texanwellfan Posted 5 hours ago Report Share Posted 5 hours ago This season has been a revelation. I’ve never seen as many non well fans compliment our style of play and looking thru Facebook the number of Celtic supporters actually admitting that we played them off the park is unheard of. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
texanwellfan Posted 5 hours ago Report Share Posted 5 hours ago I didn’t get to sit down and see the first half but caught short segments on my phone and listened to some of the audio from Motherwell TV. I got home in time for the second half and was amazed to learn that Maeda was being subbed for the second half. I had no clue he was actually playing the first half. I can’t actually say that McGinn amd O’Donnell played blinders in defence, it just seems to be that the way that we play as a team has us defending well agInst opposition without the need for last ditch tackles and heroic blocks. To clarify, i do think both players Mentioned had great games amd I’m sure Welsh will be impressed at the way they strolled thru it, just like he strolls thru games. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stuwell2 Posted 5 hours ago Report Share Posted 5 hours ago Texas, Maeda was played through the middle which was a tactical gift to us and was ineffective there. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dennyc Posted 5 hours ago Report Share Posted 5 hours ago Even setting aside the cross for the Said goal, SOD was outstanding. Other than one early last ditch clearance which fell to a Celtic player, he strolled through the game and brought a calmness to the defence. Never rushed and looked to be thoroughly enjoying himself. Two incidents stood out for me...once when he calmy ushered the ball out for a corner when Celtic players were snapping at his heels and the other when Said picked him up after his goal. The joy Said showed when scoring was infectious. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MJC Posted 3 hours ago Author Report Share Posted 3 hours ago A few posts have mentioned being nervous at 2-0 and perhaps it’s just me looking back with a bit of bravado now but I didn’t really feel that nervous atall from about the 70th minute ownward last night. We looked confident and relatively comfortable and if anyone looked like scoring again it was us. Ward’s great save apart we were never in danger really. Usually when we play Celtic and we’re in a good position you’re expecting to lose at any minute…you know that killer ball down the flanks or through the middle and you’re just waiting for the South Stand to erupt or else we gift them something or they get a penalty out of the blue and it all crumbles for us. But last night we saw it out with relative ease even when they started coming back into the game a bit. And that was a pretty amazing feeling and something I’ve not seen since my early days of supporting Motherwell going back to the early 90s. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
well_said Posted 3 hours ago Report Share Posted 3 hours ago 4 hours ago, MJC said: It’s not good to hear and it really isn’t helpful to us as a club because that is the message that is put out to players and coaches, both current and prospective and many will buy into that. I know we have a core of supporters who like to portray us as this cuddly wee tinpot nonentity of a club, Cowan being one of the most vocal due to his position. And I am under absolutely no illusions whatsoever that we are a big club or anything like it, certainly not in the same scale as the Old Firm, Aberdeen or the Edinburgh clubs. But we have been playing top flight football uninterrupted for over forty years now. And even if the pendantic faither types want to go down the “ahh but we were only saved by league reconstruction one time and then Falkirk’s ground didn’t meet requirements” route, well the last time that happened was twenty two and a half years ago now. So we have been an established top flight club for over twenty years. Still pretty good going I’d say. Success we have will be fleeting and good managers and players we get will inevitably move on to bigger clubs at some point. I know that, we all know that and it’s not exclusive to us. That’s just the law of the jungle. But to hear our most high profile fan go straight on the radio just after we’ve recorded an emphatic victory over Celtic playing some tremendous football and his core point appear to be “it’s only a matter of time before the manager goes, x player gets poached cos a wee diddy team like us can’t afford to keep them” is pathetic stuff. At least enjoy the moment and let the rest of us do the same before spouting the “it’s all gonny get taken away from us soon” pish. Cowan is a bellend that's been coming out the same pish patter for years , ie white dug shite and wee shuggie McPhee fae crossroads pish. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MJC Posted 2 hours ago Author Report Share Posted 2 hours ago 22 minutes ago, well_said said: Cowan is a bellend that's been coming out the same pish patter for years , ie white dug shite and wee shuggie McPhee fae crossroads pish. His patter is pish. It revolves around what you mention there and shoehorning in the words shite bawbag and arsehole to whatever story he’s telling. But I don’t doubt his love for the club whatsoever. He is a Motherwell FC diehard. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
