FirParkCornerExile Posted 10 hours ago Report Share Posted 10 hours ago 1 hour ago, numpty said: Quite. The only thing I was surprised about was hearing it's 10 years since we last beat them, really didn't feel that long. Seriously???? I've lived every bloody day of those 10 years, 35 games , 30 losses, thinking Id never live long enough to ever see us beat them again. For me its felt like an eternity , like a never ending prison sentence. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MJC Posted 10 hours ago Author Report Share Posted 10 hours ago 11 minutes ago, FirParkCornerExile said: Seriously???? I've lived every bloody day of those 10 years, 35 games , 30 losses, thinking Id never live long enough to ever see us beat them again. For me its felt like an eternity , like a never ending prison sentence. Exactly. In the last ten years we’ve seen us lose every possible way to them. 7-0, numerous 4-0 losses, two cup final defeats without laying a glove on them. Then all the last minute sickeners. 2-0 then 3-2 up only to lose 4-3 with the last kick of the ball. We score a last minute equaliser and they run straight up the park and score again. 2-1 up at Parkhead a few months back and relatively comfortable, lose 3-2 in the dying minutes. Even the one and only time we came close to beating them in the last decade we were denied by a dodgy late penalty for them to sneak a 1-1 draw. Last night was a long time coming and I will certainly dine out on it for a long time to come: Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Richie Posted 9 hours ago Report Share Posted 9 hours ago We've said before that we've been playing reminiscent of an old firm team v others in the league. That last night was like a team routinely pumping Celtic in Europe. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stuwell2 Posted 9 hours ago Report Share Posted 9 hours ago Listening across tv and radio last night not one of the pundits had anything but good words for us and I didn’t hear anything about us being lucky against a poor Celtic team. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
star sail Posted 8 hours ago Report Share Posted 8 hours ago 3 hours ago, MJC said: Fortunately Jens simply focusses on us as a team and doesn’t get caught up in the cliched tiresome rhetoric that so many before him have done so. Looking forward to the next time we play Celtic and their manager (whoever that might be) says, 'we will have to be at our best and Motherwell will have to have an off day if we are to get anything from the game' 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
claretband Posted 8 hours ago Report Share Posted 8 hours ago Great night last night but one ‘downside’ is I made the mistake of tuning into Off the Ball on Radio Scotland after the game. Tam Cowan couldn’t even let himself or the listeners enjoy the result without the age old nonsense about “we’ll be lucky to keep JBA to the end of the season, we’re only a wee club, much bigger clubs will be looking at our manager and our players” and so on. Lighten up ffs. I’ve no doubt of Tam’s love for the club but he is one of the biggest culprits of this “we’re only a wee diddy team punching way above our weight” especially seeing as he’s probably the most high profile Motherwell fan out there certainly the one with the biggest platform. That sort of nonsense is why we went more than a decade without beating Celtic as it drips into the club and numerous players, managers and staff buy into it. Fortunately Jens simply focusses on us as a team and doesn’t get caught up in the cliched tiresome rhetoric that so many before him have done so. And Tam Cowan really isn’t funny. His patter is pretty shite imo.I don’t agree with Tam on everything but love his passion and exposure he gives the club. However the wee diddy stuff. He normally prefixes it with “so called” but people don’t notice that bit. It’s not good to hear. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigManTam Posted 8 hours ago Report Share Posted 8 hours ago Last night was an eye opener. rangers will be looking back on Saturday now and thinking they did very well to beat us. I actually thought Nancy would do a job for celtic, but their performance last night was as poor as anything a Russell Martin Rangers team produced. Turmoil ahead for Celtic I suspect, which can only be good for us and the league as a whole. Imagine if Celtic rage-recalled Welsh from his loan? 😝 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mio Posted 7 hours ago Report Share Posted 7 hours ago 1 minute ago, BigManTam said: Imagine if Celtic rage-recalled Welsh from his loan? 😝 I watched Welsh, who was on the park at the end of the game. He shook the hands with every Celtic player as they trudged off, a few hugs as well. As soon as they were gone he turned to us in the main stand and fist pumped. He looked every bit as happy as me. His face definitely screamed “get it up them” I don’t see him going back there 5 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
0Neils40yarder Posted 7 hours ago Report Share Posted 7 hours ago I've seen Motherwell teams deservedly beat Celtic and I've seen us scrape through...I've never seen us batter them from minute 1 to minute 90. Incredible performance, unbelievable 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
twistandshout1983 Posted 7 hours ago Report Share Posted 7 hours ago Good morning Everyone Still absolutely buzzing and will be for a while to come What a result, what a performance . Also a brilliant crowd for a midweek game especially as some fans have stayed away from those games in the recent past. I caught highlights of a 3-3 Celtic game recently from 2014, there was empty seats galore that day and we finished second that season The crowds and support have been a very big positive this season 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted 6 hours ago Report Share Posted 6 hours ago Still buzzing, watched highlights and the cross from SOD even better than I first thought watching it in real time. Absolutely delighted for him and even had fans with their own song for him. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mio Posted 6 hours ago Report Share Posted 6 hours ago Just watching the full game again just now on premier sports. My god Michael Stewart loves us. and it’s just as good watching it for a second time. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joewarkfanclub Posted 5 hours ago Report Share Posted 5 hours ago Reflecting on last night, for all our good play, possession football and generally ripping the pish right out of Celtic, it was nice to see the first goal being scored as a result if a good old fashioned cross into the box! Also, some of our balls over the top behind their defence were magnificent. We really should have won that game by more! Great to see the manager mixing up his tactics. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
