robsterwood Posted 14 hours ago Report Share Posted 14 hours ago 2 minutes ago, Yoshi-1991 said: I would imagine the club will be not just looking at the playing benefit of keeping him, but the swell in seats being filled every game and the difference that makes to the coffers. I would be shocked if we didn't offer him a bumper contract and wouldn't shock me if it was the highest we've paid for a manager. Agree. Would also be good on jba CV to see it through with players he brought in as shows some commitment. Then much bigger clubs will want him. Yes hopefully our management is putting deal on table. 👍 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
robsterwood Posted 13 hours ago Report Share Posted 13 hours ago 1 hour ago, grizzlyg said: If he signs and scores 2 goals early on in debut...( to tune of Fortunate Son by Creedence Clearwater Revival) GIVE US THREE GIVE US THREE OHHH BJORGOLFSSON Nice. Here's another bohemian rhapsody i see a little silhouetto of a man... "Björgolfsson" "He's going to score a goal!" "Björgolfsson!" Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
weeyin Posted 13 hours ago Report Share Posted 13 hours ago If watching Beck has taught me anything it's that Swedish words are not pronounced the way they look - even when it comes to the number of syllables. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
wellfan Posted 13 hours ago Report Share Posted 13 hours ago 39 minutes ago, Yoshi-1991 said: I would imagine the club will be not just looking at the playing benefit of keeping him, but the swell in seats being filled every game and the difference that makes to the coffers. I would be shocked if we didn't offer him a bumper contract and wouldn't shock me if it was the highest we've paid for a manager. I completely agree. We should be doing everything we can to invest in JBA. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted 11 hours ago Report Share Posted 11 hours ago 1 hour ago, weeyin said: If watching Beck has taught me anything it's that Swedish words are not pronounced the way they look - even when it comes to the number of syllables. Hopefully be singing Loser to Kettlewell next week then 🤪🤪 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bobbybingo Posted 11 hours ago Report Share Posted 11 hours ago Stick Eythor Martin Bjorgolfsson up front with Apostolos Stamatelopoulos and make Derek Ferguson report on the game. 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
well_said Posted 11 hours ago Report Share Posted 11 hours ago 11 minutes ago, bobbybingo said: Stick Eythor Martin Bjorgolfsson up front with Apostolos Stamatelopoulos and make Derek Ferguson report on the game. That arse would struggle to pronounce simple names like Smith or Jones or Ferguson even. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mio Posted 11 hours ago Report Share Posted 11 hours ago 17 minutes ago, bobbybingo said: Stick Eythor Martin Bjorgolfsson up front with Apostolos Stamatelopoulos and make Derek Ferguson report on the game. Incredible he still gets a gig on the radio, as much as he was a good player he’s an utter moron. never forget his argument with Michael Stewart about Rangers Orange strips. Stewart commented how it was disgraceful and just pandered to the idiots. Ferguson said “ a don’t know whit yir oan aboot, it’s a shout oot tae aw the Dutch players we hid” when Stewart asked do you honestly believe that….. his response was “aye…. Whit else cud it be” utter imbecile 1 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
grizzlyg Posted 11 hours ago Report Share Posted 11 hours ago 3 minutes ago, mio said: Incredible he still gets a gig on the radio, as much as he was a good player he’s an utter moron. never forget his argument with Michael Stewart about Rangers Orange strips. Stewart commented how it was disgraceful and just pandered to the idiots. Ferguson said “ a don’t know whit yir oan aboot, it’s a shout oot tae aw the Dutch players we hid” when Stewart asked do you honestly believe that….. his response was “aye…. Whit else cud it be” utter imbecile I thought the orange strips were a recognition of TERRY butcher? ......TAXI!!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
