Leaderboard

Popular Content

Showing content with the highest reputation since 02/01/2026 in all areas

1. Following the match online, I found myself in a bit of a dilemma. I would be beyond myself on every level measurable if we were to win the league but am realistic enough to realize that this is highly improbable., I lived in Edinburgh for most of my life so have a well merited dislike of Hearts. I have no real liking for St Mirren either when it comes down to it. I really detest the Old Firm. As such, I am prepared to accept the possibility of Hearts winning the league as being better than either of the bigot brothers doing so, especially as I now live on the other side of the world from Edinburgh. As such, Hearts losing is, from my original perspective, a poor result. This quandary has caused me to pause and consider ultimately what would be a good result for us tomorrow. I originally felt that a win would be fantastic and a draw, away from home against an improving Dundee side, would be acceptable in the circumstances. However, having taken the opportunity to delve deeply into my soul, I have come to the only logical and reasonable conclusion that only a win for us will do. It is not for any personal hope that I may revel in the glory of my team's success, or any misguided idea that their victory will make me, in any way, a better person. I am saying this because I honestly think that this Motherwell side winning the league will be a universally good thing. I believe that us winning the league will be a win for the good guys. The little guys who play by the rules and play the game the way it should be played. As such, I can claim with all honesty, sincerity and altruistically that a win for Motherwell is a win for football, a win for Scotland, and, in these dark and troubled days, a win for the whole of mankind. Too much?
    6 points
  2. Easy solution is for all the diddy clubs to take a leaf out of the Arsecheeks' book and refuse to play in game where David Dickinson is refereeing Rangers
    4 points
  3. A detailed response, that backs up the old adage " if you want to know anyting in detail about Celtic, then ask a Rangers fan first"
    3 points
  4. Wow what an utterly pathetic response from our resident the rangers apologist. Ah but what about Celtic, blah blah blah. How dare we question a bias that has been going on for decades.
    3 points
  5. There were a lot of players who looked brutal under Kettlewell. A few of them are doing very well under Jens......
    3 points
  6. I don't really want to find out how we'll react to going behind I quite enjoy not conceding goals
    3 points
  7. I don't understand what the all the worry about about players leaving it was never going to happen unless an obscene amount was offered to us. We are on a totally different path now look how the club dealt with Lennon Miller held our ground and got what we wanted. We are in such safe hands and thinking minds I am so chilled out about today we are not scrambling around signing utter dog toffee and hoping for the best.
    3 points
  8. Developing and signing players isn’t done in isolation, and it doesn’t wipe out what we were watching every week or how it unravelled. Player development is part of the job, not some bonus achievement, and it’s not a one-man show either. Yes, there were a couple of good assets, and he got a tune out of Bair and gave Miller a platform to develop. But there was also a pile of shite signings, an appalling winless run, poor football, and a messy exit where he blamed the fans. Suggesting he somehow solely bankrolled JBA is a ridiculous take, ignoring all the wider context. His time as Motherwell manager was, overall, a complete failure. His exit, and what followed at Killie, only confirmed that, and it will likely be the same elsewhere unless he actually changes, which he has shown no sign of doing throughout his managerial career so far. He’s an incompetent clown who believes his own hype. But even they get lucky every now and then.
    2 points
  9. Rain must’ve been really baaaaad Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    2 points
  10. The game was 6 weeks ago, best revenge would be to end our ridiculous record of not beating them at home in league since boxing day 2001
    2 points
  11. I think we are all frustrated by the inconsistencies but there have been some really crucial decisions that have favoured Rangers this season and a good few of them involved this same referee. As an example, three penalty incidents involving Rangers, all with very similar degrees of contact in the box. One v Aberdeen: penalty given for Rangers. Two v Dundee Utd: penalty given for Rangers. Three v Motherwell: penalty not given to Motherwell. The consistency comes from the fact that the incidents are all very similar, that Rangers get the benefit of the decision in all three cases and that the same referee is involved in each decision. The inconsistency is that the referee has used different criteria to arrive at a decision. Is this proof of conspiracy? No. Is it worth considering the environment that brings about these inconsistencies? Yes. That is free thinking.
