grizzlyg Posted 1 hour ago Report Share Posted 1 hour ago 26 minutes ago, well_said said: The German sense of humour is pish , so you could probably get a gig over to help you with your fare.🤣 Never thought of that......wunderbar!!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MelvinBragg Posted 1 hour ago Report Share Posted 1 hour ago 2 minutes ago, FirParkCornerExile said: The injury situation is quite ridiculous. Injuries happen but it seems to be that whenever we get people injured, they take ages coming back. Might be just bad luck.. Numbers wise, this season we've had McGinn Maswanhise Longelo Koutroumbis O'Donnell Sparrow Williams Priestman Bjorngolfsson Stamatelopolous Hendry all still injured or having been injured at some point (suspect I've probably missed someone as well). It's a long list barely two weeks into August... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bart Verheul Posted 1 hour ago Report Share Posted 1 hour ago 1 minute ago, Prestwickwell said: Why?? let’s be honest it would be a huge result to beat Freiburg but not surprising to beat a team from Faroe Islands or Finland ur bang on with regards to getting the right players in but were terrible attacking wise just now, should have been identified by now reckon the boy hodges on paper looks a decent signing, tidy enough at points today but if we’re spending money for me there’s other areas that are much more important hopefully today identified it needs addressed, it’s another year of getting knocked out the cup when we should be doing better so the frustrations real 😂 I agree with you about us having nothing up front and we were the same all last season but got away with it because our midfielders chipped in with goals and Maswanhise had that mad purple patch up until he went to AFCON. Maybe AJ saw the attackers that JBA had signed last season and then Vogts (who was apparently a JBA signing) and thought I cant trust anybody thats on that list and so decided to rip it up and start again. I'm only half joking with that because it feels wrong to say that Jens wasnt absolutely perfect but the forwards he signed haven't exactly ripped it up. (I dont count Just and Said as forwards by the way for avoidance of any doubt) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mfc Posted 1 hour ago Report Share Posted 1 hour ago Our forward line needs addressing and quick,there all far to similar and other than said there all lazy,it was clear we didn't want to overplay on that pitch but there was zero movement from our forwards to get in behind or down the channels,we need an out and out winger and a number 9 and let's get away from these that can play anywhere across the front line types plus I really hope were not pining our hopes on the strikers that we currently have injured as there not the answer either. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FirParkCornerExile Posted 1 hour ago Report Share Posted 1 hour ago 1 minute ago, 0Neils40yarder said: A positive balance sheet allows us to invest in the team and infrastructure in a way that a league Cup trophy never will What , in the main, will allow us to invest in the team and infrastructure is our dealings in the player market. Europe will invariably be the exception rather than the rule and will always be dwarfed by what would could and can get by decent dealing in the transfer market. Europe has and always will be a very periodical bonus. If you are happy for us to go another 40/50 years and win absolutely fuck all but we have a positive balance sheet I'm pleased for you cos you will get your wish. I would like the occasional silverware to celebrate and that could be done with or without Europe. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Orinoco Posted 1 hour ago Report Share Posted 1 hour ago I seen our starting 11, but never got the chance to watch the game. Very easy to slate youngsters, but it wont do any good for their confidence. The experienced players from midfield can only do so much. Where we are failing is in attack with experienced players not producing what we know they are capable of ie Cookie and JT. We cant rely on Said to score wonder goals every game. The number 9 issue continues to rumble on. The attacking front line needs a total rework. We need creativity, pace and a goalscorer. AJ will hopefully have learnt alot today. No consolation to us fans tho. We can only hope we get more players in and have a real go at the scottish cup. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spiderpig Posted 1 hour ago Report Share Posted 1 hour ago 52 minutes ago, David said: Absolutely not. We've already earned twice as much financially in Europe as we would if we actually won the League Cup. In a season where we aren't in Europe, I'd absolutely agree that the League Cup is a priority, but when we have more lucrative European games, and we currently sit two games away from the actual group stages and the chance to earn millions? It's not even comparable. Apart from you maybe, nobody ever remembers or cares how much cash the club earned in a season, but win a trophy or a title etc and its remembered and discussed for generations, especially at s club of our size as has been said earlier " thats our cake" a run in Europe is the reward for the team being the star bakers and producing a great cake over the season. 