grizzlyg Posted 5 hours ago Report Share Posted 5 hours ago I would hope there would be a way we could sign Welsh. When Liam Kelly signed from QPR he must have taken a huge drop in wages. Maybe the option is we give Welsh a big signing on fee and maybe guarantee say 5% of any transfer fee we might sell him on for. With the money we got for Miller which I know isn't all up front I would hope we were a bit more flexible in negotiating deals. As for Watt and TJ absolutely no pressure to sell as plenty time ledt in contract, in particular TJ. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelmaninOZ Posted 5 hours ago Report Share Posted 5 hours ago 15 hours ago, Happy Dosser said: The Borg has landed..... Captain 7? 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joewarkfanclub Posted 4 hours ago Report Share Posted 4 hours ago 22 minutes ago, grizzlyg said: I would hope there would be a way we could sign Welsh. When Liam Kelly signed from QPR he must have taken a huge drop in wages. Maybe the option is we give Welsh a big signing on fee and maybe guarantee say 5% of any transfer fee we might sell him on for. With the money we got for Miller which I know isn't all up front I would hope we were a bit more flexible in negotiating deals. Happy to pay Celtic the £400k if they use that to pay up his contract and he can move to us as a free agent. Basically means he can play for free for 18 months. We would obviously offer him some sort of deal which is additional money he wouldnt have had should he stay at Celtic, maybe with the proviso that we dont stand in his way if a bigger club comes in for him. We shouldnt be wasting any more of the Miller money than that though. The boy is a good fit for us. But we still need be smart about our player trading. It needs to generate revenue, not the other way about. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
stv Posted 4 hours ago Report Share Posted 4 hours ago The way he's playing if it continues regular starts with us he could be thinking a wee chance for Scotland squad. That could be a factor. No even a sniff of Scotland if he stays at Cmeltic Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spit_It_Out Posted 4 hours ago Report Share Posted 4 hours ago If Welsh had any sense he would take the wage cut come to us and for a couple of years then get his move and earn x amount of money in the championship down south. He will only benefit himself coming to us and the way we play earn 5 grand a week then now and earn 8 times that in a year or so. However we have to have a set of balls and pay the fee to get the player my big fear is we sell all these players yer Watts,Tjs and Just and don't reinvest in the squad.Bums are back on the seats and will only stay on the seats if we keep up momentum it won't cut it now going back to Dom Thompson and Tony Watt of this world. We are on the cusp of something very very special and really proper club changing forever. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted 4 hours ago Report Share Posted 4 hours ago I wouldn't pay 400k for a cup tied Welsh. I rather look elsewhere. I'm sure there are central defenders who can pass a ball that we can pick up cheaper than that. As for Watt and JT, no need to sell in January and no indication they want to leave. If a Scottish club is interested, then the price goes up at least 50% - call it a tariff. 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FirParkCornerExile Posted 3 hours ago Report Share Posted 3 hours ago 27 minutes ago, Spit_It_Out said: If Welsh had any sense he would take the wage cut come to us and for a couple of years then get his move and earn x amount of money in the championship down south. He will only benefit himself coming to us and the way we play earn 5 grand a week then now and earn 8 times that in a year or so. However we have to have a set of balls and pay the fee to get the player my big fear is we sell all these players yer Watts,Tjs and Just and don't reinvest in the squad.Bums are back on the seats and will only stay on the seats if we keep up momentum it won't cut it now going back to Dom Thompson and Tony Watt of this world. We are on the cusp of something very very special and really proper club changing forever. Football doesn't work like that, say he takes a wage cut, highly unlikely, gets a serious injury with us, career ruined. What then for him? Players cannot play fast and loose with a short career. Imagine Jake Hastie had stayed with us and became the pish he is. He wouldn't have had a 3 year contract on 5 grand a week to soften the blow. As it is he should be comfortably off even though his career came to fuck all. Players have to live for the moment. