In's And Out's

AndyRoss

I agree with a lot of your views on the players. he defensive weaknesses are out wide. I would without hesitation replace Hammell at LB and then whether you locate him somewhere else in the team is another question. I know I've said it before and despite his swine flu, QOS's Bob Harris would be a good choice.

Disagree with your views about Lasley. He isn't able to provide any attacking threat and doesn't have the defensive/passing skills or goal threat of a Klimpl or Hughes. Jennings is already above him in my mind and I haven't even seen him play.

Sutton as a lone striker is like .................

I struggle to find words.

Six players at least!

• Replies 3.6k

I agree with a lot of your views on the players. he defensive weaknesses are out wide. I would without hesitation replace Hammell at LB and then whether you locate him somewhere else in the team is another question...... Disagree with your views about Lasley. He isn't able to provide any attacking threat and doesn't have the defensive/passing skills or goal threat of a Klimpl or Hughes.

Fair comment. Despite seeing the danger posed by long throws on Thursday evening Steve Hammell conceded 2 avoidable throw ins in dangerous positions.

Keith Lasley? You've pretty much hit the nail on the head. He's not a stand out in any one aspect of his game. If anything he's an excellent man marker playing in a specialist role. A decent squad player as back up. Someone once referred to him on these boards as "the Housewives' choice" and thats an accurate description. Given that I've been taken aback at the criticism he's taken since Thursday. I've seen him play worse and been given almost universal plaudits! Fans are fickle!

Keith Lasley - The evidence was there for all to see last season - replaced by Big Boab and them Klimpl - Only once this happened did we start to pick up any points.

Do not get me wrong, i have seen Keith play many a good game in the claret and amber however, these normally come against the Old Firm when we are up against it. Most weeks however has lack of ability to play a killer pass or score a goal (cannot ever hit the target) is stark.

Time to say thanks very much!!

Will not waste my time on McGarry, Sutton.

Hammell - suspect many times but does play well on others

O'Brien - Can do it, it is just the getting him to do it that is the problem

Craigan / Reynolds - This is too light-weight a partnership - We have all said it for year and changes are a foot, think goodness.

The rest are just boys!!!!

I seem to be in the minority - certainly on this board - that feels that McGarry gets a raw deal

I'd agree with that.

McGarry didn't play well on Thursday, but he was in no way the worst player on the park.

He's just the next in line on a long list of players it's fashionable for a lot of fans to greet about for some reason.

Fitzpatrick is obviously on that list too. About 10 minutes into the game, he was getting abuse from some rocket in the West Stand for being shite, simply because he was warming up in front of the stand.

Our support doesn't half have a fair share of utter arseholes in it.

Added to your last line Jay, on the way out the door a guy behind me screamed "Ya bunch of dirty f****n bastards!" Didn't bother me as such, but presented a fair amount of irony in us getting into Europe via the Fair Play award.

I can't believe that this carry on is still going on! Get them te feck back to Ibrox.

11 Full Time Players v 11 Part Time Players. Should have won regardless of circumstances.

:lol: If you are going to quote me then quote on my whole post :lol:

11 Part time players

Who probably all have hard working jobs so their physical fitness levels will be high due to the fact that they are working all day and their match training will probably have been ongoing since they qualified

Our guys were given a regime to follow and no doubt that they did but they came into training the week previously, with a bit of catch up to do.

I would tend to keep Fitzpatrick.

He's had his job (pressing) the last couple of seasons and he hase done OK IMO.

There have been a couple of times where he's been missed and opposing teams have had way too much time in midfield etc.

Glamorous no, frustrating at times, yes, but he puts in a shift and thats the kind of player you need if you are scrapping at the wrong end of the table.

Reynolds... definitely potential there but is lacking confidence and it shows when his indecisiveness causes errors. If Gannon can build his confidence and "aggression" back up, I think we'll have the Reynolds of a few seasons ago back.

Forbes... as said previously he almost exclusively found a well shirt and retained the ball well. Looks to have a decent future.

Although the result the other night was terrible, I was encouraged by us getting the ball down and passing it. given Gannon had only been in charge a matter of days.

I think in time we could see some decent stuff if we sort out the lack of penetration and cutting edge.