robsterwood Posted 2 hours ago Report Share Posted 2 hours ago This pic sums up the game 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fergie79 Posted 2 hours ago Report Share Posted 2 hours ago 8 hours ago, FirParkCornerExile said: Doing likewise. Michael Stewart I'm told has had connections with Motherwell over the years through friends and colleagues. He definitely has a soft spot for us even before this seasons impressive stuff. He couldnt give enough superlatives about us throughout this game. I think most of the Scottish media are now in awe of JBA.....Charlie Mulgrew was like a kid talking to Santa Clause after the game Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted 1 hour ago Report Share Posted 1 hour ago 25 minutes ago, Fergie79 said: I think most of the Scottish media are now in awe of JBA.....Charlie Mulgrew was like a kid talking to Santa Clause after the game Mulgrew was class, despite being ex Celtic he absolutely loved the way Askou set us up Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted 1 hour ago Report Share Posted 1 hour ago I know folk might think i am being picky but on well Facebook page after watt goal they again just show block e celebrating. We had 6800 fans there last night and rest of hunter stand, Cooper stand and O'Donnell stand just as passionate and celebrating wildly (as my mate's can confirm). It's not a criticism of Block E but you would think rest of ground weren't as enthusiastic Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Prestwickwell Posted 38 minutes ago Report Share Posted 38 minutes ago It’s an incredible time to be a Motherwell fan will we win the league……no for me watching games since the early 90’s I’ve only really been interested in being entertained with a cup run here & there & it’s the most entertained I’ve been in that time as others have said enjoy it but level headed as good as we are it’s the worst Celtic team in recent memory sign a striker & hit Europe ( & maybe if we can keep people hit a group stage would be incredible) tbf it people want to dream though 😂 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happy Dosser Posted 34 minutes ago Report Share Posted 34 minutes ago The buzzards seem now to be circling Mr Askou following his tactical masterclass against Celtic. The received wisdom, as Tam Cowan has amplified, is that our manager will soon be tempted by a large salary and budget at a bigger club but Jens does not strike me as a man who is very materialistic. He seems more of a visionary with a lot of new ideas and technical/tactical know-how who senses he is free at Fir Park to develop/experiment with them without the instant pressures which moving to a "larger club" might entail, where big-time players' egos and fan expectation might compromise/derail his project. I'm hoping he'll be here for at least this season to see where his experiment takes him, sensing that he has pretty much carte blanche at the club to do what he wants at the moment. Or am I being hopelessly naïve? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FirParkCornerExile Posted 22 minutes ago Report Share Posted 22 minutes ago 9 minutes ago, Happy Dosser said: The buzzards seem now to be circling Mr Askou following his tactical masterclass against Celtic. The received wisdom, as Tam Cowan has amplified, is that our manager will soon be tempted by a large salary and budget at a bigger club but Jens does not strike me as a man who is very materialistic. He seems more of a visionary with a lot of new ideas and technical/tactical know-how who senses he is free at Fir Park to develop/experiment with them without the instant pressures which moving to a "larger club" might entail, where big-time players' egos and fan expectation might compromise/derail his project. I'm hoping he'll be here for at least this season to see where his experiment takes him, sensing that he has pretty much carte blanche at the club to do what he wants at the moment. Or am I being hopelessly naïve? Afraid you are being naive. That is just not how football operates, rarely if ever can I think of a manager who chooses to stay at a smaller club when the big guys come calling. If we continue as we are until seasons end I fully expect to start next season with a different manager. So let's enjoy it while we can and leave the worrying about JBAs departure until it happens. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted 17 minutes ago Report Share Posted 17 minutes ago 1 hour ago, grizzlyg said: Mulgrew was class, despite being ex Celtic he absolutely loved the way Askou set us up He's was taking a lot of notes! Was good to listen to a discussion With Mulgrew genuinely interested and asking actual football questions. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...