Our New Manager

Kmcalpin

20 minutes ago, MJC said:

That is approach is fine as long as it works out and there may well come a time sooner or later where we need to get back to basics and hire someone with a better knowledge of the league we play in. Rangers are doing just this by hiring Del after a string of foreign or project managers with little to no knowledge of the Scottish game.

Jeez, you dont half quote the bloody obvious..." fine as long as it works out" ....covering all the bases there. 

25 minutes ago, MJC said:

Rangers are doing just this by hiring Del after a string of foreign or project managers with little to no knowledge of the Scottish game.

Del???? Oh please 

im delighted we don’t have a support who use the phrases “he jist gits it” “he knows whit the clubs aboot” “he’s a rangers /sellic man” …… that whole low life bigotville we are blighted by.

thank god we are not these “people”

the guy sounds like he wants to maintain what we have and it’s another refreshing appointment. Goan yersel Alfie 

Copenhagen link again.  From what he’s saying and from the tactic stated above sounds like the same tactics as Jens.

his background in youth teams will hopefully help a few of our academy players too.  Excited and hopeful to see what he can do.  Issue now will be who leaves and who can we recruit or bring through to replace them.

welcome to the Well! 

2 minutes ago, mio said:

Del???? Oh please 

im delighted we don’t have a support who use the phrases “he jist gits it” “he knows whit the clubs aboot” “he’s a rangers /sellic man” …… that whole low life bigotville we are blighted by.

the guy sounds like he wants to maintain what we have and it’s another refreshing appointment. Goan yersel Alfie 

Del Monte fruit salad yes?

4 minutes ago, mio said:

Del???? Oh please 

Indeed. I'm just glad we've never appointed Sunbed Sammy. Don't rate the man at all...

14 minutes ago, bobbybingo said:

Del, who has one league cup to his name as a manager. We'll see.

I'm not sure what 'knowledge of our league' is worth these days. Most players & managers in the SPFL arrive from outside Scotland, and they're rarely here very long. On the downside, too many knowledgeable Scottish bosses seem stuck in the past, tactically speaking, and can't seem to shake off their defeatest attitudes when it comes to taking on the 'big' teams.

Well it certainly worked for us when we brought in Craig Brown to sort out Jim Gannon’s mess. I’ll even grudgingly credit McGhee second time around for stabilising us after the Baraclough shambles. Though granted your point about managers from Scotland having that defeatist mindset when it comes to us playing bigger sides is absolutely valid.

2 minutes ago, mio said:

Del???? Oh please 

Plenty of our fans were describing the aforementioned Craig Brown as a ‘Motherwell man’ before he moonlighted to Aberdeen.

And to be fair calling him Del is pretty cringeworthy. I think ‘Mr McInnes’ sounds much more staunch and dignified.

6 minutes ago, Happyhonest said:

Copenhagen link again.  From what he’s saying and from the tactic stated above sounds like the same tactics as Jens.

his background in youth teams will hopefully help a few of our academy players too.  Excited and hopeful to see what he can do.  Issue now will be who leaves and who can we recruit or bring through to replace them.

welcome to the Well! 

It's going to be a tough gig to replicate last year...especially without Slatts and Just? And whoever else...Jba was obviously a good coach but we had some great players last year...onwards and upwards though. 

3 minutes ago, MelvinBragg said:

Indeed. I'm just glad we've never appointed Sunbed Sammy. Don't rate the man at all...

He would more likely than not have a League Championship with Hearts to his name if it hadn’t been for John Beaton’s shitebaggery against us. He won Aberdeen their first silverware in almost two decades and never finished lower than 4th in the league whilst regularly reaching the latter stages of cup competitions with them. He also won the championship title with Kilmarnock (and St.Johnstone for that matter) and took them to Europe. I’d say that’s a pretty decent track record.

8 minutes ago, MJC said:

Plenty of our fans were describing the aforementioned Craig Brown as a ‘Motherwell man’ before he moonlighted to Aberdeen.

I’m not so sure about that. Craig Brown was always a “Craig Brown man”

and There’s no getting over the fact calling someone a Motherwell/st Mirren/Killie man is 1000% different to calling someone a “rangers/celtic man.”and “he gits it”

using these phrases is as as subtle as the orange away kit or the tri-colour trackie. We all know what it really means.

Just now, mio said:

I’m not so sure about that. Craig Brown was always a “Craig Brown man”

and There’s no getting over the fact calling someone a Motherwell/st Mirren/Killie man is 1000% different to calling someone a “rangers/celtic man.”and “he gits it”

using these phrases is as as subtle as the orange away kit or the tri-colour trackie. We all know what it really means.

You don’t say about Craig Brown do you?? :lol:

I don’t think anyone would seriously dispute that he was very much out for himself but when he was here he was very much being described as a Motherwell man, even up until his departure with some on this very board citing that supposed fact as the reason he would not leave us for Aberdeen.

Just my opinion and its not based on much apart from the fact i like my managers to have played proffesional football and to be at least a bit older than the players,have the fear for this appointment,huge act to follow and near certain to be needing to replace one or two of our best players from last season,time will tell.

1 hour ago, robsterwood said:

Quite concerning Read a report 14 games in at Rosenburg he plays 443 with not a lot of movement from players. Quite rigid. 

Lost 2 goals per game most games at start and was 14th despite having bigger budget. 

443 is very positive....and cheating 🤣🤣

9 minutes ago, grizzlyg said:

Jose Mourinho never played professionally and his record isn't too bad.  

I suppose the issue of a manager never having been a professional footballer only rears its head if and when the players start to believe he doesn't know what he's doing. Conversely, we've seen former top players seemingly lose dressing rooms because of their attitudes.

1 hour ago, Great Balls of Shire said:

Sounds like they mightve crossed paths if he was at Copenhagen .

Looking at their time at Copenhagen it would appear that they were not there at the same time but it’s possible that they could have mutual friends from the club.