SteelmaninOZ Posted 12 hours ago Report Share Posted 12 hours ago Will we be brilliant first half only to be asleep second half? Or brilliant the whole game and win? Will we get a big travelling support? Who knows what VAR will do. COYW Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
texanwellfan Posted 12 hours ago Report Share Posted 12 hours ago I think we are going to win this. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MJC Posted 8 hours ago Report Share Posted 8 hours ago We need to start winning football matches. It’s no use playing nice tippy tappy stuff in the middle of the park where the tippy’s very tappy and the tappy’s very tippy and Tam Cowan and the like can bill and coo about “fantaaaaastic fitbaaw such a joy to watch” etc if it ultimately amounts to nothing because we are hopeless at both ends. It’ll be very tough again and of course we have that abomination of a park to contend with next Saturday but hopefully we can get the result we badly need. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmcalpin Posted 7 hours ago Report Share Posted 7 hours ago 45 minutes ago, MJC said: We need to start winning football matches. It’s no use playing nice tippy tapping stuff in the middle of the park where the tippy’s very tappy and the tappy’s very tippy and Tam Cowan and the like can bill and coo about “fantaaaaastic fitbaaw such a joy to watch” etc if it ultimately amounts to nothing because we are hopeless at both ends. It’ll be very tough again and of course we have that abomination of a park to contend with next Saturday but hopefully we can get the result we badly need. Can't fault your assessment. Martindale will have us well sussed out and will draw sustenance from the manner of our loss yesterday. Give us the ball to knock about with aplomb for 60 minutes or so, occasionally testing our defence, then make changes and go for it in the last half hour and capitalise on our errors. We simply can't go with the same approach and expect to win. Now by that I don't mean ripping our entire gameplan up; but rather introducing tweaks here and there some some personnel changes i.e. swap McGinn for Gordon. Hopefully Longelo is fit but, given our injury record, I'm not holding my breath. JBA also needs to learn tactical lessons. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MJC Posted 6 hours ago Report Share Posted 6 hours ago 45 minutes ago, Kmcalpin said: JBA also needs to learn tactical lessons. This is a concern I have and is one of the reasons I remain unconvinced by him. Don’t get me wrong I like JBA and like what he’s trying to do with the playing style, but he needs to show more awareness with his use of substitutes and game management particularly when we’re ahead in games. I fully accept that we are never going to have the ‘perfect manager’ but just little things like that and as you say tweaking lineups and tactics here and there could make all the difference. If we play like we did yesterday we will lose again, or at the very least we won’t win. We also won’t beat Dundee Utd with that approach and St.Mirren will nullify us, boot us about the park and knock us out the cup again. This is a potentially season defining run of games we are now entering I think. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joewarkfanclub Posted 5 hours ago Report Share Posted 5 hours ago We simply have to win this one. With the semi final only a week away we need a wee lift in the run up to it. Not so worried about the pitch this time as its been totally relaid and seems to be playing much better than the previous incarnation. Livvy play it on the deck now so will have it well watered if required. That said, I wouldnt be risking anyone with any little niggles, so dont expect to see Slattery, unless its a 15 minute cameo from the bench. The home against United should be fine for getting him some minutes before Hampden. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted 4 hours ago Report Share Posted 4 hours ago A win really would be so important and get the confidence back. We just need to tighten it up defensively and not overdo things up front and make sure final ball is better. I think Andy Robertson had been coaching them how to cross a ball during the week as it had been poor. SOD is the one player that was putting in decent crosses. Again it's not panic stations and give me this style of football ahead of tge garbage that was dished up by previous manager. I am sure JBA will adapt to changing it when needed. Heid Up Folks Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bobbybingo Posted 3 hours ago Report Share Posted 3 hours ago 4 hours ago, MJC said: We need to start winning football matches. It’s no use playing nice tippy tappy stuff in the middle of the park where the tippy’s very tappy and the tappy’s very tippy and Tam Cowan and the like can bill and coo about “fantaaaaastic fitbaaw such a joy to watch” etc if it ultimately amounts to nothing because we are hopeless at both ends. I don't agree that we're hopeless at both ends. There are only 3 teams who've scored more goals than us, we've failed to score in just one league game and clearly haven't struggled to take the lead. But there's no way we can rely on scoring 3 or more goals to win a game. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spiderpig Posted 3 hours ago Report Share Posted 3 hours ago 1 minute ago, bobbybingo said: I don't agree that we're hopeless at both ends. There are only 3 teams who've scored more goals than us, we've failed to score in just one league game and clearly haven't struggled to take the lead. But there's no way we can rely on scoring 3 or more goals to win a game. Not losing goals is the secret to winning games, we have been scoring but our defence, and goal keeping have let us down. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
robsterwood Posted 3 hours ago Report Share Posted 3 hours ago If Livi win we could be bottom of league. They are a physical side and it will be difficult. Especially on that surface. Draw expected. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dennyc Posted 3 hours ago Report Share Posted 3 hours ago 4 hours ago, MJC said: It’ll be very tough again and of course we have that abomination of a park to contend with next Saturday but hopefully we can get the result we badly need. By all accounts the new pitch is much improved. Not grass but not the shocking surface of seasons past. Win or lose, it will not be down to the surface. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mio Posted 2 hours ago Report Share Posted 2 hours ago As much as it’s nice to see Celtic being beaten, Dundee picking up 3 points today isn’t great. i do think though that it is the closest league I can remember. Every team can beat one another, including Celtic. They are the worst I’ve saw them in 50odd years. To think we could be sitting in a more favourable place at the top end of the table is quite frustrating Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
robsterwood Posted 2 hours ago Report Share Posted 2 hours ago Any team can say they could be higher up league. Given circumstances being different.We could equally be bottom of league without the Aberdeen goalie error. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MJC Posted 2 hours ago Report Share Posted 2 hours ago Dundee doing what we could only dream of; beating Celtic and actually winning a game. Granted Celtic have been terrible but if they had played against us like that they would still have beaten us because we can’t defend and can’t kill games off. The bigger picture here is though that this is not a good result for us. There is actually a very strong possibility that we could be bottom of the league next Sunday evening should we lose to Livingston and Aberdeen beat Hibs on the Sunday. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellfan Posted 49 minutes ago Report Share Posted 49 minutes ago We’re not winning this one. We’re toothless up top, our final ball is generally pish, and the defence is soft with a dodgy keeper behind it. All we’ve really got going for us is some tidy midfield play that rarely leads anywhere. Martindale won’t need to do much. He’ll just let us play in front of them and wait for the usual daft mistakes that gift them a goal or two. If we do lose, the midweek game against Dundee Utd before the semi turns into a cup final for us. The pressure’s on JBA and the players now. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...