2 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FirParkCornerExile Posted 1 hour ago Report Share Posted 1 hour ago Just now, Spiderpig said: Apart from you maybe, nobody ever remembers or cares how much cash the club earned in a season, but win a trophy or a title etc and its remembered and discussed for generations, especially at s club of our size as has been said earlier " thats our cake" a run in Europe is the reward for the team being the star bakers and producing a great cake over the season. 100% correct Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Great Balls of Shire Posted 57 minutes ago Report Share Posted 57 minutes ago 2 hours ago, MJC said: Absolutely disgusted but not surprised in the slightest. Motherwell FC just cannot be trusted to win cup ties. And blame has to go to the manager today for arrogantly dropping half the first team. He’s not the first manager to do this and unless we as a club start making it crystal clear to managers then he won’t be the last. And spare me “Ach it’s only the league cup, we’ve got bigger fish to fry” because quite frankly I don’t give a toss right now. And fuck Europe while we’re at it. Unacceptable Motherwell. If we somehow manage to do anything v Freiburg, its been a gamble worth taking. It's very unlikely but if we had lost players for Thursday people would say mgr should have rested them v Stenny. The league Cup is a Diddy Cup, Europe whatever happens is going to make us at least a million so its hardly worth f*ckin. 1 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mio Posted 56 minutes ago Report Share Posted 56 minutes ago There is absolutely no way Vogts was a JBA signing….. not a snowball in hells chance!! I still think we’ve been duped, his showreel MUST have been AI Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted 53 minutes ago Report Share Posted 53 minutes ago At start of season Europe is the aim, we qualify , have so far won 2 ties. I would have loved a win today but we also don't know fitness of our squad so AJ made a call today which I agreed with but didnt work. I would love to see us away in eurooe but prices were out of reach. Judging my the negativity hopefully a lot of folk change mind and I can get opportunity to go. I would take group stage in europe over a league cup final defeat to that mob from east end of Glasgow Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted 52 minutes ago Report Share Posted 52 minutes ago 3 minutes ago, mio said: There is absolutely no way Vogts was a JBA signing….. not a snowball in hells chance!! I still think we’ve been duped, his showreel MUST have been AI I still will give him a chance but its becoming the Brazilian Danzaki ! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Great Balls of Shire Posted 51 minutes ago Report Share Posted 51 minutes ago 8 minutes ago, Spiderpig said: Apart from you maybe, nobody ever remembers or cares how much cash the club earned in a season, but win a trophy or a title etc and its remembered and discussed for generations, especially at s club of our size as has been said earlier " thats our cake" a run in Europe is the reward for the team being the star bakers and producing a great cake over the season. I care how much we earn, the more we earn the better players we can buy , the more successful we can be. I think today and some other games have shown that the young players probably aren't going to make an impact just now, if im honest, apart from white and connelly, will they be good enough? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FirParkCornerExile Posted 50 minutes ago Report Share Posted 50 minutes ago 4 minutes ago, Great Balls of Shire said: If we somehow manage to do anything v Freiburg, its been a gamble worth taking. It's very unlikely but if we had lost players for Thursday people would say mgr should have rested them v Stenny. The league Cup is a Diddy Cup, Europe whatever happens is going to make us at least a million so its hardly worth f*ckin. As Im fed up saying if looking at the balance sheet is what motivates some in their support thats fine. In 30 years you can all get copies of the clubs accounts to show the grandweans. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