AllyMax Posted 5 hours ago Report Share Posted 5 hours ago 49 minutes ago, mio said: Just watching the full game again just now on premier sports. My god Michael Stewart loves us. and it’s just as good watching it for a second time. I've got a mate who's a jambo (I know, I should pick better friends !) and since the 3-3 game, he now watches back all of our games cause he says as a neutral in most of our games, we're just great to watch. Although his side is ahead of ours in the league, even he thinks that our brand of football is ultimately 'better' than theirs. They do play some decent football, but a lot of their games are scraps rather than 'total football'. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FirParkCornerExile Posted 5 hours ago Report Share Posted 5 hours ago 50 minutes ago, mio said: Just watching the full game again just now on premier sports. My god Michael Stewart loves us. and it’s just as good watching it for a second time. Doing likewise. Michael Stewart I'm told has had connections with Motherwell over the years through friends and colleagues. He definitely has a soft spot for us even before this seasons impressive stuff. He couldnt give enough superlatives about us throughout this game. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mio Posted 5 hours ago Report Share Posted 5 hours ago At the game I thought we fell away a little in the second half. This must have been my general nervous panic because watching it again I feel we were in total control. That’s an absolutely incredible performance. Players like Priestman and Said were unreal. I’m just getting used to how good fadinger, slattery and watt are so I don’t even need to say how well they play. we just need to enjoy this while we can. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted 4 hours ago Report Share Posted 4 hours ago I think non old firm fans and jambos would love to see us win league. It ain't going to happen but this season been an absolute joy and full credit to board for finding JBA. also let's not forget we sold our star player for £4.5 million and it hasnt impacted us at all though I still wonder how Lennon would be in a JBA team. He could totally flourish Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FirParkCornerExile Posted 4 hours ago Report Share Posted 4 hours ago 28 minutes ago, mio said: At the game I thought we fell away a little in the second half. This must have been my general nervous panic because watching it again I feel we were in total control. That’s an absolutely incredible performance. Players like Priestman and Said were unreal. I’m just getting used to how good fadinger, slattery and watt are so I don’t even need to say how well they play. we just need to enjoy this while we can. Correct, success for us will always be fleeting, sadly, so enjoy it all. Had we been sharper with our final ball we could have embarrassed Celtic. That's not a criticism its a frustration and takes nothing away from a stunning performance. Mindset is enormous against the OF and too often over decades we always had an inferiority complex, not helped by most managers getting their excuses in before a ball is kicked. There is absolutely none of that under the new manager, none of the punching above our weight stuff , just complete belief in himself , his players and how they play and its rubbing off on the players. When you remember how some of our previous manager spent the lead up to the OF games pretty much saying we should just be grateful to be on the same pitch as the OF no wonder we did fuck all. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MJC Posted 2 hours ago Author Report Share Posted 2 hours ago 5 hours ago, claretband said: I don’t agree with Tam on everything but love his passion and exposure he gives the club. However the wee diddy stuff. He normally prefixes it with “so called” but people don’t notice that bit. It’s not good to hear. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk It’s not good to hear and it really isn’t helpful to us as a club because that is the message that is put out to players and coaches, both current and prospective and many will buy into that. I know we have a core of supporters who like to portray us as this cuddly wee tinpot nonentity of a club, Cowan being one of the most vocal due to his position. And I am under absolutely no illusions whatsoever that we are a big club or anything like it, certainly not in the same scale as the Old Firm, Aberdeen or the Edinburgh clubs. But we have been playing top flight football uninterrupted for over forty years now. And even if the pendantic faither types want to go down the “ahh but we were only saved by league reconstruction one time and then Falkirk’s ground didn’t meet requirements” route, well the last time that happened was twenty two and a half years ago now. So we have been an established top flight club for over twenty years. Still pretty good going I’d say. Success we have will be fleeting and good managers and players we get will inevitably move on to bigger clubs at some point. I know that, we all know that and it’s not exclusive to us. That’s just the law of the jungle. But to hear our most high profile fan go straight on the radio just after we’ve recorded an emphatic victory over Celtic playing some tremendous football and his core point appear to be “it’s only a matter of time before the manager goes, x player gets poached cos a wee diddy team like us can’t afford to keep them” is pathetic stuff. At least enjoy the moment and let the rest of us do the same before spouting the “it’s all gonny get taken away from us soon” pish. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coatsy Posted 1 hour ago Report Share Posted 1 hour ago Somethings wrong i'm finding the urge to like most of MJC's posts today. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