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted 3 hours ago Report Share Posted 3 hours ago 15 minutes ago, FirParkCornerExile said: Football doesn't work like that, say he takes a wage cut, highly unlikely, gets a serious injury with us, career ruined. What then for him? Players cannot play fast and loose with a short career. Imagine Jake Hastie had stayed with us and became the pish he is. He wouldn't have had a 3 year contract on 5 grand a week to soften the blow. As it is he should be comfortably off even though his career came to fuck all. Players have to live for the moment. They also have to consider the alternative. Imagine Jake Hastie had stayed with us and taken on board the coaching turning him into a better player and was now a regular starter for Cardiff City on 7 grand a week, I get that it's a tough decision, and never criticise any player that chooses the money option. No idea what I would have done in the alternate universe where I was a player in that situation. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
thewelllfan Posted 2 hours ago Report Share Posted 2 hours ago If you look at our squad we have something like 25 senior players + 2 out on loan as much as we want new signings I can only really see 1/2 more coming in. GK - Ward/Oxborough/Connolly - probably need to shift Oxborough RB - SOD/JK/Sparrow - Fine all utility players who can cover other pos CB - McGinn/Mcghee/Gordon - Need 1 more in that area and we will be paying a portion of Balmer's wage. LB - Longelo - Need 1 more in that area as cover/competition and let Wilson get minutes at Raith CM - Watt/Preistman/Fadinger/Slattery/Halliday - Probably enough depth might need 1 if Halliday goes. RW - Maswanhise/Just/Nicholson - Enough options with all 3 able to play other pos need 1 if Maswanhise goes. LW - Said/RCC - Fine ST - Bjorgolfsson/Stama/Hendry/Robinson/Stuperavic - Probably need to shift 1 or 2 If you take injured players out of that and the loans we have 20 available Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fizoxy Posted 2 hours ago Report Share Posted 2 hours ago We probably do need to trim the squad some, but we need 3 keepers. We're only a year removed from a goalie crisis, and you jist need to look at killie for an example of the downside of not having decent backup keepers. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
thewelllfan Posted 2 hours ago Report Share Posted 2 hours ago 9 minutes ago, fizoxy said: We probably do need to trim the squad some, but we need 3 keepers. We're only a year removed from a goalie crisis, and you jist need to look at killie for an example of the downside of not having decent backup keepers. 2 keepers is always fine to me Connolly looked decent enough against County and worst comes to worse we bring a keeper in on a short term deal to see us through the season. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spiderpig Posted 1 hour ago Report Share Posted 1 hour ago 42 minutes ago, thewelllfan said: If you look at our squad we have something like 25 senior players + 2 out on loan as much as we want new signings I can only really see 1/2 more coming in. GK - Ward/Oxborough/Connolly - probably need to shift Oxborough RB - SOD/JK/Sparrow - Fine all utility players who can cover other pos CB - McGinn/Mcghee/Gordon - Need 1 more in that area and we will be paying a portion of Balmer's wage. LB - Longelo - Need 1 more in that area as cover/competition and let Wilson get minutes at Raith CM - Watt/Preistman/Fadinger/Slattery/Halliday - Probably enough depth might need 1 if Halliday goes. RW - Maswanhise/Just/Nicholson - Enough options with all 3 able to play other pos need 1 if Maswanhise goes. LW - Said/RCC - Fine ST - Bjorgolfsson/Stama/Hendry/Robinson/Stuperavic - Probably need to shift 1 or 2 If you take injured players out of that and the loans we have 20 available A good assessment but for me wilson needs moved on hes not not up to the standard required, irrespective of how many minutes he gets at Raith, so we need LB cover. As for the strikers Robinson and Stuparavic wont play for us again, they will be moved on as soon as they are fit. The other 2, Stamatelopoulos and Hendry are hopeless and show no signs of being anything else so they need moved on as well, maybe in the summer though as i cant see another striker coming in during this window. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