I can't believe that this carry on is still going on! Get them te feck back to Ibrox.

sigh. Just accept people attend the games and act differently from yourself. Ntothing can be done and it DOESN'T mean they support Rangers. Just give it a deafy like I do.

Fraser- He may do as backup but I feel we are in desperate need of a new keeper - Player 1 needed

Saunders- He has the basics of his game there, but he like Murphy seems to be suffering from bowts of anorexia overcoming our younger players. Gaining a physical aspect would be enough to secure him a place IMO, so I believe we are covered there.

Craigan- Player 2, cover but not replacement!

Reynolds- Has his critics, but IMO is a very talented player. He has the attribute of pace not common amonst centre halfs in the SPL so IMO without doubt a starter.

Hammell- I feel his game is too limited, and although he isn't bad at coming forward, he doesnt inspire me with confidence when the needed aspect of defending comes into play. - Player 3 needed replacement.

Murphy- I maybe wrong- Player 4 needed replacement

Lasley- Was rank rotten last night, so he is a definate starter.

Forbes- I cant remeber him loosing the ball to often and he seemed to always find an amber jersey, for now I would persevere as a starter.

Mcgarry- The less said the better. First division player. For all he tries he is simply crap- Player 5 needed replacement.

O'Brien- Has his fans, but IMO i cannot for the life of me see why. He does nothing but fancy flicks going sideways, looses the ball then complains to other people for his mistakes. Plus he is up there with the worst crossers in wing play I've ever seen- Player 6 Replacemet needed!

Sutton- Can score goals, and I dont think it is totally fair to judge him solely on last night playing as a loan striker, Player 7 replacement needed.

Fitzpatrick & DLS- Says it all that these guys could in one shape or form force their way ino the team last night. Have always thought Fitzpatrick was rotten end of. DLS I do believe has talent, but I suspect his time with the Aberdeen tit has ruined his career through stutering performances when he was playing well. Sad to say but he is done.

The other three guys on the bench- Far too early to say, but they have obviously impressed at one level or another...so we shall see.

Anyway needed:

1 Keeper

2 Defenders- Cover, and a new left back

4 MORE Midfielders - 2 to take the places of Murphy and O'Brien, and 2 as cover

3 Strikers- Not only as a Sutton replacement but backup in order to change shape etc.

Let the fun begin.

I can agree with some of this mate but I'm not sure we can go about getting rid of players - who will take them!! We can;t just 'release' them so I'm going to suggest who stays in the Starting XI, the matchday squad. U19s for a bit longer and finally release if we can/keep in the reserves if we can't.

Fraser: We DO need another experienced (ish) 'keeper in to battle for the number 1, if nothing else it will bring the best out of Fraser, you don;t want a 'Keeper who knows he is starting every week even if he is off form. Starting XI / Matchday Squad

Saunders: Your argument for Murphy and Saunders contradict each other. Both are just wee boys who ARE NOT READY yet you are happy to play Saunders who is 'anorexic' but not Murphy for the same. A full back needs to be stronger than a forward like Murphy so if anyone is dropped for being too light (at the moment) it has to be Saunders. We need an experienced grown man of a RB to replace Quinn. U19s/Matchday Squad

Craigan: We need his experience around the squad, no doubt but aye, I wouldn't be adverse to a big fuck off centre half coming in too. Starting/Matchday Squad

Reynolds: If we bring in another CB then I think we have potentially one oif the best even Left Backs in the country in Marky. He is fast, can tackle out wide (is always caught out in the middle but his covering tackles are immense!) and can header better than Hammell. Marky for Left back!! Starting - but at Left Back!!

Hammell: Unless we get an offer in Hammell could be a decent enough cover for Left Back AND perhaps Left Mid. His days as a starter for Motherwell have to be over though if we want to change the same old same old pattern of play. MAtchday Squad

Murphy: Just a wee boy and doesn't seem to have the 'Wirey-ness' of previous wee boy successes like Faddy and Clarky. Not ready - U19's for another year and benched for a Saturday just in case. U19s/Matchday Squad

Lasley: Not good enough. Too slow, poor passing range, can't EVER shoot or score. He is ok in the tackle SOMETIMES but not sharp enough for Centre Mid, too slow for out wide, not big enough for Defensive Mid can't shoot or display any skill for Attacking mid. A MIDFIELDER?? Yet, I like him but it is do or die and he has to go as it would be a waste of a wage in the reserves. Offload/Reserves