AllyMax Posted 1 hour ago Report Share Posted 1 hour ago 2 minutes ago, Coatsy said: Somethings wrong i'm finding the urge to like most of MJC's posts today. It's the afterglow from last night. It'll wear off.... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
claretband Posted 1 hour ago Report Share Posted 1 hour ago It’s not good to hear and it really isn’t helpful to us as a club because that is the message that is put out to players and coaches, both current and prospective and many will buy into that. I know we have a core of supporters who like to portray us as this cuddly wee tinpot nonentity of a club, Cowan being one of the most vocal due to his position. And I am under absolutely no illusions whatsoever that we are a big club or anything like it, certainly not in the same scale as the Old Firm, Aberdeen or the Edinburgh clubs. But we have been playing top flight football uninterrupted for over forty years now. And even if the pendantic faither types want to go down the “ahh but we were only saved by league reconstruction one time and then Falkirk’s ground didn’t meet requirements” route, well the last time that happened was twenty two and a half years ago now. So we have been an established top flight club for over twenty years. Still pretty good going I’d say. Success we have will be fleeting and good managers and players we get will inevitably move on to bigger clubs at some point. I know that, we all know that and it’s not exclusive to us. That’s just the law of the jungle. But to hear our most high profile fan go straight on the radio just after we’ve recorded an emphatic victory over Celtic playing some tremendous football and his core point appear to be “it’s only a matter of time before the manager goes, x player gets poached cos a wee diddy team like us can’t afford to keep them” is pathetic stuff. At least enjoy the moment and let the rest of us do the same before spouting the “it’s all gonny get taken away from us soon” pish.Yep there will be enough of that without it coming from our own fanbase. Besides do we not think that this is Jens project, his baby? I really hope he and the players are here to see it to fruition Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
twistandshout1983 Posted 1 hour ago Report Share Posted 1 hour ago 3 hours ago, FirParkCornerExile said: Correct, success for us will always be fleeting, sadly, so enjoy it all. Had we been sharper with our final ball we could have embarrassed Celtic. That's not a criticism its a frustration and takes nothing away from a stunning performance. Mindset is enormous against the OF and too often over decades we always had an inferiority complex, not helped by most managers getting their excuses in before a ball is kicked. There is absolutely none of that under the new manager, none of the punching above our weight stuff , just complete belief in himself , his players and how they play and its rubbing off on the players. When you remember how some of our previous manager spent the lead up to the OF games pretty much saying we should just be grateful to be on the same pitch as the OF no wonder we did fuck all. This for me exactly. Definitely think we have not had the correct mindset going into a good number of these games in recent seasons. It helps when we have a manager who doesn't talk our chances down before a ball is kicked. Jens last night , Wimmer at Ibrox last season. Baraclough in the playoffs being examples of this 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MJC Posted 1 hour ago Author Report Share Posted 1 hour ago 30 minutes ago, twistandshout1983 said: This for me exactly. Definitely think we have not had the correct mindset going into a good number of these games in recent seasons. It helps when we have a manager who doesn't talk our chances down before a ball is kicked. Jens last night , Wimmer at Ibrox last season. Baraclough in the playoffs being examples of this I’ve said this for years, that mindset is self defeating and is used as a pre-made excuse for not performing in these games and it absolutely is something that has been all too prevalent throughout the club and several key individuals on and off the park. And whether intended or not it drips down to various players and managers because it’s like with any line of work, any business. If the message from the top is “we’re only a small company so don’t worry about exceeding expectations or going the extra mile, just as long as you hit your base targets each week/month/year” then that is not going to motivate and inspire employees. JBA coming in as an outsider to Motherwell FC and the goldfish bowl of Scottish football wouldn’t be aware of this mindset and more importantly he doesn’t appear to be easily influenced either. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
texanwellfan Posted 1 hour ago Report Share Posted 1 hour ago 4 hours ago, mio said: At the game I thought we fell away a little in the second half. This must have been my general nervous panic because watching it again I feel we were in total control. That’s an absolutely incredible performance. Players like Priestman and Said were unreal. I’m just getting used to how good fadinger, slattery and watt are so I don’t even need to say how well they play. we just need to enjoy this while we can. Same, during the game I was so nervous. I knew we were set up to see out the game at 2-0 and basically letting Celtic have the ball but on watching the game back and knowing the score we looked absolutely comfortable. The only real scare was the great save from Ward 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...