joewarkfanclub Posted August 8 Report Share Posted August 8 3 hours ago, mio said: Sieb nigholt krivokapic Martin wark mcfadden Odonnell Graham cooper pettigrew coyne subs Brian McLaughlin, arnott, mcallister, rab mckinnon lambert. there’s loads more good players I can think of but would have loved to see how much creation we would have with Graham and cooper feeding both coyne and pettigrew. Oooft! Very close. I think we must be a similar age! I forgot about McLaughlin. Probably the best player in our 1st Division title win. Great player! 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joewarkfanclub Posted August 8 Report Share Posted August 8 3 hours ago, weeyin said: Marinello and McAllister would be in mine, plus Wark, Russell and Cooper. Graham and Pettigrew too. Probably McCrae in goals. The others I will need to think about. Keith Macrae was just before my time but my old man raived about him. Didnt he break his arm when he went to Man City? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joewarkfanclub Posted August 8 Report Share Posted August 8 12 minutes ago, Jonesy said: Chris McCart FFS. Aye, nae bother Tam. McCart was a very good centre half. Just not as good as Krivokapic or Martin. Id bite your hand off to have him in this current Motherwell team the way the manager wants to play. He was very good with the ball at his feet. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mio Posted August 8 Report Share Posted August 8 1 hour ago, joewarkfanclub said: McCart was a very good centre half. Just not as good as Krivokapic or Martin. Id bite your hand off to have him in this current Motherwell team the way the manager wants to play. He was very good with the ball at his feet. Both mccart and Martin were pretty good with the ball but Krivokapic was on another level. I honestly can’t think of a better footballing defender who I have seen play in Scotland. He was definitely a player before his time, he was a bit heart in your mouth playing it out from the back as we’d never seen that before, but I never remember him losing possession or giving the ball away. Hard as nails too and his positional sense was exceptional. Maybe lacked a bit of pace but got away with it with his football brain. Would love to see how he’d do in this football world at the moment. i always remember the story how at Dundee Utd and at us he’d take his boots and training gear home every night to wash and clean himself. Yugoslav work ethic lol Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
0Neils40yarder Posted August 8 Report Share Posted August 8 10 hours ago, weeyin said: I was delighted when I watched Tom Boyd lift the Scottish Cup. Could not care less what he said or did after that, and certainly don't get offended by anything a footballer says. They are not typically blessed with deep insight or even common sense. The guy is an absolute whopper 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
0Neils40yarder Posted August 8 Report Share Posted August 8 Randolph Kaiser Buff Hutchy Rab Faddy Lambert Phil Cooper Coyne Higdon Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yabba's Turd Posted August 8 Report Share Posted August 8 13 hours ago, joewarkfanclub said: I guess its personal choice and all a bit of fun, but Joe Wark at right back. Seriously? Bad enough the great man never won a Scotland cap, but not making a Motherwell fans greatest ever 11 in his natural position is beyond the pale! Joe could play anywhere, pretty sure they moved him up front (possibly Forfar/Montrose, can't recall off hand) and he nabbed a hat trick, according to my old man, who knew Joe well, Wark at RB works for his team selection, is Hammel a better LB, nah and McKinnon was better than Hammel Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joewarkfanclub Posted August 8 Report Share Posted August 8 26 minutes ago, Yabba's Turd said: Joe could play anywhere, pretty sure they moved him up front (possibly Forfar/Montrose, can't recall off hand) and he nabbed a hat trick, according to my old man, who knew Joe well, Wark at RB works for his team selection, is Hammel a better LB, nah and McKinnon was better than Hammel Totally agree. My point was that he is the best left back in my lifetime and the greatest overall player, so he deserves to be played in his correct position. Let others fight for the scraps! 😉 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted August 8 Report Share Posted August 8 1 hour ago, 0Neils40yarder said: The guy is an absolute whopper Yep. O'Neill is too, but I enjoyed his 40 yarder. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MJC Posted August 9 Report Share Posted August 9 I don’t think I’ve ever heard of or seen Colin O’Neill so blatantly disrespect us in the way Boyd has, but anyway. For me it would be… Dijkstra Corrigan..Martin..Nijholt..McKinnon O’Donnell..Lambert..Cooper McFadden Higdon..Coyne 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Richie Posted August 9 Report Share Posted August 9 . Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Richie Posted August 9 Report Share Posted August 9 2 minutes ago, Richie said: I would struggle leaving David Turnbull out of an XI. Unfortunately hasn't really gone to plan for him, but he was sensational for us (and in his first half-season at Celtic to be fair). Absolutely loved watching him. I'd also have a think about Goram for keeper, although very much in the twilight of his carreer with us. Did subsequently go to Man U though. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
