at this level are either a bit lazy or don't have the engine.  To play at the very top you need the technique but you also have. to absolutely work your arse off.  That's what I don't see very often at this level.  If you could get players at this level to physically work as hard as players at the top level, even without the technique, you'd dominate.

1 hour ago, Ya Bezzer! said:

A lot of the time defending errors are made in midfield..... Too many players at this level are either a bit lazy or don't have the engine.  To play at the very top you need the technique but you also have. to absolutely work your arse off.  That's what I don't see very often at this level.  If you could get players at this level to physically work as hard as players at the top level, even without the technique, you'd dominate.

Good post. Our off the ball work when not in possession is very poor. Frequently our midfield defends only 30 yards in front of our keeper and looks disorganised. One mistake and we're in trouble. 

Now, I know there are reasons for this, at least in part. Some players like Halliday just don't have the legs or others like Paton are returning from injury. That's maybe a signing issue in itself. However going back to the game on Sunday, I was impressed by Celtic's work rate and organisation, during the short time we were in possession. They closed us down quickly, got in our faces, and looked organised. At one point, Manwhanise was suffocated by 3 defenders near the corner flag. We just don't do that. 

• David locked this topic