    2 points
  12. Hi everyone MJC has just contacted me as he’s currently offline and was upset that his prediction of a narrow cup defeat to the Dons was unduly OPTIMISTIC. His revised prediction is: a nine nill humping after which JBA totally loses the plot on the coach home, gets out an AK47 and takes out the entire coach full of players/staff, before finishing off himself. We bring in Maurice Malpas to run with what’s left of the Development Team, but despite his best efforts he’s unable to arrest a plummet down the divisions into the Lowland League where we spend the next 24 years. NORMAL SERVICE HAS BEEN RESUMED. THE END!
    2 points
  13. 2 points
  14. As long as we keep winning, what’s going on around us doesn’t really matter.
    2 points
  15. If he was JBA would have him strolling round the park like Maldini
    2 points
  16. The 800k bid for AP in the summer was as much made up paper talk as all the JT stuff this month. Completely unsubstantiated but some folk are taking it as gospel for some reason.
    2 points
  17. Happy if he is available, I’m not sure how the signings work in practice- does Welsh need to be about waiting to sign a document? ie not in bed dreaming of how to beat Dundee πŸ˜€
    2 points
  18. As others have said, I'd have liked a left back but given our performance against Celtic with Koutroumbis at left back, maybe we're saving a wage. It's often been a case of scrambling around in January looking for players to dig us out of a hole so this kind of relaxed window with a 'if nothing happens we'll be fine" probably feels odd as a Motherwell fan...
    2 points
  19. Check walters comment.. havent they been doing this to Scottish clubs for years? Couldnt give these feckers a redneck with a blow torch
    2 points
  20. My wish too. Graeme McGarry tweeting that despite more interest in TJ this morning, presumably from Anderlecht, that our club is standing firm as its too late to source a replacement.
    2 points
  21. Anderlecht the latest team linked to TJ. That only leaves Hamilton Accies left to register an interest.
    2 points
  22. Its good for us to just keep flying under the radar right now. Just keep winning one game at a time and see where it takes us. It would be an absolute longshot, but I havent been to a game this season where I left thinking the opposition had been better than us, and that includes the semi final.
    2 points
  23. If both teams play to their potential we will win because we are a better team than Dundee in all departments. The level of consistency shown by Motherwell this season is off the scale and I have never witnessed it before. Thats why the fatalist in me approaches every game thinking "we must fuck it up and play pish this time" and the fact we are at game 24 and it still hasn't happened is truly remarkable. Even the Aberdeen game I can't get the thought of "we will make an arse of it" out my head and I get annoyed at myself because Aberdeen are fucking honking and again by any measure we should take care of them on Saturday. The conditioning Motherwell does to your brain over 50 years would baffle any psychologists. πŸ˜‚
    2 points
  24. When are we expecting Watt and Cook able to play again ?
    1 point
  25. Just bin VAR. It's that simple. Subjective decisions in the booth are wrong just as often as subjective decisions on the pitch. If we must keep it, go with the 20 or 30 second rule. Can't see any error within those 20 or 30 seconds, no clear and obvious error, decision on the pitch stands, and we move on.
    1 point
  26. Massive moment in the game when Killie are only 1-0 down. Funny how Trusty is a red card and in an almost identical incident last night the ref gives nothing. What about the Fernandez hand ball against Livingston? Again critical moment in the game. Massive decisions that are really difficult to explain. You talk about thinking for ourselves. I think it is very reasonable to ask the questions. They are strange decisions and deserve some further consideration.
    1 point
  27. Exactly. Both incidents were penalties. Whether a red was required is debatable. Anyone think that red is given at the other end? Dickinson and once again VAR ignore Tavernier, who was on a booking, last man foul on the Killie attacker. No suprise that yet again the officials give them the benefit of doubt. The officials have got The Rangers back into the title race.