0Neils40yarder Posted August 9 Report Share Posted August 9 1 hour ago, MJC said: I don’t think I’ve ever heard of or seen Colin O’Neill so blatantly disrespect us in the way Boyd has, but anyway. For me it would be… Dijkstra Corrigan..Martin..Nijholt..McKinnon O’Donnell..Lambert..Cooper McFadden Higdon..Coyne He's never disrespected the most important thing at any football club...the fans. Boyds an utter walloper and has shown disrespect to the Club and it's supporters on at least a few occasions Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mio Posted August 9 Report Share Posted August 9 I think ONeill is fine, he is what he is. He’s just a bit of a simpleton and a bit of a bigot but that just comes from being a product of his environment. i think he genuinely loved Motherwell and our fans. 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Richie Posted August 9 Report Share Posted August 9 11 minutes ago, mio said: He’s just a bit of a simpleton and a bit of a bigot but that just comes from being a product of his environment. Could probably level that at Boyd as well tbh. Fully indoctrinated into the Celtic mindset - Simultaneous superiority and victim complexes. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
twistandshout1983 Posted August 9 Report Share Posted August 9 Don't hold a grudge against either O'Neill or Boyd , both 91 cup legends I have interacted with Colin O'Neill on Facebook in the past , and although he is clearly a big Rangers and Orange man he does love the Well , only time I remember him criticising was about today's St Mirren manager and he also slagged Keith Lasley as pretty much being useless at the time Tom Boyd has nothing good to say about Well though , absolutely fine by me that he is a big Celtic man , not a problem but his career it seems started in 1992 when he went to Parkhead . Plus the fact I spoke to him in Bothwell one day and he blanked me 🤣 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MJC Posted August 9 Report Share Posted August 9 59 minutes ago, Richie said: Could probably level that at Boyd as well tbh. Fully indoctrinated into the Celtic mindset - Simultaneous superiority and victim complexes. You definitely can and the same could be applied to the aforementioned Andy Goram, someone I was never keen on playing for us as he was taking in a big wage with us whilst being very injury prone and clearly on the decline. Plus he was a complete roaster of a man. Tom Boyd is the absolute worst though. An obnoxious, horrible Celtic bastard. The worst type of person. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellsince75 Posted August 9 Report Share Posted August 9 Love this thread. Will focus more on the attack minded players the likes of Ian St John , Bobby Graham , Willie P must all be there albeit ahead of my time . I just started going when Mclair , McAllister were showing their talent . Cooper , Russell then likes coyne . more recently Faddy , Turnbull and now Miller . we’ve been treated to many quality players over the years - my cult hero will always be Stevie Kirk . The 16 year old me knew we’d win the cup and at 3-3 I was cool as a cucumber as Kirky hadn’t scored yet . What a day that was. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
AllyMax Posted August 9 Report Share Posted August 9 I've been around too long to contribute to an all time team. I notice none of the 'older' posters seem to have included Vic Davidson, who I reckon must be one of the best footballers I've ever seen. Left backs, we've had Wark, Mckinnon and (unfortunately) Boyd......the Hammels and the McMillan's of the world couldn't have touched these three. There's just too many to make a 'team' out of, without leaving great players out. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
texanwellfan Posted August 9 Report Share Posted August 9 14 hours ago, Yabba's Turd said: Joe could play anywhere, pretty sure they moved him up front (possibly Forfar/Montrose, can't recall off hand) and he nabbed a hat trick, according to my old man, who knew Joe well, Wark at RB works for his team selection, is Hammel a better LB, nah and McKinnon was better than Hammel Yep, Montrose 4-1 at Fir park. I was at that game and I believe his hat trick was in approx the last 15 mins of the game. also, if my memory is correct, his first appearance for Motherwell was versus Tranmere Rovers in a pre season friendly at fir park and Joe ended up being the goalie! 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MelvinBragg Posted August 9 Report Share Posted August 9 As Allymax states, trying to come up with a definitive 'Best 11' is a nigh on impossible task. If I were to come up with an eleven of my personal favourites it'd look something like.. 433 Randolph Burley Nijholt Aldred McKinnon Russell Vslakari O'Donnell Humphrey Coyne McFadden Nowhere near the best eleven (although decent, I reckon) but my own personal favourites in each position... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throughthelaces Posted August 9 Report Share Posted August 9 22 hours ago, wellgirl said: What do you mean by hard worker? Like your guys who maybe aren't the most technically gifted players but they work their socks off. Think the likes of Grimshaw, McHugh and the sorts I tend to prefer these guys to say a KVV who had a good few months he couldn't stop scoring but spent a lot of time at Motherwell standing around the pitch just pointing and not getting stuck in as frequent. Jed do it but wasn't consistent with his application Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joewarkfanclub Posted August 9 Report Share Posted August 9 5 hours ago, AllyMax said: I notice none of the 'older' posters seem to have included Vic Davidson I did give him a "notable mention" 😆 Great player. 🧡❤️🧡 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted August 9 Report Share Posted August 9 Davidson is certainly in the mix for me. Davidson, Graham, Marinello and Pettigrew were all standouts from my early memories of the team. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmcalpin Posted August 9 Report Share Posted August 9 Hard to pick a best 11 from the "recent past". Vic Davidson would certainly be in my mix as would Willie McVie and Stewart McLaren. No-one, no one, messed with the latter 2. They'd have eaten the likes of Gogic for breakfast. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...