Kmcalpin Posted January 25, 2024 Report Share Posted January 25, 2024 1 hour ago, wellsince75 said: Spittal moving forward is decent and get the wingbacks pushed up and we can be a reasonable attacking force. Im sure at some point over the next week strikers will arrive. Apart from set pieces, Spittal's biggest weakness is his lack of pace. This does limit his effectiveness when we play with one striker. A decent player nonetheless. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted January 25, 2024 Report Share Posted January 25, 2024 25 minutes ago, Kmcalpin said: Apart from set pieces, Spittal's biggest weakness is his lack of pace. This does limit his effectiveness when we play with one striker. A decent player nonetheless. Spittal's set pieces weak? Shocking.....you would never hear me shout such a thing at Fir park!!🤣🤣🤣 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted January 25, 2024 Report Share Posted January 25, 2024 My team. Would love to start young Lennon but don't want him to get rough treatment and another injury, give him last half hour. I would switch to a back 4 Kelly SOD. Butcher. mcGinn. Monty Davor Paton. Halliday. Gent Spittal Bair Might be there which would be my first away game since.....no idea COYW Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
steelboy Posted January 25, 2024 Report Share Posted January 25, 2024 Having seen Halliday on Saturday he's clearly miles away from fitness. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellfan Posted January 25, 2024 Report Share Posted January 25, 2024 10 minutes ago, grizzlyg said: My team. Would love to start young Lennon but don't want him to get rough treatment and another injury, give him last half hour. I would switch to a back 4 Kelly SOD. Butcher. mcGinn. Monty Davor Paton. Halliday. Gent Spittal Bair Might be there which would be my first away game since.....no idea COYW I agree with you on Miller. I also think Mugabi will start this game, as his powerful heading will be needed to deal with the inevitable many balls shelled into the box and long balls over the top. Butcher doesn't seem able to deal with those (E.g. Butcher vs Sammon). So, I think we'll see the same team and starting formation as the Alloa game, with Miller, Halliday, Elliot, and Nicholson to come off the bench and change things when/if needed in the second half. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted January 25, 2024 Report Share Posted January 25, 2024 15 minutes ago, wellfan said: I agree with you on Miller. I also think Mugabi will start this game, as his powerful heading will be needed to deal with the inevitable many balls shelled into the box and long balls over the top. Butcher doesn't seem able to deal with those (E.g. Butcher vs Sammon). So, I think we'll see the same team and starting formation as the Alloa game, with Miller, Halliday, Elliot, and Nicholson to come off the bench and change things when/if needed in the second half. You are probably right pal. In the air Bevis is fine....it's ball with his feet that scares me!! 😜😜. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
smiddy Posted January 25, 2024 Report Share Posted January 25, 2024 21 hours ago, wellgirl said: Wasn't planned going back to uni, a strange set of circumstances got me to this point. I don't even remember if Motherwell did a student season ticket the first time I was at uni. Probably not from recollection Plus if you are in a low income and in Scotland and study part time you get your fees paid. Not the only reason I'm doing it but it absolutely helps. good on yi hen get right intae it n good luck me a can feckin hardly spell unavursity 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
smiddy Posted January 25, 2024 Report Share Posted January 25, 2024 20 hours ago, grizzlyg said: Good for you, wasn't being nosey. Good luck x i yi wur :):) nosey barsteward Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted January 25, 2024 Report Share Posted January 25, 2024 18 minutes ago, smiddy said: i yi wur :):) nosey barsteward 🤣🤣🤣 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted January 25, 2024 Report Share Posted January 25, 2024 20 minutes ago, smiddy said: i yi wur :):) nosey barsteward Yer right ....ye Cannae spell......ya duck!! 🤣🤣🤣🤣, just kidding 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
smiddy Posted January 25, 2024 Report Share Posted January 25, 2024 26 minutes ago, wellgirl said: Criminology:) am loving it to be fair. My spelling is ok but I've had to work on so many other things... Hopefully Motherwell will kick on and I'll only be crying about my essays going forward:). been there with the essay crying 2 nurses in the hoose 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
texanwellfan Posted January 25, 2024 Report Share Posted January 25, 2024 57 minutes ago, smiddy said: been there with the essay crying 2 nurses in the hoose You best go on a wee holiday cause there’s another one on the way, a week on Monday. 😟 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelmaninOZ Posted January 25, 2024 Author Report Share Posted January 25, 2024 The gaffer says Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelmaninOZ Posted January 26, 2024 Author Report Share Posted January 26, 2024 11 hours ago, smiddy said: i yi wur :):) nosey barsteward He wiz tae 🧐 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted January 26, 2024 Report Share Posted January 26, 2024 55 minutes ago, SteelmaninOZ said: He wiz tae 🧐 Away you concentrate on Australia Day!! 🤣🤣🤣 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
couttsy Posted January 26, 2024 Report Share Posted January 26, 2024 If reports are to be believe and Montgomery is out, I suspect we’ll see Gent moved back to LWB and Miller/Halliday/Nicholson (whoever is fittest) coming in. I’d bite your hand off for a point given the state we’re in with injuries and incomplete recruitment. Would love to know what the plan is if Bair gets injured at some point today/tomorrow!? Hope to hell we have one….. Next 3 are huge, could really be doing with taking 5/6 points minimum. Particularly when you look at how tough the 3 after that are (on paper at least). 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellfan Posted January 26, 2024 Report Share Posted January 26, 2024 36 minutes ago, couttsy said: Would love to know what the plan is if Bair gets injured at some point today/tomorrow!? Hope to hell we have one….. Mark Ferrie. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mad Dog Posted January 26, 2024 Report Share Posted January 26, 2024 53 minutes ago, couttsy said: Would love to know what the plan is if Bair gets injured at some point today/tomorrow!? Hope to hell we have one….. We're going full Stuart Pearce mode and The Big Ox will save the day. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmcalpin Posted January 26, 2024 Report Share Posted January 26, 2024 1 hour ago, couttsy said: Would love to know what the plan is if Bair gets injured at some point today/tomorrow!? Hope to hell we have one….. Move Bevis up front. 1 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelmaninOZ Posted January 26, 2024 Author Report Share Posted January 26, 2024 2 hours ago, grizzlyg said: Away you concentrate on Australia Day!! 🤣🤣🤣 I am mate 🥃🍻🍺 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MelvinBragg Posted January 26, 2024 Report Share Posted January 26, 2024 54 minutes ago, Kmcalpin said: Move Bevis up front. We spoke about this at the game last week. Until a striker or strikers arrive, you have to think that Mugabi as a battering ram will be the option. Although Kettlewell took him off at 1-1 so maybe not... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stevie73 Posted January 26, 2024 Report Share Posted January 26, 2024 What are we doing at training, is it kick anything that moves, boy looked decent as well, zero luck Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
couttsy Posted January 26, 2024 Report Share Posted January 26, 2024 I could see Mugabi up front if we’re chasing a game, as a last resort, throw the kitchen sink type approach, but if we ever start a game with him up front heads need to roll. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmcalpin Posted January 26, 2024 Report Share Posted January 26, 2024 23 minutes ago, wellgirl said: Do you honestly think that our manager would train players in a way that would get them injured? It has nothing to do with luck. Its part and parcel of the nature of the game. Not knowingly of course, but maybe. Ian Baraclough addressed this very same point when he came. You can't really avoid impact injuries but you can minimise soft tissue injuries by tweaking training methods. That's what he did when he took over. It also helps to avoid signing a few players with questionable injury records. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelmaninOZ Posted January 26, 2024 Author Report Share Posted January 26, 2024 Andy Halliday has his turn to say a few words about this game Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...