johnny71 Posted Thursday at 10:44 AM Report Share Posted Thursday at 10:44 AM 42 minutes ago, Spiderpig said: The weather will suit our game, no long crossfield hoofs up the park, keep the ball on the deck, move it quickly and pass it through them. That said i would be starting Sod, Bjorgolffson, palmer Houlden and Said as we need to have more of a threat up top and some experience at the back, after Tuesday nights shambles. Yip definitely start with those players,as we passed the ball about 20 times around the Aberdeen defence to then cross it into 3 small strikers that Aberdeen lapped up all night. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
stv Posted Thursday at 11:21 AM Report Share Posted Thursday at 11:21 AM 33 minutes ago, johnny71 said: Yip definitely start with those players,as we passed the ball about 20 times around the Aberdeen defence to then cross it into 3 small strikers that Aberdeen lapped up all night. Hope we don't see that tactic from our manager again. Don't know what he was thinking there. Aberdeen couldn't believe their luck. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mio Posted Thursday at 01:05 PM Report Share Posted Thursday at 01:05 PM Looks like Dundee have a bit of an injury curse going on? Reilly, wright, Murray, finnegan out and Hamilton is a big doubt for Saturday... good news ….. maybe? Who knows? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmcalpin Posted Thursday at 05:16 PM Report Share Posted Thursday at 05:16 PM Murray, Robertson and Hay will likely miss out and the SFA has asked that Besir not be selected. All others could be fit. Best to ignore these pre match rumours. Ross Hardie has been appointed as referee. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted Thursday at 05:24 PM Report Share Posted Thursday at 05:24 PM Might get laughed out of town but another possible line-up with the hope SOD is fit. Paulsen SOD. Jamie KL. Moormann Longelo Hodge/Fadinger. Lowry Said Vogt. Williams Seb/Thor I can just hear cries of "VOGT!!!" but on Tuesday he put in 2 cracking crosses and looked to take man on. His positional sense terrible but with SOD behind him it could help him. I think Fadinger could do with a rest, hodge was actually good until 2nd goal then head went down. I really like Williams and if fit I would like to see him and manny link up. Rcc , Sparrow and probably Kanga ( only here less than a month remember) I would start on bench Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted Thursday at 05:24 PM Report Share Posted Thursday at 05:24 PM 8 minutes ago, Kmcalpin said: Murray, Robertson and Hay will likely miss out and the SFA has asked that Besir not be selected. All others could be fit. Best to ignore these pre match rumours. Ross Hardie has been appointed as referee. What is script with Besir? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmcalpin Posted Thursday at 05:33 PM Report Share Posted Thursday at 05:33 PM 7 minutes ago, grizzlyg said: What is script with Besir? Red carded against Hearts. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellsince75 Posted Thursday at 06:38 PM Report Share Posted Thursday at 06:38 PM 1 hour ago, grizzlyg said: Might get laughed out of town but another possible line-up with the hope SOD is fit. Paulsen SOD. Jamie KL. Moormann Longelo Hodge/Fadinger. Lowry Said Vogt. Williams Seb/Thor I can just hear cries of "VOGT!!!" but on Tuesday he put in 2 cracking crosses and looked to take man on. His positional sense terrible but with SOD behind him it could help him. I think Fadinger could do with a rest, hodge was actually good until 2nd goal then head went down. I really like Williams and if fit I would like to see him and manny link up. Rcc , Sparrow and probably Kanga ( only here less than a month remember) I would start on bench Im not sold Alfred will make that many changes although I would as several players need to step up a gear. I also don't see him bringing in SOD - but I would like to see him back. I think you're along the right lines though @grizzlyg create some natural width and get players in their natural position. I'd also go for a similar shape and certainly better width up both flanks. Paulsen JKR Jamie KL. Moormann Williams Levit Fadinger. Lowry Sparrow. Longelo Seb This on assumption JT is injured. Subs - SOD for JKR Hodge for Levit of Fadinger Vogt for Sparrow RCC for Longelo Thor for Seb Kanga or Said for Lowry Also gives us the option to change shape mid game if we need be. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
texanwellfan Posted Thursday at 07:09 PM Report Share Posted Thursday at 07:09 PM 1 hour ago, Kmcalpin said: Red carded against Hearts. So are the SFA “asking” or “telling” them not to select him? I would think the SFA would be dictating whether he plays or not. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lobey_Dosser Posted Thursday at 07:29 PM Report Share Posted Thursday at 07:29 PM I’m intrigued to see how we set up on Saturday. As many have observed, there has been a clear considerable drop off in our principles from last season. No longer do we play with intensity, no longer does the player on the ball have multiple options and no longer do we work our balls off to regain possession. These were traits honed on the training pitch that I doubt can be replicated anytime soon. That being the case, one way of getting results, in the short term at least, would be to be less predictable. It might therefore be worth giving a back three a spin, particularly with how vulnerable we have looked when St Mirren, Rangers and Aberdeen repeatedly ran right through us. