Kilmarnock V Motherwell 5 April 2025

Kmcalpin

53 minutes ago, El Grew said:

This is true however I don’t think it’s the whole problem. According to the club website we have a first team squad of 34 players. Thats enough to make 3 teams and with our limited resources it is farcical.

We have 10 players on loan:

Mair 
Balcombe 
Kaleta
Andrews
Watt
Plange
Dickson
Armstrong
Tavares

Vale

All of them should be out of FP at the end of the season.

Now I know opinions will differ on the next bit (hard hat on) but I think we’ve got at least 13 players who are deadwood:

O’Donnell
Thompson
Balmer
Blaney
Seddon
Casey
Zadrakovski
Halliday
Paton
Callachan
Robinson
Nicholson
Ebiye

I’d be looking to get rid of most of these and if at all possible, all of them.

This is a situation that was created by the previous manager. A squad built on quantity, with the majority of the players mediocre at best, instead of quality.

Hopefully, we’ll manage to avoid the drop and the new manager will get a chance to rebuild a smaller squad with a bit more quality in it.

Ye think weve still got Jim Gannons number somewhere? Rank rotten manger but by fuck he rebuilt a good team. 

21 minutes ago, grizzlyg said:

Utd winning......haud the bus folks....top 6 still achievable 

I can see the script now, we will beat Hearts and st Mirren will get a VAR assisted 97rh minute winner against Ross County to claim the last top 6 spot on Goal difference 😂 it's the Motherwell way.

2 minutes ago, Spiderpig said:

I can see the script now, we will beat Hearts and st Mirren will get a VAR assisted 97rh minute winner against Ross County to claim the last top 6 spot on Goal difference 😂 it's the Motherwell way.

If St Mirren are beating RC comfortably I hope Hearts beat us LOL, I detest St Mirren with a passion.  Maybe not we might need the points in the relegation fight LOL

52 minutes ago, Big Wispy Flossy said:

Allan Campbell is shite like most of our team. Replacing shite with shite is not the most appropriate use of finite resources

Aye OK then, what a lof of pish

5 hours ago, mfc said:

Exactly,the sending off is way down the list of reasons why we lost that game yesterday,you could tell after 10 minutes exactly what kind of performance we were going to put in,even with 10 men there needs to be some kind of plan to get back into the game but yet even with a man less all we did was kick it away.we struggle everytime the opposition is a man down but yet don't have a clue when the shoe is on the other foot.im at the point now where I hate this current team and want the season done,it doesn't matter what 11 is on the park its same old same old,none of them take any responsibility,take the second goal yesterday as example as if the first wasn't bad enough,we let the cross ball come all the way to the back post and not one of our players even made an attempt to jump and challenge for it,then they all look about gormless at each other,the sooner the majority of them have all fucked off and doing that elsewhere the better.

We can argue backwards and forwards about how poor this Motherwell side is but the sending off was the primary reason for the defeat.

Even after a poor 25 mins there is still the chance to turn the game around. The sending off killed the game, partly because we were poor anyway but primarily because of the man disadvantage.

There surely has to be some belief that your team can get back in the game even after a poor start if you keep a full compliment of players.  

There were a few posts saying that Hearts would definitely win today. They lost, the 10 men almost certainly being the most significant factor in the loss.

This has a feel like the Alexander European season. Terrible from Christmas and then produced a victory against Hearts from nowhere. 

I am not really concerned about top 6 permutations. What is more important is that a win against Hearts would probably get us over the line from a relegation perspective. 

To put a different spin on things, if we beat Hearts they will be in a relegation dogfight. They can't be that good if they are in a similar situation to us after 32 games of the season.

Anything is possible next weekend as St Johnstone proved today.

1 hour ago, Spiderpig said:

Aye OK then, what a lof of pish

Fans of his last 3 clubs have said he’s terrible, that’s good enough for me. They are better placed to judge than someone who probably hasn’t seen him play in earnest in the last 3 and a bit years. It’s a no from me

39 minutes ago, texanwellfan said:

I’m still not sure what they seen to merit a red card, other than a superb piece of acting from the Killie player. 

A player getting injured (or feigning injury) does not in itself automatically mean a foul has been committed. Even less so once the incident is reviewed by VAR. It’s a contact sport and collisions etc happen all the time, and most of these are not caused by illegal play.

What we’re seeing with refs and VAR now is a total misunderstanding of the game and constant power trips by incompetent buffoons who are never held to account for their continual mistakes.

The game is fucked because of shite refs and an even worse application of VAR. 

1 hour ago, wellfan said:

A player getting injured (or feigning injury) does not in itself automatically mean a foul has been committed. Even less so once the incident is reviewed by VAR. It’s a contact sport and collisions etc happen all the time, and most of these are not caused by illegal play.