well_said Posted 47 minutes ago Report Share Posted 47 minutes ago 28 minutes ago, grizzlyg said: Never thought of that......wunderbar!!! Let me know where this wunderbar is and I will buy you a pint , in return for you stopping telling bad jokes. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Great Balls of Shire Posted 47 minutes ago Report Share Posted 47 minutes ago 2 minutes ago, FirParkCornerExile said: As Im fed up saying if looking at the balance sheet is what motivates some in their support thats fine. In 30 years you can all get copies of the clubs accounts to show the grandweans. Did I not just say runs in Europe make us money which allows to buy better players? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spit_It_Out Posted 46 minutes ago Report Share Posted 46 minutes ago 4 minutes ago, mio said: There is absolutely no way Vogts was a JBA signing….. not a snowball in hells chance!! I still think we’ve been duped, his showreel MUST have been AI I shall be honest i tend to give 6 months before i make a call on a player but man Vogts i am just not getting it i am not seeing anything at all.Today was a another shocker. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted 46 minutes ago Report Share Posted 46 minutes ago 1 minute ago, FirParkCornerExile said: As Im fed up saying if looking at the balance sheet is what motivates some in their support thats fine. In 30 years you can all get copies of the clubs accounts to show the grandweans. We spent £1,000,000 last season in transfers and raked in great profit. We have spent a good amount this season already and got training facility approved. We all want a cup win as 35 years too long but I think injury list didnt help AJ today Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted 46 minutes ago Report Share Posted 46 minutes ago 1 minute ago, well_said said: Let me know where this wunderbar is and I will buy you a pint , in return for you stopping telling bad jokes. Just off buchanan Street....name the date 🤣🤣 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FirParkCornerExile Posted 42 minutes ago Report Share Posted 42 minutes ago 5 minutes ago, Great Balls of Shire said: Did I not just say runs in Europe make us money which allows to buy better players? and as I said we can do that with or without Europe. Europe is a bonus. Our transfer market dealing are what will sustain us. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Great Balls of Shire Posted 39 minutes ago Report Share Posted 39 minutes ago 2 hours ago, Bart Verheul said: I dont think we would have won the league cup either had we stayed in. We're not going to get through in Europe either I'd like to add but if you had offered we the win against Helsinki or this game I'd have taken the Helsinki win. Yep, wanted a run in LC but ive sat in Hampden car park enough after semi final defeats to not get too worked up..if we get turned over v Freiburg, it will be against a proper team Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MJC Posted 38 minutes ago Report Share Posted 38 minutes ago 14 minutes ago, Great Balls of Shire said: If we somehow manage to do anything v Freiburg, its been a gamble worth taking. It's very unlikely but if we had lost players for Thursday people would say mgr should have rested them v Stenny. The league Cup is a Diddy Cup, Europe whatever happens is going to make us at least a million so its hardly worth f*ckin. I cannot for the life of me get my head around why some in our fanbase dismiss the League Cup as a “diddy cup”. It is not. It is a major honour in Scottish football and one which we have only ever won once in our history. We’ve got so many Motherwell fans who love to tell all and sundry that we are this tiny wee “diddy club” yet turn their noses up at a major trophy as if we’re in with a shout of winning the Europa League. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Great Balls of Shire Posted 38 minutes ago Report Share Posted 38 minutes ago 2 minutes ago, FirParkCornerExile said: and as I said we can do that with or without Europe. Europe is a bonus. Our transfer market dealing are what will sustain us. A million gor not even getting into league phase of conference ain't to be sniffed at Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mfc Posted 37 minutes ago Report Share Posted 37 minutes ago The one thing we will all agree on is that there is definitely a juggling act going on with the squad at the minute,the manager is in a kinda damned if you do,damned if you don't situation right now.im not going to point the blame to much at the manager as the team he started with should have been good enough to put us in a position where we didn't need to be bringing on the likes of fadinger and longelo as a rescue act.the players as a collective fucked that up today,the likes of vogt should have been bursting a gut to put in a performance and get off the mark with a goal against a lower league side but he went through the motions the whole game.theres probably some from today ie ross and wilson that have done there chances some serious harm in terms of the manager being able to trust them in future games. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Great Balls of Shire Posted 35 minutes ago Report Share Posted 35 minutes ago 5 minutes ago, FirParkCornerExile said: and as I said we can do that with or without Europe. Europe is a bonus. Our transfer market dealing are what will sustain us. It's not often we are going to produce a lennon Miller or eli just, could be a good few years in fact Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...