2025/26 Ins & Outs Discussion

51 minutes ago, twistandshout1983 said:

Good job there wasn't Facebook in the likes of 1995-1996 when we went something like 10 games without scoring under Big Eck,  or in the last year of Billy Davies 

Going further back than that Tommy McLean would probably never have lasted up to 1991 either if the club hadn't seen what he had been trying to build

I did read the one as well about Dougie Arnott at the weekend , legendary player he was but for anyone to suggest him as our new manager is ridiculous comment to make

Facebook with Roger Hynd or Bobby Watson would have been interesting.

I was only 6 when hynd took over but still remember him dismantling a team

4 minutes ago, grizzlyg said:

I'm still recovering from him being my PE Teacher. Brutal. 

24 minutes ago, Mad Dog said:

Could we maybe re-sign wee Dougie to run the club bars / hospitality instead?

Or even better sign him up to play,he would still be miles better than the guff options we have had this season.

18 minutes ago, grizzlyg said:

Have no recollection of either as a manager as I was born in 1983 , hence the username 

I did however read a book by Matt Johnstone. Might have been Joe Wark knew my father Tae

Season 83-84 sounded totally grim 

4 minutes ago, twistandshout1983 said:

Have no recollection of either as a manager as I was born in 1983 , hence the username 

I did however read a book by Matt Johnstone. Might have been Joe Wark knew my father Tae

Season 83-84 sounded totally grim 

Aye all right youngster!! 🤪

28 minutes ago, grizzlyg said:

You also missed start of 82 83 season and Jock Wallace waving to gers fans .......as well manager!!

Yep I read about that as well 

What sounded so much better though in the book beating the same team 3-0 at new year , then Celtic 2-1 very soon

Apart from McClair at Man United scoring goals my only other memory of him was coming back to Harry's revolution 🤣 Ended up at Blackburn as assistant manager if I remember right the same season

8 minutes ago, twistandshout1983 said:

Yep I read about that as well 

What sounded so much better though in the book beating the same team 3-0 at new year , then Celtic 2-1 very soon

Apart from McClair at Man United scoring goals my only other memory of him was coming back to Harry's revolution 🤣 Ended up at Blackburn as assistant manager if I remember right the same season

The 3-0 win over rangers was my 11th birthday, that and getting pac man for the atari made it a perfect day!!

Ps. For those under 30....Atari was the x-box, PlayStation of its day

38 minutes ago, grizzlyg said:

The 3-0 win over rangers was my 11th birthday, that and getting pac man for the atari made it a perfect day!!

Ps. For those under 30....Atari was the x-box, PlayStation of its day

I take great pride in the fact my Dad knew Andy Ritchie who played roughly the same time

He always spoke highly of him and said he was a Well diehard , they chatted in the Bookies regularly back in the day

23 minutes ago, twistandshout1983 said:

I take great pride in the fact my Dad knew Andy Ritchie who played roughly the same time

He always spoke highly of him and said he was a Well diehard , they chatted in the Bookies regularly back in the day

One of the most naturally talented footballers I have ever seen. Incredible to think how good Morton were when he played for them.

He played on his reputation of being fat and lazy, but worked a bit harder than he was given credit for. 

4 hours ago, twistandshout1983 said:

Good job there wasn't Facebook in the likes of 1995-1996 when we went something like 10 games without scoring under Big Eck,  or in the last year of Billy Davies 

Going further back than that Tommy McLean would probably never have lasted up to 1991 either if the club hadn't seen what he had been trying to build

I did read the one as well about Dougie Arnott at the weekend , legendary player he was but for anyone to suggest him as our new manager is ridiculous comment to make

I've been involved online with MFC since early 96, the mailing list, then the yahoo group, chat room and here.
It may have been down to who was online at the time but debates were sensible for the most part since it was mostly real names and probably the lack of teenage presence etc. Holy shit that's almost 30 years.

I approached the club in May 96 about setting up a website, had a meeting with John Swineburn with grand ideas of what we have now, only to be told that the internet was a fad, that no one would want access to the club's history (Keith and Graham's book) instant news updates etc could be gotten on teletext, every idea or suggestion of use was shot down into flames.