What we’re seeing with refs and VAR now is a total misunderstanding of the game and constant power trips by incompetent buffoons who are never held to account for their continual mistakes.

The game is fucked because of shite refs and an even worse application of VAR. 

I think this is so true.

Very telling on Ref Watch today that the studio  ex referee defended the red card, but the two ex players felt it was very harsh. Referees and players are so far apart in their understanding of the game. For that reason I expect Collum to support the red card and our appeal chances to be 50/50 at best. 

Saturday also highlighted another issue with VAR. Having looked at the replay of the Thompson red, Dallas thankfully intervened. But he is not allowed to recommend a yellow for Armstrong. Not saying VAR should intervene for yellow cards, but where a review is already taking place because of a red card, surely the actions of all involved in an incident should be open to some sort of punishment. That's twice red cards for Motherwell players this season following a clash with Armstrong have been ruled incorrect. Coincidence?

20 minutes ago, dennyc said:

Saturday also highlighted another issue with VAR. Having looked at the replay of the Thompson red, Dallas thankfully intervened. But he is not allowed to recommend a yellow for Armstrong. Not saying VAR should intervene for yellow cards, but where a review is already taking place because of a red card, surely the actions of all involved in an incident should be open to some sort of punishment. That's twice red cards for Motherwell players this season following a clash with Armstrong have been ruled incorrect. Coincidence?

Excellent comments. Thre's far too much cheating going on in the game, and we're not blameless ourselves.  However the SFA ought to be taking an active interest in Armstrong and his manager given that he's been involved in at least two unsavoury and similar incidents this season. Such behaviour has implications for the offended party; their family; and club in terms of loss of earnings and availability. A polite, but stern, letter from the beaks to the Killie Chairman warning him that they're watching Armstrong and McInnes wouldn't go amiss.  Will that happen - No. Its also up to the media to call this out - will that happen - No.

5 hours ago, Kmcalpin said:

Excellent comments. Thre's far too much cheating going on in the game, and we're not blameless ourselves.  However the SFA ought to be taking an active interest in Armstrong and his manager given that he's been involved in at least two unsavoury and similar incidents this season. Such behaviour has implications for the offended party; their family; and club in terms of loss of earnings and availability. A polite, but stern, letter from the beaks to the Killie Chairman warning him that they're watching Armstrong and McInnes wouldn't go amiss.  Will that happen - No. Its also up to the media to call this out - will that happen - No.

Craigan and some of the other pundits called it out on Sportsound on Saturday night. They were all unanimous in the fact it wasnt a red card for Balmer and Craigan and Kenny McIntyre called out Armstrong and some of the other Killie players for their behaviour during the Thompson incident. Whether that will make any difference with the appeal or any future conduct is another matter.....

10 hours ago, joewarkfanclub said:

Craigan and some of the other pundits called it out on Sportsound on Saturday night. They were all unanimous in the fact it wasnt a red card for Balmer and Craigan and Kenny McIntyre called out Armstrong and some of the other Killie players for their behaviour during the Thompson incident. Whether that will make any difference with the appeal or any future conduct is another matter.....

The appeal process is a joke as well, we win the appeal, Balmer is clear to play, but we still lost the game. There are never any sanctions on the match referees, VAR, or the cheating opposition players who conned the ref in the 1st place. These are not one off incidents but the comfy wee clique that is the SFA do feck all to address the issue.

36 minutes ago, pretzel said:

Balmers red card has been rescinded which was no surprise. I think we have been on Willie Collum's apology show every month. 

Think should be an apology for rescinding it, means he can now play on Saturday  ( sorry Kofi)

Armstrong's been a cheating wee fanny ever since he moved to Killie. I remember Furlong sorting him out once when he was at it a couple of seasons ago.

On 4/6/2025 at 7:12 PM, Big Wispy Flossy said:

Fans of his last 3 clubs have said he’s terrible, that’s good enough for me. They are better placed to judge than someone who probably hasn’t seen him play in earnest in the last 3 and a bit years. It’s a no from me

Dundee Utd fans aint impressed either.

2 hours ago, wellfan said:

Sweep, sweep. Nothing will change. 

Maybe not,  it seems Alan muir has been punted but that was for alleged errors involving the ugly sisters

https://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/football/25074880.var-official-alan-muir-sacked-celtic-rangers-errors/

But as there are Different rules for the other 10 teams, you are correct nothing will change.

36 minutes ago, Spiderpig said:

Maybe not,  it seems Alan muir has been punted but that was for alleged errors involving the ugly sisters

https://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/football/25074880.var-official-alan-muir-sacked-celtic-rangers-errors/

But as there are Different rules for the other 10 teams, you are correct nothing will change.

Let’s hope this serves as a warning to the rest of the morons who continually make mistakes.