thewelllfan Posted 1 hour ago Report Share Posted 1 hour ago 17 minutes ago, Spiderpig said: A good assessment but for me wilson needs moved on hes not not up to the standard required, irrespective of how many minutes he gets at Raith, so we need LB cover. As for the strikers Robinson and Stuparavic wont play for us again, they will be moved on as soon as they are fit. The other 2, Stamatelopoulos and Hendry are hopeless and show no signs of being anything else so they need moved on as well, maybe in the summer though as i cant see another striker coming in during this window. I agree with Wilson needing moved on he tries his best but he's probably not premiership level with the other 2 I don't think Stuparevic has played a game for Motherwell so it's hard to know what his level actually is and Robinson I think by all accounts isn't due back till March so he'll be here the rest of the season at a minimum. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted 1 hour ago Report Share Posted 1 hour ago 17 minutes ago, thewelllfan said: I agree with Wilson needing moved on he tries his best but he's probably not premiership level with the other 2 I don't think Stuparevic has played a game for Motherwell so it's hard to know what his level actually is and Robinson I think by all accounts isn't due back till March so he'll be here the rest of the season at a minimum. Did Stuperevic not play (and score) for us in a cup game? I seem to recall a 20 yarder against Clyde at NDP. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
thewelllfan Posted 1 hour ago Report Share Posted 1 hour ago 4 minutes ago, weeyin said: Did Stuperevic not play (and score) for us in a cup game? I think he might of actually in the early league cup group stages last season either way he's barley featured so it's hard to form an opinion on by all accounts seemed to do well on his loan at Morton last season so must have some ability. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
texanwellfan Posted 1 hour ago Report Share Posted 1 hour ago 4 hours ago, joewarkfanclub said: Welsh still has nearly 18 months left on his contract. Who is paying that out if we pay them £400k transfer fee, cause he sure as hell isnt giving that up. If its them, fair enough, if its us, that could be another £400k and a no from me. Maybe they just want him off the wage bill and the £400k transfer fee is just enough to allow them to do that. Welsh may then be happy to accept lower wages on a short term deal to get regular football, but we would still have to move him on to get our money back. Quite a complex situation..... Your last paragraph is exactly my point. I see it as an opportunity for MFC to make some money and have a quality player in the squad till we sell him. I think that would come down to Welsh willing to take a drop in wages for short time. of Course, remains to be seen if a suitable loan deal will be offered which is probably a more likely outcome if we want to see him play for us the rest of this season. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
texanwellfan Posted 59 minutes ago Report Share Posted 59 minutes ago 1 hour ago, thewelllfan said: 2 keepers is always fine to me Connolly looked decent enough against County and worst comes to worse we bring a keeper in on a short term deal to see us through the season. Exactly, with being able to do that save the money or spend it elsewhere. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
AllyMax Posted 57 minutes ago Report Share Posted 57 minutes ago From BBC website: Rangers explore move for league rival's in-form forward, with German interest in a Celtic midfielder... Rangers are keen on Motherwell winger Tawanda Maswanhise and have initiated preliminary discussions by sounding out the 24-year-old Zimbabwe international's agent. (TeamTalk) Do they not need to have 'preliminary talks' with his club first ??? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted 53 minutes ago Report Share Posted 53 minutes ago 1 minute ago, AllyMax said: From BBC website: Rangers explore move for league rival's in-form forward, with German interest in a Celtic midfielder... Rangers are keen on Motherwell winger Tawanda Maswanhise and have initiated preliminary discussions by sounding out the 24-year-old Zimbabwe international's agent. (TeamTalk) Do they not need to have 'preliminary talks' with his club first ??? Not these days. They tap up the player first to stir up some unrest and then go to the club and say "see, he wants to move - you'd better let him" Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joewarkfanclub Posted 30 minutes ago Report Share Posted 30 minutes ago 51 minutes ago, weeyin said: Did Stuperevic not play (and score) for us in a cup game? I seem to recall a 20 yarder against Clyde at NDP. He did. He looks to have some ability and had early pedigree. But from the very little seen (and reading between the lines) he seems to be your stereotypical technically gifted but lazy type (Ciftci). Thats not to say Jens might not be able to get a tune out of him but it would take a change in mindset and application Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...