texanwellfan Posted 10 hours ago Report Share Posted 10 hours ago Definitely think we should be splurging out to keep JBA here for at least another season. For sure, keeping him from any other Scottish team. it would be tremendous if we could have him committ to another season before he considers any offers from England or mainland Europe. 3 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmcalpin Posted 8 hours ago Report Share Posted 8 hours ago Rancid reporting Kofi Balmer to Bristol City on loan and Aberdeen sniffing about Stephen Welsh. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ropy Posted 8 hours ago Report Share Posted 8 hours ago 17 minutes ago, Kmcalpin said: Rancid reporting Kofi Balmer to Bristol City on loan and Aberdeen sniffing about Stephen Welsh. Rovers Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Orinoco Posted 8 hours ago Report Share Posted 8 hours ago Aberdeen can sniff all they like. Surely Welsh justs says nope not going there. Aberdeen trying to be relevant. Basket case of a club. They spend plenty with no real planning or style. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mio Posted 8 hours ago Report Share Posted 8 hours ago 2 minutes ago, Orinoco said: Aberdeen can sniff all they like. Surely Welsh justs says nope not going there. I think the issue is Celtic. If Aberdeen come out and say we’ll give you £250k for him then they’ll sell him. I’m sure there’s something about loan players losing any right to say im Not leaving? I might be wrong but im sure they have done that before. Celtic are notoriously bad at treating players like sh1te. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Orinoco Posted 8 hours ago Report Share Posted 8 hours ago Celtic could recall, but Welsh does not need to sign for Aberdeen. Sure Celtic could play funny buggers, but they still need to pay him his full wages. If they forced the move would Aberdeen get a motivated and happy player? If he goes then so be it. We have shown we can cope without him in the past. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmcalpin Posted 7 hours ago Report Share Posted 7 hours ago 1 hour ago, ropy said: Rovers Yes, you're right of course. I stand corrected. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dennyc Posted 7 hours ago Report Share Posted 7 hours ago Pretty sure Arsenal recalled Biereth in January and then sent him overseas that same month? As far as Celtic are concerned, I guess if Aberdeen were willing to pay a reasonable fee and/or pay a larger portion of his wages than us then it is a no brainer. Not sure how much say Welsh would have at the end of the day. Remember he is only with us because Celtic shat all over him at the end of last season and stopped him returning to Belgium.. But sitting in the Stand for 18 months....if Celtic so decided...would not benefit him either. Guess we will find out soon. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FirParkCornerExile Posted 6 hours ago Report Share Posted 6 hours ago 1 hour ago, Orinoco said: Aberdeen can sniff all they like. Surely Welsh justs says nope not going there. Aberdeen trying to be relevant. Basket case of a club. They spend plenty with no real planning or style. Why do football fans suspend employment reality when it comes to players. Doesn't matter a fuck if Aberdeen don't have a manager or whether or not he flops. If someone offers you a 3 year contract on 10 grand a week you won't worry about fuck all else. This fanciful notion that players are motivated by places in the league, chance of European football really is suspending reality. Look at Jake Hastie took the chance was utter shite from the minute he left us but laughing all the way to the bank on the back of a 3 year contract with Rangers.. If Aberdeen want him and they are bidding with us it's extremely unlikely he would choose us. Happy to eat humble pie if Welsh is the first player in 20 years to take lower wages just cos he likes where he is. 1 1 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kmcalpin Posted 5 hours ago Report Share Posted 5 hours ago The thing is, Welsh still has 18 months to run on his Celtic contract and wage level. Why would he want to sign for Aberdeen now on half his current salary? If he wants to leave, he will have a better choice of clubs in the summer or later. If Aberdeen offer to take him on loan and pay a larger % of his wages he doesn't have to agree and it wouldn't benefit him financially as he wouldn't see any of that increased contribution. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
claretband Posted 5 hours ago Report Share Posted 5 hours ago Hopefully be singing Loser to Kettlewell next week then He’s a lost cause…Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
claretband Posted 4 hours ago Report Share Posted 4 hours ago He’s a lost cause…Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkCome to think of it has he got a Devils Haircut as well Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...