Forbes/Slane: VERY impressed. Great on the ball both of them and should be in and out the starting XI this season. Not definate starters but ALL OVER the match day squad every week. Starting XI/ Matchday Squad

McGarry: I'll agree he offers very little. He is blowing oot his arse EVERY week. Offload IF someone will take him :lol:Offload/Reserves

O'Brien: I''ll disagree here. While he can be frustrating he DOES have some natural ability and if he can sort his crossing we have a player on our hands. We aren't exactly brimming with forward talent so it would be folly to let him go. Contract up next year anyway so he will do untill JG builds his own squad. Starting/Matchday Squad

Sutton: Again, the only Striker we have and he has two years left on a deal. IF we get another good forward in I have no doubt he will nick us 10-15 goals this season. He CAN score goals. He can't play on his own up front. Matchday Squad

Fitzy: Squad player for ANOTHER YEAR? I don't know, perhaps he does have it. The only problem no-one really knows his position. Offload/Reserves

DLS: Must be garbage if an out-and-out Forward couldn;t get on the park on Thursday night!! Game over Darren, which is ashame. Offload/Reserves

So we NEED:

Anyway needed:

1 Keeper

2 Defenders- New Centre Half, and a new RIGHT BACK (Reynolds can play LB)

2 Midfielders - We have Jennings. We need a Klimpl replacement and a Left Mid.

2 Strikers- Basically we need to replace Clarky AND Porter/McCormack

That would be SEVEN signings and I can't see any more than that mate, certainly not the TEN you were suggesting, unfortunately! :lol:

Got this snippet from our friends at fir park corner. Michael Rose (stockport defender) was due to sign for Hartlepool but pulled out suddenly!!, could he be on his way to join his old boss at Motherwell Rose .Apparently he was signed by Jimbo at Stockport.A wee quote below.

Hartlepool United have restarted their search for a new left-back after a deal for Stockport County left-back Michael Rose collapsed.

Pools were on the verge of completing a move only for an unexpected hitch to scupper a deal for the 26-year-old at the final hurdel.

"I had a left-back virtually signed up until late on Tuesday night," said Turner as Pools returned to pre-season training. "But that has fallen through so I will be looking to bring through a left-back in the coming days."

Id like to see Mark Reynolds at left midfield in front of Hammell with Forbes inside and 2 new players in along with a new right back. Centre half and THREE strikers as we curently have nowt up front. That makes 7 players before we can even start this season's league campaign. :whistling: .

I can agree with some of this mate but I'm not sure we can go about getting rid of players - who will take them!! We can;t just 'release' them so I'm going to suggest who stays in the Starting XI, the matchday squad. U19s for a bit longer and finally release if we can/keep in the reserves if we can't.

Fraser: We DO need another experienced (ish) 'keeper in to battle for the number 1, if nothing else it will bring the best out of Fraser, you don;t want a 'Keeper who knows he is starting every week even if he is off form. Starting XI / Matchday Squad

Saunders: Your argument for Murphy and Saunders contradict each other. Both are just wee boys who ARE NOT READY yet you are happy to play Saunders who is 'anorexic' but not Murphy for the same. A full back needs to be stronger than a forward like Murphy so if anyone is dropped for being too light (at the moment) it has to be Saunders. We need an experienced grown man of a RB to replace Quinn. U19s/Matchday Squad

Craigan: We need his experience around the squad, no doubt but aye, I wouldn't be adverse to a big fuck off centre half coming in too. Starting/Matchday Squad

Reynolds: If we bring in another CB then I think we have potentially one oif the best even Left Backs in the country in Marky. He is fast, can tackle out wide (is always caught out in the middle but his covering tackles are immense!) and can header better than Hammell. Marky for Left back!! Starting - but at Left Back!!