    1 point
  28. This in fairness could be just what's needed . A full week before the cup game.
    1 point
  29. Dundee spent money on their pitch close season. Its looked like a bowling green all year. They can hardly be blamed for a weather system coming in off the North Sea for the best part of a week subjecting the entire area to persistent rain and snow. Also, our pitch isnt looking very good right now, despute the efforts we have gone to improve it. Should we also be fined?
    1 point
  30. And it took them an hour and a half to come to that conclusion? Shambles
    1 point
  31. Hearts once again looking awful and down to 10 men. So no doubt will win 1-0 in the 96th minute πŸ˜‚
    1 point
  32. I don't disagree. While I know logically we might to lose a game at some point from a poor performance, dodgy decision or bad luck, every game right now feels winnable. The last time it felt like this was when we ran away with the First Division under Davie Hay. We lost the first game at Rugby Park then went on something like a 20 league game unbeaten streak (and only lost 4 all season).
    1 point
  33. Best transfer window ever and listening to JBA Dundee presser we held firm and didn't buckle to any nonsense pennies in the pocket bids instead of pounds! What a time to be a Well fan more than happy what has went on same faces that's took us to where we are instead of a team filled with loan faces we shall forget ever came through the doors of Fir Park Pretty disappointed to hear disgruntled voices we don't need another left back why?Cause big Jens says so! Up the Well!
    1 point
  34. As JBA said, the problem with any player is that, in January, they need to be able to immediately fit into the system. Otherwise they are better off being summer signings with a full pre-season. Does Furlong fit into that category? I remember him bombing up the wing, but under Kettlewell he certainly wasn't coached to play all the short passes across the penalty box, or to find a man rather than punt a clearance. As the manager said, however, clubs don't just start looking for players during the window. It's a 365 days a year process. So if we didn't bring in a new left back it's either because we couldn't find one that was ready and available, or that JBA didn't think we needed one at this point.
    1 point
  35. Overall, I'd say its been a decent to good window; probably rating around an 8 out of 10. It could have been much worse, for example if we'd failed to secure another striker, lost a centre back and lost TJ. It could have been slightly better if we'd signed another LB. To add to the mix we have McGhee and Nicholson back now. I always believe that the time to strengthen is when things are going well and if we want to hold onto 4th or even drop to 5th place then more of the same simply won't do. To clarify, I mean the personnel not the system which will continue to work well. Ostensibly both Aberdeen and Hibs have strengthened and even if only some of their new recruits hit the ground running then they'll threaten us. Fortunately we have a decent cushion over both. We mustn't ignore Falkirk either as they are a credible threat and may have strengthened slightly. If we fall to 6th I'd still be delighted. If we drop to 5th place I'll still be over the moon and if we can hang onto 4th place I'll be ecstatic. Finishing in the top 3 whilst theoretically possible is pretty much beyond us. A Scottish cup run? Not so sure this time round. I really think we can achieve something next season though, with or without JBA.
    1 point
  36. This is true. I’m a numpty πŸ€¦β€β™‚οΈ
    1 point
  37. Only a circus for us, I'm sure Jens went to bed tonight thinking how to beat Dundee
    1 point
  38. Be glad when it gets to 1101pm this evening and Maswanishe is still with us. I believe in Jens trust his judgement.
    1 point
  39. Surely not? According to the Celtic Da’s he’s signing on loan for them tonight.
    1 point
  40. Is that Wise? (In before grizzlyg)
    1 point
  41. Hope the claret and amber doesn't put him off.
    1 point
  42. Well, whatever way, Celtic need to commit one way or the other in the next few hours.
    1 point
  43. πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜† Maths was never my strong point!
    1 point
  44. Get a CB and a LB in keep hold of Maswanhise and we've had a very good window.
    1 point
  45. He was literally just the 1st failure of that era that came into my napper...should maybe have gone with Roddie or Hendry
    1 point
  46. He was one of Killie's best players, the price we paid raised expectations, the fact we had better at the club proved it was a mistake signing him, but Phil needed replaced and on paper Shaun was a decent shout, pity we don't play on paper
    1 point