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joewarkfanclub Posted yesterday at 08:40 AM Report Share Posted yesterday at 08:40 AM Forgot JT went off injured on Tuesday. I also regularly forget that we have signed Dylan Levitt! Taking those two things into account and trying to inject a little more structure and discipline into our play, I think Id go with the following...... Paulsen SOD JKL Moorman Williams Levitt Fadinger Sparrow Lowry Longelo Palmer Houlden Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelmaninOZ Posted 22 hours ago Author Report Share Posted 22 hours ago The gaffer said Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happy Dosser Posted 22 hours ago Report Share Posted 22 hours ago 25 minutes ago, SteelmaninOZ said: The gaffer said "Naw, Alfie, jist hoof it up the pairk!" That'll do the trick.......... 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted 21 hours ago Report Share Posted 21 hours ago 2 hours ago, joewarkfanclub said: Forgot JT went off injured on Tuesday. I also regularly forget that we have signed Dylan Levitt! Taking those two things into account and trying to inject a little more structure and discipline into our play, I think Id go with the following...... Paulsen SOD JKL Moorman Williams Levitt Fadinger Sparrow Lowry Longelo Palmer Houlden Happy with that pal apart from Sparrow. I think he needs rested. I dont think he has fully recovered from his injury. Have Said/Kanga/Vogt in that role Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted 21 hours ago Report Share Posted 21 hours ago 49 minutes ago, SteelmaninOZ said: The gaffer said Good interview from Alfred. We are very much in transition and it is going to take time. Tuesday was terrible but no reason why we can't bounce back and I am sure players will have a point to prove. COYW 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelmaninOZ Posted 20 hours ago Author Report Share Posted 20 hours ago Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
johnny71 Posted 20 hours ago Report Share Posted 20 hours ago 23 hours ago, mio said: Looks like Dundee have a bit of an injury curse going on? Reilly, wright, Murray, finnegan out and Hamilton is a big doubt for Saturday... good news ….. maybe? Who knows? Aye hopefully that will help us get a result,but their boy Bevan looks a threat. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
johnny71 Posted 20 hours ago Report Share Posted 20 hours ago On 9/17/2026 at 8:31 AM, wellup83 said: O'Donnell has surely got to start at the weekend. We need a stable 'old head' at the back to keep things organised. Also, I'm not sure what condition he'll be in but when's Mcginn back? McGinn was talking to my mate at the Stenny game and he was back to jogging then so hopefully be back sooner rather than later. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
well_said Posted 20 hours ago Report Share Posted 20 hours ago 1 hour ago, Happy Dosser said: "Naw, Alfie, jist hoof it up the pairk!" That'll do the trick.......... He said the word humble twice in that press conference, now fully expect him to take off a face mask a la scooby doo and reveal he is really stuart kettlewell.🤣 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SteelmaninOZ Posted 20 hours ago Author Report Share Posted 20 hours ago 1 minute ago, well_said said: He said the word humble twice in that press conference, now fully expect him to take off a face mask a la scooby doo and reveal he Really is stuart kettlewell.🤣 Nòooooooooo Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmcalpin Posted 20 hours ago Report Share Posted 20 hours ago 1 hour ago, grizzlyg said: Happy with that pal apart from Sparrow. I think he needs rested. I dont think he has fully recovered from his injury. Have Said/Kanga/Vogt in that role Agree with that Grizzly. Start Said and bring on Kanga or Vogt later on. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joewarkfanclub Posted 19 hours ago Report Share Posted 19 hours ago 2 hours ago, grizzlyg said: Happy with that pal apart from Sparrow. I think he needs rested. I dont think he has fully recovered from his injury. Have Said/Kanga/Vogt in that role Dont disagree. Was thinking more for crosses into the box than anything else, given that seems to be our thing this season. I guess Vogt showed he could do that on Tuesday night. Just not sure we can trust him yet. But I suppose he needs to get the opportunity at some point. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
joewarkfanclub Posted 19 hours ago Report Share Posted 19 hours ago Good to here that Oscar, McGinn & Hendry are all back running and might be ready to rejoin squad training after the break. Obviously might still be a month or so away from playing, but is more light at the end of the injury tunnel. Is that just McGhee and Koutroumbis still out? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
texanwellfan Posted 18 hours ago Report Share Posted 18 hours ago Maybe a month away but a good chunk is international break. So not missing as many games as they might have. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
stv Posted 15 hours ago Report Share Posted 15 hours ago 3 hours ago, joewarkfanclub said: Dont disagree. Was thinking more for crosses into the box than anything else, given that seems to be our thing this season. I guess Vogt showed he could do that on Tuesday night. Just not sure we can trust him yet. But I suppose he needs to get the opportunity at some point. The manager must see something in Vogt, as he keeps playing him. With his back ground in developing young players I would go with him on this. Willy may just need some confidence fitness and game time to show what he's got. Remember what everyone said about Bair being useless at the start with us . I will go with what the manager thinks rather than a forum for now. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...