Hammell: Unless we get an offer in Hammell could be a decent enough cover for Left Back AND perhaps Left Mid. His days as a starter for Motherwell have to be over though if we want to change the same old same old pattern of play. MAtchday Squad

Murphy: Just a wee boy and doesn't seem to have the 'Wirey-ness' of previous wee boy successes like Faddy and Clarky. Not ready - U19's for another year and benched for a Saturday just in case. U19s/Matchday Squad

Lasley: Not good enough. Too slow, poor passing range, can't EVER shoot or score. He is ok in the tackle SOMETIMES but not sharp enough for Centre Mid, too slow for out wide, not big enough for Defensive Mid can't shoot or display any skill for Attacking mid. A MIDFIELDER?? Yet, I like him but it is do or die and he has to go as it would be a waste of a wage in the reserves. Offload/Reserves

Forbes/Slane: VERY impressed. Great on the ball both of them and should be in and out the starting XI this season. Not definate starters but ALL OVER the match day squad every week. Starting XI/ Matchday Squad

McGarry: I'll agree he offers very little. He is blowing oot his arse EVERY week. Offload IF someone will take him :DOffload/Reserves

O'Brien: I''ll disagree here. While he can be frustrating he DOES have some natural ability and if he can sort his crossing we have a player on our hands. We aren't exactly brimming with forward talent so it would be folly to let him go. Contract up next year anyway so he will do untill JG builds his own squad. Starting/Matchday Squad

Sutton: Again, the only Striker we have and he has two years left on a deal. IF we get another good forward in I have no doubt he will nick us 10-15 goals this season. He CAN score goals. He can't play on his own up front. Matchday Squad

Fitzy: Squad player for ANOTHER YEAR? I don't know, perhaps he does have it. The only problem no-one really knows his position. Offload/Reserves

DLS: Must be garbage if an out-and-out Forward couldn;t get on the park on Thursday night!! Game over Darren, which is ashame. Offload/Reserves

So we NEED:

Anyway needed:

1 Keeper

2 Defenders- New Centre Half, and a new RIGHT BACK (Reynolds can play LB)

2 Midfielders - We have Jennings. We need a Klimpl replacement and a Left Mid.

2 Strikers- Basically we need to replace Clarky AND Porter/McCormack

That would be SEVEN signings and I can't see any more than that mate, certainly not the TEN you were suggesting, unfortunately! :whistling:

Agree with much of what your saying but Murphy is 20 next month. He was too old to play for U19's last season never mind this season.

If we have a one million pound war chest I dont see why we cant bring in anything from 5 to 10 players. 100/150/200k a player should bring in enough quality... thats without even looking for bosmans.

We probably will do. However, a fair proportion of our close season income of circa £1.1m will be used to balance the books. Quality players also expect quality salaries. I'd guess JG will be given considerably less than half this figure to use.

Id like to see Mark Reynolds at left midfield in front of Hammell with Forbes inside and 2 new players in along with a new right back. Centre half and THREE strikers as we curently have nowt up front. That makes 7 players before we can even start this season's league campaign. :huh: .

IMHO Mark Reynolds is never a left midfielder. Possibly a holding midfielder or a left back but never in a million years a left midfielder.

To those saying they'd like to see Reynolds in a midfield position, I'd like to ask them if they've seen his distribution? He canny pass the ball to save himself!

Admittedly if he can learn to pick out a pass then in the future he could do well in a more advanced role, but for now I don't think so.

We probably will do. However, a fair proportion of our close season income of circa £1.1m will be used to balance the books. Quality players also expect quality salaries. I'd guess JG will be given considerably less than half this figure to use.

We have brought in over a million in transfer fees but we have also saved the wages of the nine first team players that have left so if you add that up i bet that comes to a fair portion of our wage bill from last season,we should be at least replacing the players that have gone player for player to bring us up to the numbers of last season.Mcghee said he was going for quality in our squad rather than quantity and thats why we had a small squad,if we only bring in 6 players i think we can take it that our esteemed owner has cut the playing budget AGAIN...............

was talking about our current situation last night with an ex well player and he was telling me that sutton is on 1800 a week, I was pretty shocked! If we are paying money like that to John sutton we must have saved a fortune this month on wages alone!

Sutton..?? Is that a new signing..?? haven't heard much of him in the last year, where's he been playing..?? :huh::lol:

Until a new tv deal is sorted out, I'd imagine all the cash in and saved wages will be filling the hole that had been left, and our wage budget will be considerably smaller. I'd be amazed to see any real wad out activity until that is sorted. Balance the books first, invest in the squad later.